Skip to content
March 18, 2012 / KristenMakes

What I’ve been up to lately…

Do things ever slow down?  I was looking forward to Fashion Weeks/Month being over so things might slow down at work, but so much for that!  Di’s been doing commissions for hand-knitted work for designers who have been showcasing at London & Paris Fashion weeks, so we’ve been kept busy with some really FUN projects.  Now that it’s over though, other things also seem to spring up and keep us busy!

Anyway, in what little freetime I’ve found over the past few weeks, I’ve been making…

cropped …the Lisette Portfolio Dress: pattern won in a giveaway last year by Unfurled, fabric acquired from Debi at the Crafters’ Ceilidh swap.

IMG_1645
IMG_1661…a hat on my knitting machine! I’m not impressed with the colours I chose, and it is too tight and too long, but now I’ve got an idea of the right size from which to make more. It was pretty simple too!

IMG_1644…another hat, which I started at Di’s Knit Club in Fife. The wool is JC Rennie 4-ply and it’s looking really nice. The lace & cable stitch pattern gets a bit lost in the marled yarn but I like the effect.

IMG_1673 …and this is just a wee little group of things I’ve been working on for my collection. I can’t wait to finish and show you all, but you’ll have to sit tight for a few more weeks as I build up my courage.

And lastly, yesterday was not only St. Patrick’s Day but also the final games to determine the winners of Six Nations (the rugby championship between England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, France & Italy). We went to a friend’s flat to watch for a bit, and unfamiliar with game-day etiquette I wanted to be safe and make a treat to bring along. How About Orange had just shared a recipe for Avocado Pie so I took to and made it! …with a wee change:

IMG_1630 We don’t have graham crackers in the UK, so I tried out a recipe for the graham cracker crust substituting Digestive Biscuits… It worked! Tasted just like it!

IMG_1632 Also I didn’t have a pie tin, so I made individual cakes in a cupcake tin.

IMG_1634 After baking the wee crusts I CAREFULLY slid them out, replaced them in cupcake wrappers for later portability, and made the filling.

.Et voila! They were pretty yum! Our friends at the party were quite brave to try these odd little green avocado pies (esp. being that pies are better known here for their savoury fillings rather than being sweet desserty treats), but once they did, I think the pies were a hit!

So those are the projects that have been keeping me busy in addition to work these past few weeks.  Hope you’re having fun making too!

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Helen / Mar 18 2012 11:36 am

    Can’t wait to see your collection, Kristen. Your collection website looks so polished.

  2. Kerry / Mar 18 2012 11:43 am

    I love your portfolio dress! How exciting that you’ve been working on your collection too.

  3. Crafted by Carly / Mar 18 2012 1:48 pm

    Love the dress! I think I might have to get me a copy of that pattern….
    How exciting – getting a collection together!!! 🙂
    Have a good week!
    Carly
    x

  4. Debi / Mar 18 2012 2:02 pm

    YAY! That Lisette dress is amazing and the fabric works with it perfectly!!! Can’t wait to see your collection!!

  5. mum / Mar 18 2012 4:15 pm

    You just can’t sit still, can you? Unless there are knitting needles in your hands! Sewing! Knitting! Cooking! Illustrating! What next?
    Love you!

  6. Sarah / Mar 18 2012 5:29 pm

    Oh, it’s all so lovely! Your Portfolio dress is lovely and I never thought to use mine as a layering piece! Genius! I am so looking forward to seeing your new designs!!!!!

  7. Rachel / Mar 19 2012 4:24 am

    yum, the pies sound delicious! I hope things slow down for you soon, being busy with interesting projects at work is great; but it can be nice to take things a bit slower too!

  8. mujerboricua / Mar 19 2012 6:55 am

    I love the spotty fabric you used for your Portfolio dress. It’s really sweet. And like Sarah said, I wouldn’t have thought to layer it with a T. Nice!

  9. shivani / Mar 19 2012 11:51 am

    I love your portfolio dress, and it looks so great layered with the T. I have this pattern, and your version has really inspired me to move it up the queue! x

  10. Alili / Mar 19 2012 4:29 pm

    I lost my comment 😦 Anyway, great to see your new makes and makes in progress. Avocado pie?? I eat a lot of avocado and I’d never think to eat it that way 🙂

    Looking forward to your collection!

  11. Amanda Heyne / Mar 24 2012 1:21 pm

    That dress is incredible!

  12. Scruffybadger / Mar 25 2012 5:43 pm

    What lots of goodies! I love your portfolio, & am mega impressed you mastered your knitting machine (My Mum had one in the 70s & I tried to get it working but failed!) And I must say those avocado pies look very tasty

  13. Jen / Apr 2 2012 12:28 am

    What an interesting shirt-dress-tunic ~~~ I love it ! THem? I see you have more than one… a collection? I will have to watch this space better. Most assuredly ! I also like the affect of texture & pattern with varigated yarn, beautiful elwood hat (the knitting machine must really be a trick to use?) Avacado PIES??? Are there any left over for me to try? 🙂

  14. Noas'Libellule / Apr 12 2012 8:59 am

    Love your latest project.. Avocado pies… that sounds interesting.

Trackbacks

  1. On my Needles… « KristenMakes

What say you?

