Skip to content
October 11, 2011 / KristenMakes

Enter the Lace Chart…

da Da DAAAAA….

It is time to begin the lace yoke, the next step in our Newbie & The Knitter Knitalong!

You knitters have been so patient with our crazy schedules, and everyone’s work is looking great on the Flickr Group too!  I must again apologise for the slow pace we have had thus far but I think we have found our stride and are going at a good pace!

So, we have Cast-on, knitted the first few rows, and now we are ready for the chart!  Before following this post, peruse through the Chart Patterns section in the Cadence pattern to familiarise yourself with the steps.

This chart is pretty ingenious in that within the lace pattern, it incorporates the increases that must occur to get from neckline to shoulders.  Now every size of the pattern has to increase a different amount of stitches at a different rate, so the pattern explains to follow the chart WHILE SIMULTANEOUSLY following the appropriate rate of sleeve and body increases.  It can be quite confusing for a newbie to follow 2-3 sets of instructions at once, so I tried to make it easier for everyone:

Now I’ve gone ahead to work and rewrite the chart to incorporate the sleeve and body increases for each size.  All you need to do is

1.  Download the excell spreadsheet from the link here:  Chart_all sizes

2. Find your size from the size tabs below (options are XS – 31″ bust; S – 35″ bust; M – 38.5″ bust; L – 42.5″ bust; 1X – 47″ bust; 2X – 51″ bust; 3X – 54.5″ bust).

3.   Use the chart to follow when to do an increase row while following the chart.

The chart I’ve written is the very same chart from the pattern, I’ve just altered it so that each size can see the other steps that the need to follow at the very same time.   The way I like to follow chart from my computer is to highlight the row that I am currently working so that I can easily glance and see where I am or what sort of row I am on:

The body and sleeve increase rows are very similar to each other: you are either increasing 2 stitches in each body – 1 at the beginning and 1 at the end of each body section; or increasing 2 stitches in the sleeves – 1 at the beginning and 1 at the end of each sleeve.

Specifically, there should be one stitch between the marker and the increase.  The following diagrams gives you a general bird’s-eye view visualisation of where in each section approximately the increase occurs (the star is the increase):

Now the specific method of how you increase is up to you, although the pattern recommends the M1 technique, which is what I have used and it works fine.  You can practise the M1 increase using this video tutorial.  If you fancy learning something new, there are numerous other increase techniques to try, some of which you can see at this handy guide from Knittinghelp.com.

Now take your time, take breaks, and feel free to contact Sarah or me if you need any help!  Once you have finished the chart, you should have something like this:

If you want to try your lace yoke on, place half the stitches onto a spare circular needle or wast yarn and pop it over your head.  Feel free to post your pictures to our Flickr group too!

If you finish the chart and have a completed lace yoke then you have, in my opinion, surpassed the most difficult part of the Cadence Sweater!  So reward yourself with some tea and cake, and pick up an easier knitting project for recover…  The next post in the KAL will be about continuing with the Sleeve & Body Increases and proceeding to the separate the sleeves from the body.  Until then, well done!

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. LK / Oct 11 2011 10:54 pm

    Oooh! Wish I had seen this FIRST! I just completed the chart and didn’t follow the directions at all. However, I started adding stitches and feel like I’ll have a wearable sweater. I’m not ripping and starting over. I just passed the stage of your photo and have just separated the sleeves from the body. I think another try-on is in order.

  2. Suzy / Oct 16 2011 6:45 pm

    Question…I just finished row 21 of the chart. On your Excel spreadsheet for the Lg size, I will have 44 rounds in order to complete all increases. Are rounds 22 through 44 just stockinette and no pattern?

  3. Suzy / Oct 16 2011 10:04 pm

    Never mind…it helps if I actually read the pattern! LOL

  4. KristenMakes / Oct 17 2011 12:44 am

    Haha well done! I only wrote the post to get our knitters to the end of the chart, so double kudos to you for going past that!!! If you want to work even further ahead (although this will be covered in the next KAL post), continue with the sleeve/body increases as your size suggests until all increase rounds are complete. The pattern says next, ‘When all increase rounds for both sleeves and body have been worked, there will be 186[214, 230, 254, 278, 302, 326] sts: 35[39, 43, 47, 51, 55, 61] sts for each sleeve, and 58[68, 72, 80, 88, 96, 102] sts each for front and back. K 2[1, 0, 4, 0, 4, 1] rounds.’ …so just be sure that you have the correct number of stitches at that point, and K the correct number of rows according to your size. Then we will separate the sleeves from the body!

