Skip to content
March 5, 2012 / KristenMakes

Firsts: A Video Tutorial

My pal Rachel & I are doing a knitalong together with the Mazarin hat by my other knitterly pal, Jo Kelly.  We set out a schedule which both of us have fallen behind, but that is neither here nor there.  What I wanted to share today is a technique I’ve learned during this project called ‘wrapping the yarn’ – which out of habit from spending so much time with Di Gilpin I’ve taken to calling it weaving your floats.

ex. of woven floats from Knitting in Color

Weaving your floats (or wrapping the yarn) in fair isle knitting means to secure the longer floats by fastening them in behind a stitch, so that they won’t get snagged or pulled.  Also, it makes a really interesting design, esp. when used in a smaller motif such as in Mazarin’s triangle pattern.

Di is really adept at it, so I thought I’d learn for myself.  For knitters like me who knit fair isle with 2 hands (i.e. colour A in my left hand, colour B in my right) I found this really handy guide to multi-colour knitting from Knitpicks (download their awesome pdf here) from which I studied & practised, and now feel comfortable enough to share my findings!  I am really happy with how this looks.  Not only is my tension more even and the resulting fabric smoother than my previous two-handed fair isle attempts, but also the balls DON’T GET KNOTTED!  I know, crazy, right?

While the guide has a really great picture/caption tutorial, I thought maybe you’d want to see this in action.  I got my courage up and my wee flipshare camcorder out (thanks mom!) and recorded a video.  The video begins with showing how to wrap a float from the yarn in your right hand, and then moves to how to wrap the float from the yarn in your left.

I hope that the embedding worked & that you enjoyed the video!  Let me know if you give it a go or if you have an interesting technique of your own!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom Orme / Mar 5 2012 10:51 am

    Even though I don’t knit, sure did enjoy hearing your voice on the video. Missing you guys.

  2. Debi / Mar 5 2012 3:58 pm

    Fascinating! Love watching you knit!

  3. Crafted by Carly / Mar 6 2012 2:56 pm

    It was nice (if a little strange) to hear your voice instead of read it! 🙂
    You look so natural knitting! I look like I’m having a fight with an octopus!!!
    Carly
    x

  4. Rachel / Mar 7 2012 3:12 am

    That’s so useful, thank you. I had tried this before, but it hadn’t worked very well. I’ll be able to try again now though 🙂

  5. youngmarriedmom / Feb 12 2014 11:09 am

    Thank you! Looking forward to giving this a try this afternoon.

Trackbacks

  1. knit: a most bespeckled hat | a view into my world

What say you?

