Skip to content
October 26, 2013 / KristenMakes

Change and Love

PANO_20130620_102719

A big change is coming for me in the next few months, a change that I feel very conflicted about.

My husband and I are leaving Scotland – our home for the past four years – and are moving back to the United States.  On one hand I am really very excited.  I get to be near my family and friends that I’ve only seen a handful of times over the past four years, whom I miss terribly.  I get to now experience first-hand the next stage of life for my friends and family –  where my brothers and I are now each married and will be having children; and I will now get to be a part of that, rather than watching from a distance.  Trent and I now get to be in a country where things are familiar again, where we understand how things work. We get to start the next stage of life – whatever that is.  And we get to do that together, which is the best part.

But on the other hand, I am really sad.  I have changed in so many ways and learned so much here.  I have become someone I am proud to be, I love what I do and I am in a really exciting time and place for it.  I have been so blessed.  Trent & I have joked that we moved here for him and his PhD work, when really the move ended up seeming to be more for my personal benefit.  I learned that my interest in hand-knitting was more than an interest and began to design and write knitting patterns.  Then I got my MA in Knitted Textiles, and began working in hand-knit professionally. I have met and become friends with some crazy-talented and inspiring people, I have begun teaching classes, attended some amazing knitting events,  and even had some patterns published.  I certainly would not have learned so much nor explored so far in hand-knit if I had not have been living in Scotland.  There is so much skill here, so MANY fantastic and accomplished knitters and makers here, and such support and enthusiasm for knit and craft.  I have been welcomed into the group of knitters and felt such love.  And for this, it breaks my heart that I will leave.

In preparation for the move there is so much to do (first off, all our stuff has to either be sold or shipped overseas).  I feel like I have been running around manic for the past few weeks and will continue to do so until the move at the end of December.  I want to spend more time with everyone I’ve come to know, and I feel this need to accomplish so much more before I leave.  I have a few more classes lined up which I’m so excited about, I’m working on some more pattern designs, and I’ve got some really fun projects going on at work.  Things at Eribé have been so busy as we wrap up production on the AW13 season and begin design/development on AW14.  There is so much to do but I love it all.  Everyone at work has been really supportive of this change and I am also really sad to leave this new family of mine.

I cannot thank you all enough for being a part of my life and adventure. I have no idea what will happen over the next year and beyond – where we will be living, what we will be doing – but I am entering into it feeling so full and and blessed. I love you all.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Debi / Oct 26 2013 12:39 pm

    I am so sad you both are going? But soooooo happy to have met you and that we got to hang out together in this beautiful city! And of course, David and I will definitely be visiting you both, wherever you happen to land….and of course, getting together a few more times before you leave!! Xoxoxo

  2. Kerry / Oct 26 2013 1:14 pm

    Oh Kristen! What a big, huge, exciting and daunting change for you. I’m glad I got to meet you and have enjoyed following your blog over the last few years. Good luck with the preparations for your move and with this new, exciting chapter in your life xx

  3. Sue / Oct 26 2013 1:24 pm

    Kristen, we are so happy you and Trent have had this fabulous opportunity. We’re so excited to have you moving back to the States, no matter what area you end up. But we also appreciate the motivation you’ve given us to travel abroad (with one more time coming soon!). I understand your mixed emotions. I was the same when we moved from NY to FL. I know that doesn’t seem like so far, but in those days (w/o cell phones, Skype, e-mail, etc.) it was a world away from family and starting a whole new life.
    Love, Mom O

  4. Katherine / Oct 26 2013 2:44 pm

    How exciting, good luck with your move!

  5. unlabelled clothes / Oct 26 2013 2:58 pm

    It was so lovely to have met you on my very first meetup in Edinburgh. I hope I get to visit America sometime & maybe see you at another meetup across the pond. All the best for the next chapter of your life. 🙂

  6. Mum / Oct 26 2013 7:55 pm

    Beautiful post DD! You are amazing and I’m so proud of you! XX

  7. Becky / Oct 27 2013 8:01 am

    Wow, that is a pretty big change. Best wishes for getting through the transition, and I hope the move goes as smoothly as possible!

  8. Don / Oct 27 2013 8:57 am

    Kristen, I know what you are going through, but your friends will always be there and you will have fun visiting them and vice versa. Selfishly, I am glad that you are moving back and we can now spend more time with you and Trent. I can’t wait for all of us to have our time at the cottage together and what a beautiful place that your father built. With Steven and Gina coming back to Michigan, I know that you will find your way there.

    This was a heartfelt post and I know that the future for you, Trent and the whole family will be exciting. New chapters are about to be written.

  9. Crafted by Caly / Oct 28 2013 8:40 am

    I can imagine that you’re having VERY mixed feelings about such a big change. I wish you all the best for the transition!
    Hugs,
    Carly
    x

What say you?

