Skip to content
November 22, 2011 / KristenMakes

Officially an MA!

Wow, thanks for all your Congratulations from the last post regarding my graduation!!!

Thank you so much for all your support this year, not only by continuing with me when I’ve been silent for weeks (aka busy with uni) but also by your participation in the conversation we had on fashion, knitwear and sustainability.

I can proudly say that with your help I now have an MA in Fashion & Textile Design (with Distinction!).

My father did in fact make it (as you can see from the photograph) although fog-related delays in Amsterdam kept things tight and down to the wire.  He also got to see me be interviewed which will hopefully soon go up on the HWU graduate profile page.

As soon as all that nerve-wracking stuff was over, we headed to The Kitchin for a celebratory dinner, where I can honestly say I had the best meal of my life!  The chef, Tom Kitchin, had even left a hand-written congratulatory card for me at our table.

We had the rest of the weekend to celebrate with my father so we took a trip to Glasgow in an attempt to find my father’s great-grandfather’s grave.  Apparently Craigton Cemetary was much bigger than we anticipated; although we found many Taylors, we didn’t find the one we were looking for.  But it made for an adventure nonetheless.

So now my father has returned home and as my grandmother used to say after vacations, it is “back to old clothes and porridge.”  Or rather, back to work and knitting – not so bad!

18 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom Orme / Nov 22 2011 1:24 pm

    Congratulations isn’t a good enough word. I know you worked so hard for this, and now I’m excited to see what’s ahead. Trent described your meals; they sounded pretty interesting. (So, was it really better than The Witchery?) Glad it was such a special day and that both your husband and dad could share it with you.

  2. Sarah / Nov 22 2011 2:10 pm

    Oh, how marvellous!! Congratulations on your MA (with distinction!!!) I am so thrilled for you and so glad that your dad was able to make it over.

    I’ll always be grateful for you leaving a comment on my blog that started our friendship. 🙂

  3. Sølvi / Nov 22 2011 2:21 pm

    Congratulations! I´m so happy for you! 🙂

  4. Debi / Nov 22 2011 3:25 pm

    YAY! I think I need to take you out for some bubbly! What do you say???

  5. frayedattheedge / Nov 22 2011 3:35 pm

    Many congratulations – and what a way to celebrate!!

  6. Meg / Nov 22 2011 3:37 pm

    Many Congratulations!! You earned it 🙂 I’m glad your father was able to make it!

  7. indigorchid / Nov 22 2011 4:45 pm

    Aw… How wonderful! I’m thrilled for you that your father got to be there, and I feel like I can see the relief, pride, and joy on your face over having completed your degree! Congratulations, indeed!

  8. aviewintomyworld / Nov 22 2011 9:07 pm

    congratulations kristen, i really enjoyed reading about your MA work so glad that you got that distinction 🙂

  9. Crafted by Carly / Nov 23 2011 6:42 am

    Congratulations again! I’m glad you enjoyed your special day!!! 🙂
    x

  10. zilredloh / Nov 23 2011 2:45 pm

    Congrats! You’re officially a smartie with the diploma to prove it. 🙂

  11. Ali / Nov 23 2011 3:41 pm

    Congrats!!!! Well deserved. You’ve been such an inspiration, looking forward to what’s ahead 🙂

  12. Elizabeth @ Coppertop Kitchen / Nov 23 2011 3:43 pm

    Congratulations, lovely! That’s so exciting!!! Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

  13. Noas'Libellule / Nov 23 2011 5:07 pm

    Many many congratulations!!!

  14. Lizz @ A Good Wardrobe / Nov 26 2011 4:13 pm

    I’ve been on vacation so I haven’t had the chance to say congratulations yet! I’m glad that you enjoyed the celebrations and that your father was able to make it.

  15. Rue / Nov 30 2011 1:03 am

    Congratulations again! I’m glad your father was able to make it. What a wonderful way to celebrate!

  16. Jen / Nov 30 2011 10:36 am

    Yours is a blog I will go out of my way to follow, and many congratulations for your hard work. What a great job !

  17. Teresa / Nov 30 2011 11:19 pm

    congrats Kristen! Your Dad was very excited about your big day and told us all about it when he got back. Saw the mag – great interview! We are all so proud of you at the Melbourne / Suntree Office!

  18. Tasha / Dec 5 2011 2:38 pm

    Much delayed, but a big congratulations to you on graduation!!

What say you?

