Skip to content
October 27, 2011 / KristenMakes

KAL check-in!

Hi everyone!  How are we proceeding on the Cadence for our ‘Newbie and the Knitter KAL’?

It has been quiet on the Flickr group, but I have been happy to see and answer the questions that have been rolling in to the blog and my email.  I love how many people are participating and I love helping knitters all over, so this is such fun for me!

Now to update you on Sarah, our ‘Newbie’, she is taking a wee diversion for some practise in circular and lace knitting.  Her experience has proved a very good lesson in knitting, one I’ve been speaking on since the beginning of the KAL, so I am glad that Sarah agrees:  knitting is mean to be an enjoyable hobby, a therapeutic experience.  The moment your knitting is a hassle/nuisance/bother you MUST take a break, start something else and refresh!  In Sarah’s case, as she explained in this post, she is doing just that.  The tenacious girl went through casting on and ripping out ELEVEN times!  We had a very nice Skype chat in which I was able to help her through a few steps, but sometimes it is just best to take a break and try something new.  She made the great decision to practise with a side project (two in fact!).  She has found through Ravelry two lovely cowls to practise with: Simply Soft Cowl and Birthday Cowl.  What a great plan!  These two patterns are great for a beginner to circular knitting, the the Birthday Cowl features a simple lace that will be a great prep for the lace yoke in Cadence!  I, always fancying a new project, decided to Cast On for the Birthday Cowl too!

Now it still needs a bit of steaming/blocking, but I am pretty pleased!  It knitted up quickly with the help of some train journeys to work and back.  Rather than doing a roll edge, I did a knitted hem.  I’ll be happy to explain how if anyone is interested!

Anyway, back to our fellow Knitalong-ers…  How are you finding the Cadence pattern and you experiences?  Do you fancy a break?  Are you ready for me to post the next step (which is continuing increasing the sleeves and body to the point where you separate the body from the sleeves)?  I’m here for whatever you need and ready to progress whenever you like!

Until then, let me leave you with the story of what I’ve been doing!  For a few weeks now I have progressed from being intern to Di Gilpin to being hired design assistant!  I have had the amazing tasks of working on a new site for her (please do visit digilpincollection.weebly.com and do let us know any URL ideas you have for her site, as we are struggling to choose!), as well as assisting her with photoshoots (visit some of the images from our latest photoshoot here) and also helping work out the designs she envisions for her many big clients!

Very generously, the family welcomes me into their home as a member while I am working in Fife these 3 days a week, cooking amazing meals for me and taking fabulous country walks.  It is a dream, really!  Last night Di cooked an Autumnal feast in which we had steaming hot food served from within a roasted pumpkin and one of the guests pulled out his bagpipe and gave us a show!  Life is truly an adventure, and as busy as I am with all the travel I do for work, I cannot believe how blessed I am.

     IMG_9847 IMG_9851 IMG_9846

Wishing you a lovely Autumn and happy knitting!

16 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Suzy / Oct 27 2011 8:25 pm

    Wow…it sounds like you are having a fantastic time!

    As for the KAL…I have finished the lace chart and completed my increases to my indicated stitch count for my size, but looking at what I have already knit, I’m not sure if my increases are correct throughout that last section – I think they look, um…funky. Will you post photos of yours over on the Flickr group so I can see how mine are looking in comparison? Maybe it’s just because I have never knit an actual garment before and I’m being super-critical.

  2. Stephanie / Oct 27 2011 9:15 pm

    Well congrats on your new job! Sounds like it’s fabulous.

    I’ve figured out the lace chart and am most of the way through knitting the lace chart. It looks ok so far.

  3. indigorchid / Oct 28 2011 4:54 am

    That is just fantastic Kristen! I’m so glad your intern-experience has turned into this – a new job! How very, very exciting! (I’m looking for a job myself at the moment, so that makes me extra happy for your fortune!)

  4. Kerry / Oct 28 2011 5:25 am

    Wow, your new job sounds exciting! Well done you 🙂

  5. shivani / Oct 28 2011 6:42 am

    Fantastic news about the job! so exciting – well done!!

