Skip to content
October 12, 2012 / KristenMakes

A little Fascination for a Wedding Celebration

This past weekend was a milestone indeed.  My older brother got married to his love!  Richie and Nikki  had an epic wedding in my home-state of Florida.  Trent and I got to fly back to be part of the festivities (living so far away we have to choose our family events carefully, but this was a no-brainer).

To properly celebrate the event I had to make something special to wear.  Of course, I wore my new striped Lonsdale dress, but no… that wasn’t enough.  I felt the need to bring a bit of my new home into my old home – I had to be a little British.  So, you may ask, how do the Brits celebrate weddings?  Fascinating question…

And so, I made a fascinator!

My big brother Richie has a great sense of humour and can be quite silly, so I felt pretty safe making a statement at the wedding, knowing he’d find it hilarious.  Plus Nicole, his lovely bride, has an equally amazing sense of humour so I figured she’d appreciate it as well (I must explain to my UK readers that in the states, fascinators and hats aren’t so much of a thing…yet!).

I started looking at the shops for rady-made fascinators and realised I didn’t want to pay £80 for some feathers and netting so I went to a few websites, ordered some bits and bobs and voila!

fascinator

I think it was definitely a hit at the wedding.  Which, by the way, was a blast.  I mean jello shots for the toast, a photobooth with props, beer bottle cozies for favours, sunset across the river?  And let us not forget how stunning the bride and groom were!  I think that makes for an epic wedding…
IMG_6076
IMG_6064

IMG_5888

IMG_5932
IMG_5997

So, how can I make a fascinator, you ask?  Here are some tips!  Gather some key materials: craft glue, craft knife, netting, feathers, butter knife, fascinator cap, and headband.

.

So the only netting I could find was white which was not on. So I dyed my white netting with tea!

.

With a bit of needle and thread I gathered the netting and fastened it to the cap.

.

Using this video tutorial, I sliced and curled my feathers, arranged them into a lovely bunch and attached them to the cap with needle and thread.

.

I topped it off with a bit of pearls on wire, dabbed some glue all around and let dry. Last step was to fasten the cap to the headband with a bit more sewing.

.

…a bit of advice, I find it helpful to have a classic girly film on during crafting time. You may recognise I chose “Dirty Dancing”.

It’s nice to do a different kind of crafting for a change, and really exciting to find out that you can pull off a fascinator – which, with the right outfit, I’m convinced anyone can.

            IMG_5887      IMG_5968

Now in closing, not only must I show off my handsome brothers, but also my homemade ensemble!  We have groomie/big brother Rich on the left, little brother Steven on the right, Lonsdale Dress from Sewaholic Patterns, home-made fascinator, and home-made wrap (lamsbwool knitted on my knitting machine).  How’s that for a me-made outfit?  Whoop!

And of course, my sincerest love and congratulations for Richie & Nikki, who are now enjoying a fantastic honeymoon!  Love you guys.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mum / Oct 12 2012 8:01 pm

    It was such a wonderful week-end! You looked amazing! I do have lovely children, if I do say so myself! (including the daughter- and son-in-law!)

  2. Crafted by Carly / Oct 13 2012 4:18 am

    It looks like you all had a wonderful time! And you looked so pretty in your fascinator and stripy dress!!! You’re so clever!
    Carly
    x

  3. Kerry / Oct 13 2012 4:33 am

    What a great outfit, you look lovely 🙂

  4. shivani / Oct 13 2012 8:39 am

    I love the outfit – you look so lovely. I love fascinators – though I’ve finally reached the end of a long run of weddings, so I’m not sure when I’ll have a reason/excuse to make one.

  5. Franca / Oct 13 2012 9:52 am

    I’m going to a wedding on Friday and I wish i had time to make a fascinator! yours looks amazing, as does the wedding!

  6. indigorchid / Oct 13 2012 11:13 am

    It came out wonderfully! I’m going to an Irish wedding next summer, and I’m commissioning (begging…?) my friend to make me a fascinator! It’s just fun!

  7. punkmik / Oct 15 2012 3:30 am

    this is so great! i never like fascinators from shops and making your own is a great idea! well done and congrats to your family!

  8. Sølvi / Oct 16 2012 4:58 am

    I love this, thanks for the run down on how you made your fascinator, very inspiring. And you look wonderful in your handmade ensemble! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Pregnant wedding guest outfit featuring a handmade fascinator

What say you?

