Skip to content
September 12, 2011 / KristenMakes

Why I’ve been so quiet!

You may be wondering why, apart from the knitalong, this blog has been so quiet.  Well I thought that after finishing my MA I’d have a bit of peace and quiet.  NOPE!  Now I don’t have a job yet, but I am working a part-time job and an internship at once!

Half of every week I have been commuting to Glasgow to do some sewing and screenprinting for ShowPony.  Emma, of ShowPony, makes incredible items such as screenprinted cushions, purses, and shopper bags so its been really fun and inspiring working with her & I’m excited for the Christmas rush to begin!

Image Source

Now the other half of every week has been dedicated to my new internship.  For the past 4 weeks I’ve been making the 2-hour commute up to Fife to spend 3 days helping out with hand-knitwear designer Di Gilpin.  This has been really exciting, not only because it is hand-knitting and right up my alley, but even more so because she is working on her first actual collection (Spring/Summer ’12) to be show in London Fashion Week!

Di has been designing and publishing knitting patterns for 30 years.  She has been published by Rowan, Vogue Knitting, and many other publications.  Most recently she was responsible for all the knitted pieces in Meadham Kirchhoff’s Fall ’11 show – that is 37 amazing hand-knitted pieces, including amazing tights!!!

Image Source

And now, Di finds herself one-fourth of the newly created Scottish Design Collective.  With three other designers, Emily Lamb, Mark Ross, and Iona Crawford, Di will be taking her work to London to show, and yours truly gets to go with her!  Whoop!  I’m going to London! I am so excited to be involved and cannot believe my luck!

Things have been extremely crazy, not only with all the tasks I’ve been juggling but also because of the knitting!  I have been knitting for hours and hours at a time, sometimes swatching/testing and sometimes knitting actual pieces that just might appear on the runway!

I can’t wait to get to London, but I can’t help but feel a bit anxious and nervous.  I know it will be amazing but also a bit stressful.  I have no idea what to expect, but I can’t wait to be in it!  Wish me luck!

13 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Holly / Sep 12 2011 5:09 pm

    This is SO exciting. I can’t wait to hear all about it, and your joy over London makes me miss it all them more!

  2. Kerry / Sep 12 2011 5:39 pm

    That’s all very exciting – sounds very busy! I do like Showpony stuff, it’s very quirky and fun. What a great opportunity your internship sounds too. Have a great time in London 🙂

  3. Sølvi / Sep 12 2011 6:08 pm

    Wow! That is such great news! Congratulations – you must keep us updated on how things are going. I´m so excited for you! Yaaay! 🙂

  4. Mum / Sep 12 2011 8:40 pm

    Take lots of pictures!
    XX Mum

  5. Sarah / Sep 13 2011 1:25 am

    Yippee!!! Good luck and be sure to enjoy yourself 🙂

  6. Crafted by Carly / Sep 13 2011 4:33 am

    Hi Kristen,

    Wow! What an exciting time for you!!! Good luck with everything…..

    ….. and keep us up to date with how things are going…..

    Carly

    x

  7. Sewing Princess / Sep 13 2011 5:45 am

    this souds so cool Kristen. I am so excited for you. Can’t wait to see your work!

  8. sosusie / Sep 14 2011 2:31 pm

    Wooooo!!!…I’m sure you won’t but if you do have time do come and visit me! That’s sosusie yarns, Midlife Ramblings of a Teenager Mother woman to you.
    How exciting though. I hope you have a wonderful time. I did a show with a designer in Portugal whilst interning a couple of years back now and it was incredibly amazing and over in what felt like minutes!
    All the best
    Susie

  9. frayedattheedge / Sep 14 2011 2:51 pm

    How fabulous – very best wishes for your London trip (I am so jealous). Don’t forget to take lots of photos!!

  10. knitlass / Sep 16 2011 10:42 am

    Congrats on these exciting developments. Ah yes, those tights – I met Kerry Kimber earlier this year and she made a pair for Di. I blogged about it here:
    http://auldfashioned.blogspot.com/2011/02/birthday-parties-2.html

  11. Lizz @ A Good Wardrobe / Sep 19 2011 10:59 pm

    This is so exciting, Kristen! I can’t wait to hear more about your London trip.

  12. amanda / Sep 20 2011 1:02 am

    I’m so excited for you! What an experience, I can’t wait to see pictures!

  13. Rue / Sep 25 2011 11:39 am

    Oh, that is fabulous! I hope you have a fantastic time prepping for the show and then actually going to fashion week.

What say you?

