Skip to content
July 11, 2012 / KristenMakes

Striped Sparky Dress

This past month, I participated in my first Sew-Along in a long long time, the Summer Spark Sew-Along.  It was manageable so I signed up!  I spent June working on the Sewaholic Lonsdale Dress pattern.  As I’d previously mentioned, I decided to attempt stripes, so I had to test out how the bodice worked cut on the bias.   Now you can see the complete result!  I love it!

Lonsdale Dress by Sewaholic Patterns

The dress is actually really comfortable, and gosh I love those pockets!

The stripe matching isn’t perfect but it makes me happy!  I like the colouring of the fabric too – the blues are nice enough for spring/summer but the brown makes this also wearable for autumn/winter seasons (esp. with my brown leather boots above!).

.

IMG_4516

You may have noticed there is a new addition to my sewing family, my new dressform!  It is mainly for working on my collection but serves very helpfully as my model for my own personal projects too.  It was purchased with the help of a very special gift- an amazon gift card from my awesome brother and his lovely fiance!  Thanks dudes!

Lonsdale Dress by Sewaholic Patterns

Well do you think it has enough spark?!  I do.

20 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Helen / Jul 11 2012 1:27 pm

    Very pretty! Although in this “summer” weather I see you’re not venturing far from that radiator 😀

  2. prttynpnk / Jul 11 2012 1:30 pm

    I think it’s sparky marvelous. I love your fabric!

  3. unlabelled clothes / Jul 11 2012 3:07 pm

    That’s a lovely version 🙂

  4. indigorchid / Jul 11 2012 3:48 pm

    That looks awesome, great job! Love the stripes!

  5. Cuckoo Chanel / Jul 11 2012 4:06 pm

    Gorgeous. I adore the stripes and the summer-into-autumn versatility of the colors.

  6. gingermakes / Jul 11 2012 6:04 pm

    Love this! It’s beautifully done, and it looks great on you!

  7. Sue / Jul 11 2012 8:42 pm

    Another fabulous job. And you look great in it.

  8. Vicki Kate / Jul 12 2012 1:10 am

    This is so beautiful!

  9. theperfectnose / Jul 12 2012 1:56 am

    Love the stripe matching and chevron. Very cool. Those boots are rocking it as well. I finished my summer spark entry in a couple of days then didn’t manage to get it photographed XD It’s been Westeros style mid-winter darkness out here in Melbourne.

  10. scruffybadger / Jul 12 2012 1:00 pm

    Kristin, this is super! I think the style really suits you, & the fabric choice is perfect. its funny i couldnt imagine it when you first showed it in your plans, but it is so right….like you say great with boots too.

  11. Debi / Jul 12 2012 4:18 pm

    Oh WOW! This is absolutely amazing! The colour is perfect and the stripe matching is really impressive. Can’t wait to see it in person!

  12. amberjena / Jul 12 2012 5:38 pm

    Just came across your blog for the first time. Love what you did with the stripes! Can I ask what brand of dress form you ended up buying from amazon? I’ve been looking for a good one. The one I bought for cheap off craigslist is too large in the bust. It’s adjustable, so I thought it would work, but no.

  13. Sarah / Jul 12 2012 6:18 pm

    What a beautiful dress – it suits you so well. 🙂

  14. Jo / Jul 13 2012 12:18 am

    This is really beautiful. The stripes are wonderful!

  15. Crafted by Carly / Jul 15 2012 4:32 pm

    It’s gorgeous! You’ve done an amazing job! And you look absolutely STUNNING in it!!!
    I think I’m going to have to give that pattern a try. I love the detail around the neck – and the big pockets!
    Carly
    x

  16. megannielsen / Jul 16 2012 2:41 am

    I think it turned out beautifully! It looks fantastic on you, and i think the length is really great too!

    Yay! xoxo

  17. Lisa / Jul 30 2012 11:54 am

    What a beautifully made dress. I love the fabric and the way you have the pattern matching down the CF is amazing.

Trackbacks

  1. A little Fascination for a Wedding Celebration « KristenMakes
  2. Proper Dressmaking | KristenMakes
  3. Frocktober Inspiration: Sewaholic Lonsdale | The Monthly Stitch

What say you?

