Skip to content
April 28, 2013 / KristenMakes

Three Green Shawls

How did this happen?  Last week, I cast off my most recent FO (Kirkja Shawl by Karina Westermann) and just as soon realised I now have 3 green hand-knitted shawls.  What is it about green + shawls?  They’re all lovely mind, and I have no regrets.  Just perhaps a bit more awareness and a vow not to think a little more clearly before I cast-on a fourth!

Exhibit A.
Pattern:  Aestlight Shawl
Designer: Gudrun Johnston, The Shetland  Trader
Yarn: Shilasdair Luxury 4-ply
Status:  Nearly 3 years old.  Worn year-round on an almost daily basis.  When I ride in airplanes or in long car-rides, this is my security blanket.  On cold wintry days, I tie it tight around the neck.  Note in the fourth image, while any eye can spot the yarn breaking from far too much wear, a trained eye can spot where I first mended a previous hole.  The week after the mend, a new break sprouted, and I have yet to mend it.
.
.

.
.

Exhibit B.
Pattern: Simmer Dim
Designer: again, Gudrun Johnston, The Shetland  Trader
Yarn: High-Twist British Falkland by Ripples crafts (yarn no longer available)
Status:  Nearly 2 years old.   The shape of this piece is best for shawl-style-wear and I prefer to wear my shawls to the front like a bib.  So while this shawl has not become my staple, I do very much love it.  The simplicity of the design works really well.
.
.

Exhibit C.
Pattern: Kirkja Shawl from Knit Now Magazine
Designer: Karina Westermann, Fourth Edition
Yarn: Highland Pony Sport by YarnPony
Status: A week old!  I started this for a quick and instant-gratification project, and boy did it gratify!  I love fun and simple projects.  The yarn was so squishy and soft, and the each stitch of the lace pattern fed beautifully into the next.
.
.
.

Kirkja

So I’m not sure what I’ll cast on next, but I think I’ll be more careful next time I reach for the green!  Do you find yourself inexplicably drawn to similar shades or styles?

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sue / Apr 28 2013 2:13 pm

    They are all so pretty, but my favorite is the second one. The third shows up more brown than green.

  2. Marilyn S / Apr 28 2013 6:44 pm

    #3 is my favorite…. but it does look more brown than green in these pics. These are becoming your signature look. I do love my turquoise one you made for me…

  3. Siri / Apr 28 2013 7:16 pm

    Ooh your kirkja is gorgeous!
    I definitely do. A year or so ago I had to ban myself from buying any more purple wool, yarn or clothes because purple everything always seemed to sneak its way into my shopping basket and it was getting a bit ridiculous. Years ago I did the same thing with dark teal… I try not to do it because eventually I’ll go off a colour and I don’t want to end up with loads of things I no longer feel like wearing.

  4. Amanda / Apr 29 2013 6:40 am

    When you’re on a good wicket stay with it! My weakness is pink and grey. I just can’t say no…

  5. Jen / Apr 29 2013 9:19 am

    Beautiful shawls, and in very appealing natural colors !

  6. Lynne / Apr 29 2013 10:24 am

    They are all lovely, but I really like the first one. It’s just as well that I don’t have enought 4 ply in my stash to make it, or it would be getting cast on!

  7. Franca / Apr 29 2013 10:27 am

    they are all so lovely! The last pattern is my fave. I have just one triangular shawl, need to dig it out!

  8. stgilbert / Apr 29 2013 10:55 am

    I just love your shawls! All of your knitted pieces are so very pretty! I constantly gravitate toward the same colours in all my crafts. Of late, it’s been deep teal greens.

  9. Crafted by Carly / Apr 30 2013 7:05 am

    What gorgeous shawls! I don’t think I could pick a favourite from them – they’re all SO pretty! If only I could attempt something like that!!! Maybe one day, if I keep working on the knitting…..
    🙂
    Carly
    x

  10. Rue / May 4 2013 1:28 pm

    They’re all lovely! I’ve knit the first two patterns but not the third. Hmm, I’ll have to add that to the ever-growing queue. And you know I’ll never say anything bad about knitting with so much green.

  11. Nicola / Jun 28 2013 11:08 am

    I love all your shawls, I haven’t knitted a shawl in ages but your projects are inspiring 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Ravenwing Shawl – First Wing Complete | Whipped-Stitch Witchery

What say you?