  5. KristenMakes / Oct 17 2011 12:45 am

    Haha, well good job on winging it on your own! Very adventurous! I’m glad you are happy with the results!

  6. crystal claire / Oct 17 2011 9:15 pm

    Hi I can not for some reason download the excel file is there any other link?

  7. KristenMakes / Oct 18 2011 7:10 am

    Hi Crystal, I’m going to email it to you!

  8. Lorena (sonido retro UK) / Oct 19 2011 2:20 pm

    This is wonderful! Is it all at once, with a tubular cable needle, right?
    Saludos!

  9. Elizabeth @ Coppertop Kitchen / Oct 23 2011 8:50 pm

    So, I just finished the chart. It’s definitely not perfect, but I’m happy enough with it, especially since it’s my first sweater. Just wanted to find out how many stitches I should have at this point? Very excited for the next step!

  10. Sabine / Oct 26 2011 11:00 am

    Hello Kristen,
    I am Sabine from Switzerland and I am so happy to learn to knit a “top down sweater”. Here people mostly knit a sweater in 4 pieces and then sew it together and so it is really interesting to learn a new method. I have a small problem: I knit size L. After the first rounds I have 88 stitches on my needles (which is what the pattern says):

    body: 30 stitches, marker, sleeve: 14 stitches, marker, body 30 stitches, marker, sleeve 14 stitches, marker. (= 88 stitches)

    Now I have to knit the pattern:
    Chart Patterns:
    *Work Round 1 of Body Chart to first marker, working outlined repeat section 3[4, 4, 4, 5, 5, 5] times; k0[0, 0, 1, 1, 3, 3], work Round 1 of Sleeve Chart , k0[0, 0, 1, 1, 3, 3]; repeat from * once. 80[94, 94, 98, 112, 120, 120] sts.

    If I understand correctly I have to knit:
    4 times the body pattern (4*6 stitches) = 24 st; and therefore until the next marker I have 6 stitches left (30-24=6).
    Then:
    1 knit, sleeve pattern, 1 knit= 8 stitches; until the next marker I have 6 stitches left (14-8=6)

    …and so on.

    So the question is: did I understand the pattern correctly? And if yes what do I do with the 6 stitches which are left in the body before the next marker and in the sleeves before the next marker? And if I did not understand the pattern correctly, what did I make wrong?

    As you may have understood, English is not my first language I apologize if I make language mistakes. May be I just did not understand something in the language of the chart pattern? I would be very happy if you could help me!
    Thank you very much and kind regards
    Sabine

  11. KristenMakes / Oct 27 2011 4:52 pm

    Hi Sabine! Welcome to the Knitalong! I am so glad to hear you are happy to learn this sweater construction technique! I love knitting in the round, and “top-down” is really fun!

    Your problem is actually quit simple! When you get to the body, you first work the four stitches before the outlined repeat section, which is for all sizes K2, P2. Then when you have repeated the outline section the correct number of times (in your case, 4 times) work the 2 stitches at the end of the outlined sections, which is for all sizes, K2. Same as for the sleeve. So that K2, P2 at the beginning of the section and the K2 and the end account for your extra 6 stitches.

    Does that make sense? I wouldn’t worry about your English, it is VERY good! You have explained your problem to me very well so I could clearly understand it, so I just hope that my answer is also clear!

    Please do let me know if you have any other questions! Thanks so much for Knitting Along! Happy knitting!

  12. Sabine / Oct 30 2011 6:15 pm

    Dear Kirsten,
    Thirst thank you very much for having answered so quickly to my question. Finally I found the time this week-end to knit a little bit and it works! I understood your explanations, they were so clear, and of course it make sense. I am now on row 15 and everything is fine with me. I will found the time these next days for completing the lace pattern and so be with you for the next step. I already look forward to learn to make the sleeve separation!
    Again a big thank you for you help,
    Kind regards
    sabine

  13. KristenMakes / Oct 31 2011 4:43 pm

    @Sabine, YAY! I’m so glad it worked out for you! I love success stories! Keep up the fabulous work.

  14. Shivani / Feb 15 2012 5:33 pm

    Hi Kristen – hope you’re well. I’ve finally picked up my cadence, having only completed the yoke. I have a really basic (possibly quite dim) question, but I’m in such a muddle! Do I read the chart from bottom up, and right to left? I’ve not come across charts before and I don’t quite understand them!

    I appreciate that it’s been months since the KAL, so hope you don’t mind me contacting you again about this now! x

Trackbacks

  1. After the Chart. « KristenMakes

What say you?

