Skip to content
February 12, 2012 / KristenMakes

My Minoru! …and getting back into the SeWING of things.

A few weeks ago I found myself at the Crafters’ Ceilidh and completely surrounded by some fabulous and inspiring sewists.  I had the best time and was so motivated and enthused for making and creating I couldn’t get wait to get back to my sewing machine.

So back to my sewing machine I went, to get on with the Minoru Jacket from Sewaholic Patterns.

Now to be honest, I haven’t done much sewing in the past year.  I’ve sewn,  but only if you call pushing out quick projects, cutting corners, and not necessarily loving the result.  I feel like the deeper into knitting I dive, the further away from sewing I am.  While I’m reading fabulous blogs about some beautiful home-made garments involving some really intricate sewing techniques, I tend to get down on myself and think I can’t do that stuff.  But after the meet-up, I started feeling the sewing bug bite a little harder.  I’ve been sewing for over ten years, made some really difficult projects, and taught many other people to sew as well – why is it so easy to forget those things?  So I gave myself a mental slap in the face, and decided to get back into the SeWING of things…  Yes, its silly I know, but it had to be said.  So I decided to make my Minoru and make it PERFECT, something that I would be incredibly pround of.

IMG_1287

And it is!  I did everything right:  I took my time, made a full muslin, followed Tasia’s amazing Sewalong, and added a few of my own changes to make it my own.

So for my own modifications, I shortened the cuffs and top-stitched the edge; I added brown corduroy for elbow patches and the lining of the collar; and I used flannel for the jacket lining and the hood lining too.

This pattern is amazing.  It is fully lined (a step which, thanks to the pattern instructions, is easier than you think), it has an amazing collar which hides a deep hood, and the design and fit are really flattering!

IMG_1270

Now for the action shot, release the hood!  I just love the hood that tucks into the collar, just genious.

IMG_1281

I have been wearing this jacket non-stop!  It is so wearable and comfortable.  And it looks great with my wellies!

.

So, is the sewing bug still biting?  YES!  I am definitely looking forward to my next project, I just haven’t decided yet what it will be…  So thanks, Minoru, for getting my sewing mojo going again.

43 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. meghanaf / Feb 12 2012 6:25 am

    Oh wow. I can’t even dream of sewing something like that! Might have to save some pennies and take a proper sewing class. Well done!

  2. Helen / Feb 12 2012 6:30 am

    WOW! Like your commenter above I cannot imagine ever sewing something like this! It is beautiful.

  3. mujerboricua / Feb 12 2012 6:37 am

    I beyond love this! Love the fabric choice, the look, the elbow pads.Those elbow pads were such an amazing add. So glad you figured out how to get them on there because they look fab.

  4. Kerry / Feb 12 2012 6:40 am

    Yay, it looks great! Well done, it’s just as you planned it to be, and I love the little personal touches you’ve added.

  5. Linda / Feb 12 2012 6:43 am

    Definitely something to be proud of – it’s gorgeous!

  6. Shivani / Feb 12 2012 7:19 am

    Wow! Great make! I especially love the colour, and the corduroy accents.

  7. prttynpnk / Feb 12 2012 8:26 am

    Wow- every minaru I see gets better and better- love the elbow patches and the fabric choices. Nicely done!

  8. scruffybadger / Feb 12 2012 9:29 am

    Kristen its fabulous! Well done I love the fabric combos and especially the elbow patches. Too right you’re a great sewster as well as a cool knittie.

  9. Debbie / Feb 12 2012 10:30 am

    I love your Minoru! Looks fabulous. Must get on to finishing mine. I am a few posts behind on the Sew Along!

  10. mum / Feb 12 2012 10:32 am

    Well, I think you’ve bypassed your momma… I relinquish my crown to you…! Beautifully done and great attention to detail!

  11. indigorchid / Feb 12 2012 10:48 am

    That’s fantastic! I absolutely love the plaid lining, and also the flannel for the cuff, that’s a really nice touch! (must copy that!)

    I’ve actually not even started my Minoru… sewing and knitting has been non-existant lately, and I’m just waiting for the desire and drive to come back. No point forcing myself to sew!

    Really nice Kristen!

  12. jen / Feb 12 2012 11:08 am

    It looks beautiful, congrats! I love your lining and elbow patches, they really complete the jacket

  13. Rachel / Feb 12 2012 11:34 am

    oh my word. I’m glad you’re proud of this, as you really ought to be. It is very impressive! I’m glad the ceilidh inspired you as well. It seems a fitting reward given that you co-organised it! Rachel 🙂

  14. so sew / Feb 12 2012 11:37 am

    Looks great on you. Your Mum’s comment is so sweet as well.

  15. Crafted by Carly / Feb 12 2012 11:38 am

    I am VERY impressed! You should be super-proud of yourself for making such a gorgeous jacket! It looks very complicated!
    Well done you!!!
    Looking forward to seeing pics of your next sewing project…..
    Carly
    x

  16. didyoumakethat / Feb 12 2012 12:09 pm

    That is ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT and so inspiring. Did the muslin throw up any fitting issues? How did you fit pockets? I’m just trying to decide what to do about my pockets. I’m so glad I’m making mine in camel wool too, now. Love the elbow patches! Go, go, go!

  17. Sarah / Feb 12 2012 1:09 pm

    How glorious!! I LOVE the elbow patches and pretty lining. 🙂 Well done, Kristen!!!

  18. Ali / Feb 12 2012 1:24 pm

    Ahhh! I love this! I’ve been trying to talk myself out of the Minoru (even though I love it) because I’ve got a jacket very similar and I’m trying to get by with less, but dang girl, this is not doing much for my willpower. It’s just lovely and I love the additions of the patch pockets — and are those pockets I see? Fabulous job. Who cares if you’re not sewing a lot if you can, whenever you chose, produce a gem you’ll love and wear? 🙂

  19. Natasha Jane / Feb 12 2012 1:33 pm

    Your Minoru is AMAZING! I think your version just might be my favorite that I’ve seen so far. The plaid lining and touches of corduroy are excellent.

  20. Mom Orme / Feb 12 2012 3:18 pm

    I can’t top any of these wonderful comments…you deserve them all. Great jacket and great job of making it.

What say you?

