Skip to content
June 3, 2012 / KristenMakes

A Sew-Along I can commit to

The grammar bug inside myself is reprimanding me that the title should have been ‘A Sew-Along to which I can commit’ so as to avoid ending a sentence with a preposition, but it doesn’t have the same ring…

Anyway, on to the exciting news!  Fabby sewing bloggers Ali from The Wardrobe, Reimagined, Sarah from Rhinestones & Telephones, and Alessa from Farbenreude have announced their newest brainchild, The Summer Spark Sew-Along.  Now usually with sew-alongs they either involved too much sewing or too little time for my schedule but the beauty of this sew-along is you have one month to make one fabby thing!  That I can do!

And I’ve already decided which fabby thing.  OK, technically I’ve already started.  In my last post, I mentioned 4 items I’d like to make, although I gave no timeframe, as they were just vague goals.  The rest still are actually, but from that list of 4, I’ve decided with summery weather hopefully coming soon and staying for at least a week, I’ll start off with the fun Lonsdale Dress pattern by Sewaholic for this sew-along.

I’ve trawled through the Sewaholic Flickr Group to see other sewists’ makes and did some planning (I love doing this, it helps to get me in the making mind-set and organise my thoughts as to what I do and don’t want).  I already had the fabric picked out from my stash, a lovely light wool fabric with broad and thin brown and blue stripes.  ‘Wool in summer?’ you may ask… only in Scotland!

IMG_3052

If you look closely enough at my sketch further up, you can see I’m planning something for the stripes.  A bit of mitre action if you will.  I knew I’d have to make a muslin of the bodice at least: (A) to see if having the bodice cut on the bias would affect the fit much, and (B) to see if the waist band actually fell at my natural waist.

IMG_3053

The muslin pieces on the bias came together well, so that’s (A) ticked off.  But the waistband fell about 1 inch below my natural waist so I knew to shorten the bodice pieces by an inch.

IMG_3076

Now in the picture, the bodice doesn’t look to fit properly, but do not be deceived!  It only looks that way due to poor pinning and awkward posing/camera holding.  Oh, and the fact that I’m wearing a few extra layers underneath.

Well that’s my Summer Spark Sew-along entry thus far!  Stay tuned for more progress!  I can’t wait to see what all the other lovely participants are doing!

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. prttynpnk / Jun 3 2012 9:58 am

    I am planning my plan today- I’m not quite sure what I want to make- but I love the idea of this!

  2. Mum / Jun 3 2012 10:27 am

    Can’t wait to see it in person!

    xx

  3. Sarah / Jun 3 2012 12:40 pm

    I’m so glad you’re on board! Your mitred striped will look fabulous!

  4. Becky / Jun 5 2012 7:57 am

    That’s funny–the first idea that jumped into my head (and has refused to leave) when I read about this sewalong was the Lonsdale I’ve had planned for the last year. So I guess I’m making that too! Except I haven’t had a chance to start yet.

  5. Ali / Jun 6 2012 12:36 pm

    Hooray! I can’t wait to see this dress. I find Sewaholic patterns a bit long waisted, too, and though the halter top doesn’t suit me, I’ve been dying for this pattern simply for the skirt. Sunni has done such great things for the skirt with the great little pockets. Swoon.

    And love the fabric!

  6. theperfectnose / Jun 10 2012 10:33 pm

    Nice, can’t wait to see how that goes. I’m doing the sewalong as well but seeing as it’s winter here and I’m currently working on a jacket .. XD

Trackbacks

  1. Striped Sparky Dress « KristenMakes

What say you?

