Skip to content
March 27, 2011 / KristenMakes

Me-Made-March, Week 4

Busy, busy, busy, head swimming with to-do’s and ideas (all school-related of course!).  The only way to turn the thinking off is to sit at my sewing machine sewing blankets (after having made more than 200 blankets so far, it becomes a bit mindless yet still wholly satisfying and enjoyable) whilst cramming my ears with earbuds streaming Radiolab podcasts through my brain.  It is very nice indeed.

So I have completed yet another week of Me-Made-March 2011 and this week has been the hardest.  The weather has been lovely and my schedule busy, making it difficult to take the time each day to coordinate TWO handmade items together, especially while most of my handmade items are exceedingly warm knits!  There is a gaping hole in my handmade wardrobe that I must fill with casual, warm-weather garments.  Funnily enough, those are the easiest to make, I just haven’t the time…

Enough of my babbling, on to the ensembles!

Day 21 – Monday
Day 21_a Jumper – hand knit, ‘Mary Jane’ by Sarah Johnson
Trousers – refashion from wide leg flared Gap pants to narrow cropped pants
Shoes – Target (I miss you so much!)

Day 22 – Tuesday
Day 22_b Cardigan – hand knit, ‘Manu’ by Kate Davies
Dress – Urban Outfitters
Socks – hand knit, ‘Lakeside’ by Julia Vaconsin — JUST finished these babies!
Lakeside SocksLakeside Socks 3

Day 23 – Wednesday
Day 23_b I was a big fan of today’s outfit, as I just just finished the cardigan the night before, and was also on a high heels kick!
Skirt – hand sewn, self- drafted
Cardigan – refashion from and H&M cardigan (added a cotton fabric that was a Trompe-l’œil print of lace)
Blouse – thrifted
Oatmeal Cardigan refashion
Oatmeal Cardigan refashion 2
The idea came from Ali of The Wardrobe, Reimagined blog. She posted a tutorial on how to refashion a cardigan after an Anthropologie style.   I had to save it (thank you Pinterest Tutes board!) because I had an H&M cardigan purchased over a year ago and worn oh, maybe twice since then.  The refashion turned out pretty great.  It’s not the most comfortable as the scrap fabric used was a non-stretch woven paired with a very stretchy knit but I don’t mind!  Here are some pictures of the process, but please check out Ali’s lovely version and much better instructions!

Day 24 – Thursday
Day 24_b Cardigan – hand knit, ‘Minimalist Cardigan’ by Ruthie Nussbaum
Blouse – hand sewn, ‘Pendrell Blouse’ by Sewaholic
Jeans – thrifted, originally from Topshop

Day 25 –  Friday
Day 25_a This was a fun outfit, as I had never worn anything OVER this dress, only under. That’s the lovely thing about MMMar ’11, it FORCES you to rethink your current wardrobe and try different things.
Dress – hand sewn, self drafted pattern I call ‘The Button-tab Shift’
Jumper – hand knit, ‘Mary Jane’ by Sarah Moore

Day 26 – Saturday
Day 26_a This photo makes me laugh as I have a ‘deer in the headlights’ look and I don’t know why… Makes the whole outfit look a bit scary – I later took my hair down because it was too much.
Jumper – hand knit, top-down improvised pattern using wool I dyed with coffee
Skirt – refashion

Day 27 – Sunday
Day 27Sunday, a day to stay in, sew blankets, and complete the dreaded taxes.
Blouse – hand sewn, Simplicity 3835
Cardigan – hand knit, ‘Goodale’ by Cecily Glowik MacDonald
Jeans – Levi’s

Also, a big congratulations are due to my lovely Sister-in-law, Amanda (the very same gal who makes the earrings you may spot me wearing from time to time if you are a regular reader) on her first REFASHION!  She took a thrifted shirt, fitted it to her size, added gathers at the sleeve, opened out the neckline and widened the hem all on her first go!  Yay!  It looks pretty amazing.

Also, apologies for dropping the ball on last week’s Who’s Doing What – the pace at uni is picking up so for the time being, I may have to make WDW a fortnightly feature.  Wishing everyone some lovely weather, an amazing week and some fun refashions!

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sarah / Mar 27 2011 4:48 pm

    I like all of your outfits and your handknits are really beautiful!

  2. Mum / Mar 27 2011 9:17 pm

    So the scrap fabric yoke is overlaid onto the cardigan? Did you finish the raw edges or let it fray? Very clever idea!

  3. Suzie / Mar 28 2011 4:55 am

    I really love your oufit combinations, especially Wednesday (that cardi turned out so great!) and Friday (the jumper over the dress is perfect). You have so many lovely pieces to play with.

  4. Barbara Rainier / Mar 28 2011 5:49 am

    My favorite is Monday’s jumper it looks great by itself or over the dress. I used to refashion things for myself and the children all the time. You have given me inspiration to get back into it. Need to get my sewing machine fixed.

  5. KristenMakes / Mar 28 2011 6:57 am

    Nope, I cut the shapes I needed out of the cardigan (accounting for seam allowance of course) and the inset the scrap pieces, sewing each edge slowly, carefully, right sides together. There are some wonky corners, but not very noticeably so. The blog that I mentioned in the post that I borrowed the tutorial idea from explains it much better!

  6. KristenMakes / Mar 28 2011 6:58 am

    Yay, Barb! I’m always happy to hear that someone is inspired! You may find that it is surprisingly easy to get back in the swing of things.

  7. indigorchid / Mar 28 2011 7:43 am

    Once again, your handknits are just outstanding!

    Also – the dress you layered the sweater over looks wonderful… will we see more of that? (or maybe we’ve already seen it, and I just don’t pay attention!)

  8. Sølvi / Mar 29 2011 11:03 am

    “Jumper – hand knit, top-down improvised pattern using wool I dyed with coffee
    Skirt – refashion”. There is so many facts in this sentence I love: top-down-improvised-dyed with coffee!. Wowza – you´re so creative!

    Love this week as much as last!

What say you?

