Skip to content
March 21, 2011 / KristenMakes

Me-Made-March, week 3

Only 2 more weeks to go!  Of course March had to be a 5-week month rather than 4.  Only kidding, I’m really enjoying the challenge, and it is a lot easier now that the sun is out! It’s been really helpful with all the support and comments from you guys, I love it!

On to the ensembles!

Day 14 – Monday

Day 14_c Rainy yucky day, the kind of day that can only be made better by wellies and cozy socks!
Jumper – hand knit, ‘Leaf Pullover’ by Bernat Design Studio
Shorts – Old Navy
Socks – hand knit, ‘Coming Together Socks’ by Thayer Preece
Wellies – by Seasalt of Cornwall – I LOVE them!
Necklace – Refashion (?) just strung gold vintage buttons onto a chain
Vintage buttons...plus chain...equals necklace!

Day 15 – Tuesday
Day 15a Trousers – refashion from Gap, they were long, wide and flared and I made them narrow, straight and cropped
Blouse – Macy’s, bought on a mother-daughter shopping trip!
Waistcoat/Vest – hand knit, improvised pattern
…and yes, I am wearing the button necklace again!

Day 16 – Wednesday
Day 16b Not my favourite overall outfit, it looked much better in my head first, but oh well.
Skirt – Refashion from low A-line to high and shorter
Flannel Shirt – Gap
Necklace – hand knit, pattern is ‘Cable Braided Necklace’ by Olga Buraya-Kefelian (its free, check it out!)
Day 16a

Day 17 – Thursday

Day 17a
Day 17c Skirt – Refashion, same as day 16
Shirt – hand sewn, pattern is ‘Pendrell Blouse’ by Sewaholic
Cardigan – hand knit, ‘Audrey in Unst’ by Gudrun Johnston
…I really love this Pendrell with this skirt!

Day 18 – Friday
Day 18a …I had just gotten my hair cut to look more like Karen Gillan, the new Doctor Who companion (side note, in case you didn’t know, Teo & I are nerds for Doctor Who, Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, and just added to the list, BattleStar Galactica), so I felt like channelling her today.

Btw, getting your hair cut by a 2nd year student here at the college’s salon for 6 quid is awesome!  Right, I know I don’t look anything like that ginger fox, but it was fun to pretend!
Wool Shorts – Hand sewn, simplicity 3850
Blouse – Talbots, from another mother-daughter shopping trip!
Jewelry – refashioned from dollhouse teasets and vintage buttons
Shoes – John Lewis ‘training heels’ — I’m trying to train my feet for high heels this year so I got these shoes to give it a go, they were pretty comfortable!

Day 19 – Saturday
Day 19b Dress – hand sewn, self-drafted
Cardigan – hand knit, pattern is ‘Aidez’ by Cirilia Rose
Had a lovely day off with Teo, we went to a few gift shops and then got some great steak for dinner later. Yum!

Day 20 – Sunday
Day 20_b Dress – hand sewn, vintage vogue sewing pattern, completely reversible (see Day 10 for the other view)
Cardigan – hand knit, ‘Audrey in Unst’ by Gudrun Johnston
Necklace – gold buttons on a chain (AGAIN!)

Well that’s me for week three!  Sun is out but I must focus on school work now…

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Carol / Mar 21 2011 10:38 am

    Kristen,

    I really like that reversible dress you made in the dark green! Lovely!

  2. Sølvi / Mar 21 2011 11:09 am

    What a lovely self-made week you´ve had. I love everything. I think it´s so hard to pull out a few items and say” that´s my favorite”, because I love it all! You are doing a fabulous job! 🙂

  3. Holly / Mar 21 2011 11:28 am

    I’m LOVING the leaf pullover. I’ll have to look up that pattern. So cute on you with the high socks. I’m knitting “Aidez” right now. Congrats on so many cute homemade outfits!

  4. Barbara Rainier / Mar 21 2011 1:54 pm

    I would love to see a close up of your dollhouse teaset and vintage buttons jewelry. Thanks for sharing.

  5. M. Schmid / Mar 21 2011 4:29 pm

    I think your mom likes to take you shopping! So many ‘likeys’ here….including the haircut!! Have you worn those Talbot slacks yet? That pale blue is smashing on you!

  6. Kerry / Mar 21 2011 5:38 pm

    I love your reversible dress, what a great idea. And the cable necklace is really cute too.

  7. Jason / Mar 22 2011 11:09 am

    Just saying hello. Your blog is great. I love the Me-Made-March concept. I hope all is well. – Jason

  8. frayedattheedge / Mar 27 2011 1:54 pm

    I really do need to revise my wardrobe – I have spent the winter in my comfy M&S trousers (more than one pair, I hasten to add!!) and my trusted Timberland boots!

Trackbacks

  1. Autumnal sewing plans « delfinelise

What say you?