    I must admit I’ve stalled a bit at the lace chart, out of sheer fright (though I have been meaning to say thanks for the amazing Excel chart!). Everything up to that point is just as it should be! (I must put up some pics)

    I too have decided to do a bit of practice knitting, to get my hands used to it again before (the last I did was in February), so am working on a woolly hat (to practice an easy peasy lace), and arm warmers, as I’ve never used DPNs before. But if other KALers are ready to push on, I’m happy to follow along at my own pace. 🙂

    x

  6. Noas' libellule / Oct 28 2011 9:20 am

    Whoah!! Congratualtions, that is awesome! Will check out the website. I have not started the KAL yet, been busy with other projects that I want to finish, I am keeping your posts ready though for when I get round to it!

    http://www.noaslibellule.blogspot.com

  7. Sarah / Oct 29 2011 1:51 am

    Yippee! Yippee!! Congratulations on your new (and very well-deserved!!) job!! I’m so excited for you!!!

  8. KristenMakes / Oct 29 2011 3:49 am

    Hi Suzy! that can happen, beginners can be over-critical of their work, but the increases should be regularly stemming from where the markers are placed. I just now posted a few more pics, one of which in particular should show my yoke increases to the underarm, although I plan to post a close-up shot soon too. Hope this helps! more later!

  9. Lori / Oct 29 2011 10:11 am

    Hi there! I’m not “officially” a member of your group, but AM knitting right along with all of you! I started Cadence and quickly realized that I needed something to help me see how the increases worked with the lace. Enter your lovely chart. Thank you, thank you, thank you! I have now knitted it twice. Ahem. Seriously, I am now all the way through the chart (with the proper number of rows AND stitches on the needles), and am hoping to move past the underarms today. My increases sometimes occur in not exactly the right places but I do not expect anyone’s eyes to be in my armpits, so they can stay where they are. 🙂 I am going to try it on later so unless there are glaring errors, I’ll move along.
    Anyway, thank you for helping us work on this…your efforts are farther-reaching than you thought!

  10. Rue / Oct 29 2011 4:14 pm

    Congrats on the new job! That sounds fantastic. Was the photo shoot process as fun as the finished product? I especially liked the grey tube dress.

  11. Becky / Oct 29 2011 7:32 pm

    Congrats on the new job! It sounds very exciting!

    I’m about 3 1/2 rows away from finishing the lace chart….though I’m kind of paranoid that it’s going to be too loose of a knit, since I had to go up 2 needle sizes to get gauge. It looks very open. I’m also not entirely sure I’m doing the sleeve increases right, but I’ll have to check the number of stitches once I get through those rows.

  12. KristenMakes / Oct 30 2011 3:39 am

    @Becky, can you post to the flickr group a close-up of the lace so we can see it? It might look quite like ours actually. During the gauging post a lot of us had to go up needle sizes to get the right gauge and are fabrics also seem quite loosely knit. Depending on the fiber you are knitting with, after completing and blocking the jumper (I’ll do a post on blocking) the fibers usually tend to relax and fluff up a bit so it looks more like a smooth fabric and less like a bumpy loose knit. Wool and most animal fibers are really good for that.

  13. KristenMakes / Oct 30 2011 3:42 am

    @Lori, I am so glad you are “unofficially” knitting along and that the chart has been helping you! I agree completely about the armpits – if your increases are slightly off, no one but you will know. The goal is to have a garment that fits and that you love, so so long as you are trying it on along the way to ensure fit and it fits, then great!!! Do let me know if you have any questions!

  14. KristenMakes / Oct 30 2011 3:44 am

    @Shivani, I completely understand about stalling out if fright – we’ve all been there. Sometimes a concept or technique has to “stew” in the mind a bit before you are ready to tackle it, so I am very glad you took a break with a woolly hat and arm warmers!! Great idea! When you are ready for the chart, I am here if you have any questions!

  15. Debi / Oct 30 2011 9:44 am

    YAY! Congrats on the job!! that is very exciting news!

    I haven’t yet started the KAL–realistically I might not be able to start until the new year…we shall see!! But I am following along regularly trying to pick up tips for when I do start!!

  16. Crafted by Carly / Oct 30 2011 10:40 am

    Hi Kristen,
    Congratulations on your new job! It sounds VERY exciting!!!
    x

What say you?

