Skip to content
September 30, 2012 / KristenMakes

Parlez-vous français? …No

Let’s see, what subject could possibly be worthy of my 200th post?  (That’s right – 200!)  Ahhh, how about a recent holiday?  YUP!

Trent & I have gotten in the habit now of taking a wee extended weekend holiday once every Autumn or Winter.  Stockholm was November 2010, Dublin December 2011, and now France for September 2012!  We’ve always been a bit wary of a trip to France, as we know very little French (read: no French at all), but enough people had encouraged us it was achievable that we decided to go for it.  We planned quite a trek, too, involving no air travel at all: we did Eurostar through the chunnel into Paris, where we stayed for a few days, then another train to Mont St Michel, then Caen to ferry back to Britain!  What a busy few days we had!

Untitled

I had loads of knitting time on the train…  I’d forgotten what knitting for fun was like – I’m so busy knitting for work!

 Untitled

The flat that we stayed in (found through our new favourite accommodations-finding site, airbnb) was awesome!  Our hosts brought us delicious breakfast baskets each morning.

We had one full day in Paris, & I don’t think we waisted a minute!  We wanted to squeeze in all the sights – the Louvre, Champs Elysees, Tuileries Gardens, Arc d’Triomphe, Notre Dame, even Paris’ Statue of Liberty (why not?)…  Trent mapped our path once we returned home, only to discover we’d walked 12.55 miles that 1 day!

Untitled

Charcuterie! Yum!  You can bet we took a bit home with us too.

Untitled

We had a good rifle through this collector’s shop and found some prints and lovely buttons – fab souvenirs!

Untitled

Oh yes, and a bit of knitting at the foot of some famous landmark…

Untitled

On to Mont St Michel – what a jaw-dropper!  We could barely believe that we were not in a fairy tale.

Untitled

Trent had found a fun eco-dome-thing for us to stay in with a sweet curved turf-covered roof.

Untitled

This was the tantalising view on our 2.8-mile walk to the island.

Untitled

The abbey was pretty breathtaking, as was the view from the top.

Untitled

The sight is even more surreal at night.

Untitled

The island was full of windy streets with shops, restaurants and creperies.

Untitled

It was here that I had the best crepe of my life – buckwheat crepe filled with salad, goats cheese and nuts.  Oh and wash that down with Normandy cider cidre Normandie and you’ve got yourself a delicious meal my friend.

UntitledThe trip ended very nicely with a ferry ride that was much like a mini-cruise ship.  I welcomed the English coast with a few more rows of knitting of course.  I’ve got plenty more photos in my Flickr set, if you want more France in your life!

It took about a week to recover from all the cheese, knitting and walking, but as my Grandma Ollie always said after a holiday, ‘back to old clothes and porridge’.  Indeed.

Where have you holidayed this year?  Where do you suggest we travellers go for 2013?

13 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sewing Princess / Sep 30 2012 12:02 pm

    What a great trip. Barcelona if you haven’t been! Love that city… We have the same habit!

  2. Melizza / Sep 30 2012 12:08 pm

    I can’t suggest Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland enough. Great base to visit the mountain towns and go hiking. Gorgeous, great food and so peaceful. But warning, Switzerland is expensive. A basic meal can average around 15GBP to 20GBP a person. Travel, 150GBP to get from Zurich to Lauterbrunnen, return. But totally worth it!

    And then there’s Tuscany. Definitely can be done on a budget. And the food will never let you down. Yum.

  3. Franca / Sep 30 2012 1:32 pm

    I really want to go to mont st michel! I second tuscany, we went there on honeymoon last year it was great. and berlin!

  4. Mum / Sep 30 2012 1:55 pm

    I can’t wait to see the Shrug! and you!

  5. Grace / Sep 30 2012 2:02 pm

    What a great trip! I’ve been to Paris before too and personally didn’t really like it, way too busy!

    xoxo Grace

  6. Sue / Sep 30 2012 4:15 pm

    I was thinking…how about a trip to Florida? Like, next week?!!! Can’t wait!

  7. indigorchid / Sep 30 2012 4:16 pm

    Ahhh! That looks so lovely, I don’t know where to start! Well, the word “chunnel” gets me, every single time. What a funny word! I really like how you did the trip without flying – I’m not crazy about taking airplanes, so riding trains and taking ferries instead is right up my alley! (If only the Bergen-coast of England ferry route would reinstate!) And the castle… wow.

    I had a very nice time in Barcelona when I was there (admittedly just for a few days) last summer, and also – Siena, Italy, is just lovely. And the Mosel valley and Trier in Germany. Surprisingly beautiful and full of history! Um… there is no end to places to visit!

  8. meghanaf / Sep 30 2012 4:36 pm

    Oh what a lovely trip! And St Michel looks amazing, I’d never even heard of it! I hope the shrug is coming along well – what a pleasant surprise to see it pop up on your blog! 😉

  9. Sølvi / Oct 1 2012 4:04 pm

    My oh my, that crepe/cidre combination looks fantastic. And thanks for the tip on airbnb! My holiday destination this year is a long weekend in Istanbul. And I CAN`T WAIT! 🙂 We´re going there quite soon, actually, and best of all we are travelling there together with people who know the city and speak the language. Couldn´t be much better. 🙂

    Congrats on your new job, by the way, I´m so happy for you!

  10. rachel / Oct 1 2012 4:42 pm

    I have had a hankering visit Mont St. Michel ever since I was a child. So glad you went and that you had a thoroughly good time!

  11. Laura / Oct 2 2012 1:13 pm

    Krakow is well worth considering – direct flights from Edinburgh, really cheap once you are there and lots to see including the castle, lots of churches and synagogues, Schindler’s factory, salt mine and most importantly Auschwitz. I know that Auschwitz is not a particularly cheery place to visit while on holiday, but it is of historical importance, and a visit there will stay with you forever. Highly recommended.

  12. Debi / Oct 3 2012 3:17 pm

    Mont St. Michel looks amazing! I must get the name of the Eco. Dome accommodation! That looked so comfy!

  13. Nat @ Made in Home / Oct 5 2012 3:37 pm

    Glad you had good time! I love that Eco home!

What say you?

