Skip to content
May 29, 2012 / KristenMakes

Wardrobe Planning / Stashbusting

I’ve been really good this year not buying patterns or fabric (or clothes, shoes, and yarn for that matter!).  So when my birthday rolled around (more on that to come!), I championed hard for patterns.  My amazing mom obliged, with TWO Sewaholic Patterns!  I recieved the very wearable and wardrobe-friendly Renfrew Tee pattern (bottom left) and the adorable and summery Lonsdale Dress pattern (top right).   Receiving these got me back into thinking about my wardrobe and what I’d make if I had a few spare days off.  I pulled 2 more patterns from my stash and did a bit of wardrobe planning/dreaming…

First off, I’d LOVE to start with the Lonsdale dress.  Although it says ‘unsuitable for stripes,’ I have a lovely striped fabric from my stash that could be really interesting, if I tweaked the pattern layout.  This requires a muslin first but just imagine the stripey goodness:

I also would really like to revisit the Built by Wendy shorts pattern that I made last year.  Only this time pants, perhaps skinny…  I’ve got some denim my mom posted me a year ago that has been earmarked for this.

For the Renfrew Tee I’ve got some really nice jersey of a dark wine colour.  It feels silky and cool to the touch so it would make a great night look.  I’m thinking longer, looser, like a tunic?  Still have some tweaking to do before I finally decide though.

Lastly, for a nice structured jacket (on the lighter side), I’ve got this Lisette Passport Jacket pattern.  I’ve decided to eliminate the collar, crop the body, and play around with how the front lays, to create an angled double-breasted look.  This might require extending the centre-front more, so I’ve got some fabric to make a muslin first (the scrap on the right) and for the final version, HARRIS TWEED in a lovely mustard!  Yes, these too were in my stash!

OK, so plans are made, when can I start?  That’s the tricky bit, finding the time!  Do you find your making-dreams run away from you and there is simply too much for the actual amount of free-time you have?

18 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Holly / May 29 2012 8:45 am

    love the tweed jacket idea! and yes, with new baby there is no time!

  2. Sarah / May 29 2012 8:58 am

    I am very lucky to have a supportive husband who makes sure I have regular uninterrupted sewing time. I love all your patterns and have all of them, with the exception of the Built by Wendy one. Renfrew is my most favourite knit shirt pattern – I’ve made 4 so far with a 5th planned!

  3. prttynpnk / May 29 2012 9:37 am

    I love your jacket idea- I love the look of that pattern, but my hips are not the best fit for the shape-I’ll be watching yourplans anxiously!

  4. Lindsay / May 29 2012 11:30 am

    I feel like I’m looking at my own to-do list! The Renfrew, Lonsdale, and the Lisette jacket are all on my list. I agree with you–there is definitely not enough time to get through everything that I want to make. I hope you do better than I am!

  5. Mum / May 29 2012 12:25 pm

    We could perhaps have a mother-daughter sewing day while I’m there? Too bad I can’t bring my serger!!!

  6. Fiona / May 29 2012 3:26 pm

    My making dreams definitely just get bigger and bigger while time just disappears! I just want a month off to sew! The Lonsdale dress is on my dream plans, can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  7. Kerry / May 29 2012 3:59 pm

    Great plans! I’m really finding that having a rough plan helps me focus, although it’s good to allow some wildcards in there as well. Well done on the stash busting, that feels great too! Love the Harris Tweed jacket plan – divine.

    p.s Happy Birthday! 🙂

  8. Jo / May 29 2012 6:05 pm

    Great plans and good on you for busting that stash! I have about a million ideas, I wonder if I’ll ever get them done! Haha 🙂

  9. Ali / May 29 2012 7:00 pm

    What fabulous plans afoot! I particularly like how you’re making each pattern your own 🙂

  10. Inga, Pops on Ravelry / May 30 2012 2:19 am

    I can’t wait to see all your lovely new handmade clothes. The renfrew tee seems quite interesting, especially the collar, i’ll put it on my list.
    As for sewing time, as Holly wrote before it’s quite hard with a baby not to find the time but to prevent said baby from touching everything, pulling fabric, threads, electrical cord…
    I haven’t sewn i think for a year. The last item was a clothkit doll. So nothing big!
    Last week I ordered The colette sewing handbook (learning basics can’t hurt and there are lovely patterns in it), the colette crepe dress and the minoru jacket (I love yours so much). I already want to make 2 (one in cotton and i wonder about a second one in Harris tweed). As the summer holidays will lead me to Harris, I’ll see if it’s suitable or not!

    Thank you for the inspiration!!!

  11. Sarah / May 30 2012 3:09 am

    We all need to figure out how to stop sleeping, I think that’s the answer. Once I figure it out I’ll let you know! Can’t wait to see your stripey dress 🙂

  12. Jo Campbell / May 30 2012 4:11 am

    I need to do some stash busting (esp. since I’ve just bought new fabric) and I’ve recently picked up a few patterns I want to try out. Now that I’ve finished knitting myself a snuggly cardi/jacket (just stitched it together last night), I’m hoping to get started on some sewing – and my hubby has given me money to buy myself an overlocker as an early birthday pressie.

  13. bluesewncat / May 30 2012 11:45 am

    I am so jealous of your stripey fabric for the dress! I love the tones and the idea of making the t-shirt more loose and tuniky is cool too.

  14. Meg / May 30 2012 12:38 pm

    Your plans are spectacular! I’m really looking forward to seeing your version of the jacket – it will look so lovely in mustard!

  15. Crafted by Carly / May 30 2012 2:53 pm

    So many super patterns!!! I can’t wait to see what they look like finished….
    Carly
    x

  16. HouseOFpinheiro (@HouseOFpinheiro) / May 31 2012 3:37 pm

    Exciting plans x

  17. Noas' Libellule / Jun 1 2012 11:24 am

    love your modifications, and happy belated birthday!

Trackbacks

  1. A Sew-Along I can commit to « KristenMakes

What say you?

