Skip to content
July 20, 2012 / KristenMakes

New Pattern: the Calton Cap

Kristen Orme knitwear logo

Well the collection is almost ready to go live!  Just a few more T’s and I’s to cross and dot respectively.  I thought I’d at least provide you with a wee sneak peek into one of the smaller designs from the collection:  the Calton Cap.

This is a hand-knitted cap that transitions from Mistake Rib up to a Fisherman Rib.  I’ve used 2 strands of wool that is the thicker end of the 4-ply category, a lovely wool by Shetland Organics.  I’ve used their yarn for the entire collection and am just in love with it.

The warm and cosy cap will be available for purchase early August, but for those knitters out there, you can make your own!  I’ve released this pattern on Ravelry for download!  It’s a really fun and quick to knit.  You can easily customise it to your own blend by using multiple strands: 2-3 strands of 4-ply or 1 strand 4-ply with 1 strand of DK makes the perfect weight.  Or if you want a solid cap, 1 strand of Aran weight yarn will do.

I loved knitting this so much I didn’t want to wait for an order, so I knitted on for myself!

IMG_4547       .

For my version I used 2 strands of a marled 4-ply J C Rennie plus 1 strand of a dark espresso 4-ply that I had in my stash.  If you want to download the pattern you can do so through your paypal account for $3.50 – Happy Knitting!

 

Many thanks to my good friends Vala & Iain for such lovely photography and to the talented Irina, our model.  You will see more of their work as the collection rolls out.
5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Nat @ Made in Home / Jul 21 2012 1:01 am

    A great pattern, cannot wait to see all the collection!

  2. Sarah / Jul 21 2012 1:15 am

    What a great hat! It looks warm and cozy 🙂

  3. scruffybadger / Jul 21 2012 3:40 am

    Swooning at such a classic looking hat that is so now too….love your choice of yarns…really great textures and colours.
    Good luck with such an exciting venture!!

  4. sophie / Jul 21 2012 3:59 am

    The perfect autumn hat to be worn on Calton Hill…

  5. KristenMakes / Jul 21 2012 5:33 am

    That’s it exactly! Thanks!

What say you?

