Skip to content
August 3, 2012 / KristenMakes

Disaster at Ball-Winder Bay!

IMG_4841

That’s right.  The fight between my beloved Knitpicks yarn ball-winder and my incessant clumsiness has finally reached a climax and declared a victor – my clumsiness.

Pulling something off the shelf the other day, I knocked my winder off the shelf (why hadn’t I secured it!?) and the handle broke clean off.  I considered a bit of super glue but realised that glue would of course impede the handle’s turning skills.

IMG_4838

Consulting the handyman husband, he agreed, yes, we’ll just have to get you a new one.  Upon which I sadly drew the blanket over the now-extinct winder and then insensitively jumped for joy at the prospect of a new knitting gadget, husband-approved!  How quickly we get over these things.

But first, a moment of silence for the dearly departed winder …  thank you.  O dear winder, you gave me countless tidy balls of lovely wool, and oh the hours we spent together, in the anticipation of prepping for a new knitting project.  You were my first (winder, that is) and I will always remember you.

Untitled Pearl

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. zilredlohzilredloh / Aug 3 2012 3:32 pm

    Yay! You (the clumsiness) won!!! heh

    Sorry you broke your ball winder. I have exactly the same one and I love it dearly. I’ve had it over a year and I still get excited about widing my yarn…. am I a geek or what?!

    Congrats on your new one… are you getting the same one or are you shopping around for a different brand?

  2. Didyoumakethat / Aug 3 2012 4:31 pm

    I don’t own a ball winder!!! Is this how you turn those loops of wool into balls of wool? I need this in my life.

  3. Mum / Aug 3 2012 8:22 pm

    Hey….didn’t I get that for you? So sad to hear of its demise… The king is dead, long live the king…or the new winder, anyway!

  4. KristenMakes / Aug 4 2012 4:35 am

    Karen, yes, you do need it in your life! I’ve ordered a new one through Amazon.co.uk so once I get it and test it out I’ll post a review about it. Yes, it magically turns hanks into beautiful compact balls – it’s a gem!

  5. KristenMakes / Aug 4 2012 4:38 am

    Haha, yes my clumsiness won out but I’m happy to get a new goody in return! I’ve ordered a different brand this time, called Lacis. I love winding balls too, it’s so fun and such an exciting stage of anticipation!

  6. Nat @ Made in Home / Aug 6 2012 8:14 am

    Oh so sad, but a new ball winder, cool!

  7. LinB / Aug 13 2012 2:14 pm

    So sad to say that last farewell to your beloved ball winder. Myself, I loop the skein over a largish lampshade, loosen the finial, and set the shade to spinning as I wind the ball in my hand.

  8. Chrisie Elise / Aug 23 2012 6:42 pm

    I can relate to clumsy.
    I salute the old tireless ball winder who died in the line of service!

  9. eryn.tribble@dcsplanning.com / Sep 9 2014 8:55 pm

    same thing happened here but I don’t think it’s clumsiness – I think it’s cheaply constructed. It was easy to take apart and remove the broken piece but sadly I haven’t found replacement parts available for purchase.

What say you?

