Skip to content
January 15, 2012 / KristenMakes

Goals for the New Year.

I’m not calling them resolutions.  Not sure why, but they just are that much more of an obligation when you call it a resolution.  And I try to avoid obligations – I don’t deal well with something I know I have to do.

And so these are goals.  A much nicer word I think.  Plus they fit nicely and concisely into categories!  Bliss.

SEWING:

  • I’m going to begin and FINISH the Minoru Jacket!
  • A dress!  I think I’d like to make a dress.  Have plenty of patterns and some fabric from which to choose, so I need to take stock of my wardrobe to see what my dress needs are.
  • Trousers too!  I have this Built by Wendy for Simplicity pattern from which I have made some shorts, so next I’d like to make some trousers.

KNITTING:

  • 1 goal only:  I plan to make SIX new patterns this year.  You can bet I’ll be showing them here as they come!
CUTTING BACK:
  • Shoes:  I don’t need any more shoes!  I have plenty, yes, but I’m not going to get rid of them because they get loads of use.  I’ve learned pretty quickly living here in Edinburgh that with all the walking we do, I need good shoes and lots of them, so that they actually last.  But no NEW shoes.  I’m set.
  • Yarn:  I also am set on yarn.  I have plenty and I think I can go for a year without buying more.  One loophole, though.  I can buy yarn if it is (1) for a project for someone else that (2) I do not currently have the yarn for.
  • Fabric:  Same as for yarn, although I have much less fabric than I have yarn, but I have also that much LESS time for sewing than I have for knitting.  And so, no new fabric (same loophole applies as above though).
PERSONAL:
  • Working out:  I started to work out towards the end of last year and it was great!  I had an expensive temporary gym membership which I could not continue to afford, and so I must find free ways to continue keeping active.  Running outside perhaps?
  • The balance of working hard while relaxing:  I’ve got a pretty demanding year ahead of me, in which I have a great job that I love, but there are plenty of tasks and responsibilities.  Not only that but I’ve got lots of work-related goals for myself as a designer/blogger so I must find a way to keep on top of them both while also making time to relax, take holidays, and spend time with darling Trent.

Phew!  Those are my goals.  Whether I keep them or not, I know it’s going to be a great year!  Last year was just fabulous, so why not this one too?  This time last year I was halfway through my MA course, still trying to decide what to do for my submission.  I was scared STIFF about the post-graduation job prospects (being that there were none!).  And I was struggling to understand my skills and talents as a knitter and designer.
Now, I have graduated and am pretty proud of the work I did.  I have a job which I LOVE; it provides me with so many great opportunities and there are always really fun and challenging projects to keep me busy and inspired.  And lastly, I am actually feeling more confident about my capabilities and taste as a knitter/designer.  I even venture as far as to call myself a knitwear designer at times.  I’ve developed my own portfolio and website.  And I am SO excited for 2012.  I hope you are too!
Happy 2012!
12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kerry / Jan 15 2012 5:42 pm

    I think your goals sound pretty achievable. Look forward to seeing your 2012 makes.

  2. Sarah / Jan 15 2012 6:24 pm

    You ARE a knitwear designer and a really good one!! You are also an excellent teacher, as you taught me to knit from 3,000 miles away!

    Your goals are great. I like the term goal, too. It has much more flexibility than resolution. Looking forward to seeing your new knitting patterns!

  3. Liz / Jan 15 2012 7:24 pm

    I like your goals. I hope you enjoy achieving them.

  4. mum / Jan 15 2012 7:40 pm

    “And I try to avoid obligations – I don’t deal well with something I know I have to do”
    That is so you!
    Looks like an ambitious year, but very doable!
    Mum…

  5. meghanaf / Jan 16 2012 5:46 am

    We have pretty similar goals this year (except with the sewing, I still can’t sew well…so maybe that should be a goal of mine!). I had a look at your portfolio and it’s AMAZING! You’re SO a knitwear designer already. Yay for 2012!

  6. indigorchid / Jan 16 2012 6:27 am

    Those are good goals. It’s funny, I have a lot of very similar goals – even patterns! (Yep, getting ready for the Minoru sew-along, but that Built By Wendy pattern is also in my stash!)

    And, I’ve just started running. I’ve never really worked out, so I’m still hoping I’ll manage to stick with it. I’m looking into forefoot running, and so far, so good!

  7. Noas' libellule / Jan 16 2012 7:29 am

    Great goals! Very inspirational! Love the new hair (missed the last post!).. Good luck with them, and very happy 2012!

  8. Mom Orme / Jan 16 2012 10:21 am

    I
    I also prefer “goals” to “resolutions.” For me, I just don’t like to do what everyone else is doing. I think you’ll do very well on your goals. Only difficult one might be not buying more yarn.

    You have built-in exercise equipment: just climbing the stairs to your flat! Do that a few times a day and you have your cardio in. And all the walking you do is great exercise. Cans/cartons can always be substituted for wts.

  9. Crafted by Carly / Jan 16 2012 12:15 pm

    ‘Goals’ does sound much friendlier! And you have some great ones! Looking forward to reading about your progress….
    Carly
    x

  10. aviewintomyworld / Jan 17 2012 5:32 pm

    great goals, looking forward to seeing your new patterns 🙂

  11. Sølvi / Jan 19 2012 6:28 pm

    Great goals, I think they looks inspiring and achievable. I am very excited about your designing, as I adore your previous work and your style, and I can´t wait to see what you come up with! 🙂

  12. Jen / Jan 30 2012 8:19 pm

    Those are some great goals. Oddly, I have similar ones, and I’m reading others, so many others, who again are going for the “No More!” discipline, be it new clothes, new shoes, new yarn. I have been a thrift shopper for most all my clothes for so long, but even in that I have collected far far too many. I’ve told myself ‘ no more thrift clothes!!!’ … because I want to sew again. I use to sew all the time, and that is my goal. I will start this spring with a nice tailored white shirt. I’ll be peeking in ….

What say you?

