Skip to content
January 23, 2012 / KristenMakes

Mass Blogger Meet-up… hilarity ensues!

WOW!  I have NEVER been amongst so many bloggers or blog-enthusiasts as this past Saturday.  We had our Crafters’ Ceilidh, and all our hours of emailing, planning, making, etc. really paid off!  We had such a turn-out and I’m pretty sure everyone had as good a time as I myself had.

It was such a treat to meet so many bloggers whom I have been following, whose projects I had been drooling over, whose strokes of genius I have been trying to emulate.  Even the non-bloggers who came (I’m so happy you did!) were so delightful and crafty!  Even if you don’t write a blog that doesn’t mean you don’t appreciate craft as much as those who do blog.  It was great to be part of something big and fun, and to be cohost on a team of such fabulous ladies.  Debi, Kerry & I had such a great time organising this!

So what did we do, you ask?!  We all started off the day with some sustenance (tea, sandwiches and cake!) at Frederick’s Coffeehouse, who were wonderful for putting up with our lot!  We had printed name badges, itineraries and handmade flower pins (30 of them, made by your happy hosts!) for the occasion, and we all got to initially meet and greet …and eat!

   

Flower pins and name badges; Debi, Keri & I planning away (photo by Roo!)

Next, we headed down to Princes Street Gardens to meet our hired photographer (aka David, Debi’s very patient husband).  We stood outside the fountain, clutching the Saltire Flag (provided by Debi!) between our frozen fingers, for the most picturesque shot of the day, Edinburgh Castle backdrop and all.

Crafters’ Ceilidh Group Photo, From L to R: KerryKarenWinnie, Rachel L., Kari, RooCarolynAmandaSo-HaKiranRachel, Debi B., KristenFrancaAlana, me, Hannah, Katie and Melizza.  Not pictured: ClareAnneleenTom and Cat.

Afterwards, we headed to the Grassmarket to begin our shopping.  I gave a wee rundown of what shops you would find and then we all split up for a bit of shopping at Armstrongs, The Embroidery Shop, K1 Yarns and Fabhatrix.  I stole the picture below from Scruffy Badger Time – she must have been recording my uplifting speech.

After Grassmarket, it was on to the FABRIC shopping!  Everyone was such a trouper, braving wind, rain, and bitter cold!  With a little bussing and lots of walking we made our way to three fabric shops, all around town: Edinburgh Fabrics, Mandors and The Cloth Shop.  Each shop was especially patient and accommodating to our large group, and many purchases were made.

My Happy Sewing Place & House of Pinheiro

Bag-laden and wallets emptied, we headed to the soon-to-be-opened Sewingbee Cafe on Leith Walk.  Kal, the mastermind behind the cafe, was so kind to open up just for us to have a sit, a gab, and a cuppa.  She informed us about all that she is doing, including workshops, ‘Sewcial Projects’, and cafe plans.  I can’t wait for the opening!  It was here that we also had our fabric/pattern swap which I think became an outlet for the sillies inside us all.  Everyone brought some patterns or fabric to give away and we all swapped (very orderly-like, mind you!) and took something(s) home.  There were some hilarious patterns, let me tell you!

What to grab, what to grab....

I was pretty happy with my goodies – I left the swap with some tan polka dot fabric, some loverly  handbag handles, and 2 dress patterns, what a steal!

And lastly, we headed for dinner at The Voodoo Rooms.  Another extremely accommodating place for our rowdy lot!  Dinner was yum, conversation was lively, wine was flowing.

Another lovely set of photos by Debi.

As the night drew to an end, we all said our goodbyes, lugged our goodies home to bed, and fell to dreaming of future meet-ups and potential sewing projects from the day’s haul.  Or at least I did!

Thank you so much to everyone who came, from near or far!  I had a lovely day with you all and hope to see you again!

17 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom Orme / Jan 23 2012 10:07 am

    Sure sounds/looks like a fun day…even to a non-crafter! Looking forward to seeing your new projects from your swaps.

  2. Kerry / Jan 23 2012 10:13 am

    Hooray! It was such a fun day, wasn’t it? I look forward to seeing how you get on making up your 60s dress, looks like it could be so cute.

  3. Noas'Libellule / Jan 23 2012 11:42 am

    that sounds like a great day!! Wished i was still in Scotland!

  4. mujerboricua / Jan 23 2012 12:17 pm

    I want a do-over. And if I got one I wouldn’t change a thing. I just want to experience all that fun again. Thanks for hosting. It was so so much fun. I had a blast.

  5. Jo Campbell / Jan 23 2012 1:42 pm

    Sounds like the most lovely day – wish I could have been there.

  6. Janice / Jan 23 2012 2:12 pm

    So sorry I couldn’t be there (this time) – but have enjoyed reading all the accounts of the day – all credit to the organisers for planning such a wonderful day and encouraging such a sense of camarederie !

    Janice.

  7. meghanaf / Jan 23 2012 2:28 pm

    Looks like it was so much fun! Thanks for the roundup – lots of tips for when I next visit Edinburgh!

  8. Scruffybadger / Jan 23 2012 2:36 pm

    I know we all had such a great time. Thank you Kristen for your hard organising- & making 🙂
    It was awesome to meet you & I’m going to enjoy seeing what you get up to next ….& am looking forward to some more knit-inspiration !

  9. Ali / Jan 23 2012 3:34 pm

    Oooh, looks like a great time was had by all. I have that 60s Butterick pattern — can’t wait to see what you do with it!

  10. House of Pinheiro / Jan 23 2012 7:30 pm

    Thank you again for organising.. that was such a fantastic day. really enjoyed !!! Cannot wait for the next one ! xx

  11. mum / Jan 23 2012 10:52 pm

    Oooh….can we recreate this day when I come this summer? Looks wonderful!

  12. Franca / Jan 24 2012 4:25 pm

    Thanks for hosting, it was SO much fun!

  13. Amanda Heyne / Jan 25 2012 12:51 pm

    I wish I had more motivation and drive like you do! You are so good at organizing these things and taking on new challenges. I can’t wait to see how your new projects are coming along when we get there. I’m gonna try to pick out a new pattern to work on while we’re there so that I can get your assistance.

  14. Jen / Jan 30 2012 8:12 pm

    Oh wow, that is so wonderful that you brought your clan together ! I wish I’d have been around. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. My Minoru! …and getting back into the SeWING of things. « KristenMakes
  2. What I’ve been up to lately… « KristenMakes
  3. Proper Dressmaking | KristenMakes

What say you?

