Skip to content
August 12, 2011 / KristenMakes

Firsts: A Giveaway!

You’ve waited so patiently, and finally it’s come!  The Giveaway (my first)!

Thanks so much for all your excitement and really great suggestions about my giveaway!  No longer do I feel scared that no one will participate…  I have chosen the item(s) and am ready to go!

There are THREE choices for you to choose.

(1) Scrummy yarn.  I have knitted before with yarn from Cornish Organic Wool and must admit, I loved it!  Their hand-knitting wool  is certified organic by the Soil Association.  As they state on their site, their goal is to produce organically certified yarns with minimal impact on the environment.  You get to choose 1 skein of any weight and colour from this page.

(2) Organic cotton fabric.  One metre of your choice of organic handloom cotton from Bishopston Trading Company.  This intriguing company is the result of a relationship between a community in Bristol and a community in South India.  The craftspeople in K.V. Kuppam are empowered with the opportunity to utilise and profit from their weaving and tailoring skills.  I’ve spoken with Carolyn, the designer (if you don’t sew yourself, they also sell clothing) and I can tell you this company is super friendly!

(3) Organic cotton scarf.  For anyone who wants to participate in the giveaway but is a non-crafter, I offer the Handyband from Seasalt Cornwall.  I got my beloved wellies and T his raincoat from Seasalt and we are very satisfied customers (at this moment, poor T is trudging to the library in the rain, but fully protected by his Passenger Jacket).  For you I offer their Multi-functional organic cotton headwear.  It is nice and light, but fun and functional too.

To participate, leave a comment to THIS post between now and midnight EST on Friday, August 19 (that is 5 AM if you live here in the UK).  In the comment, tell me which choice you want; you don’t have to be more specific than that, not a particular item from the pages I’ve linked, just simple – yarn, fabric, or scarf!  When I announce the winner, I will also contact that lucky person and we will coordinate which item he or she chooses, and I’ll have it sent your way!  How does that sound?

So to recap, leave a comment telling which item you’d like (and maybe why, because that’s always fun to learn!) and I’ll randomly pick a winner after the contest closes!  Thanks for participating, I am so excited!

p.s.  Knitters don’t have to choose the yarn, sewists don’t have to choose fabric, etc.  Choose whatever you like, whether you want it for yourself or to pass on to a friend.  I just wanted to include options so as to get everyone involved and not leave anyone out.  Happy choosing!

p.p.s. For another lovely giveaway, check out the fabulous Debi’s blog, My Happy Sewing Place!  She has a Sewaholic giveaway going (I’ve entered to win a Lonsdale pattern)!  Also, I’m so excited that she will be participating in our The Newbie & The Knitter KAL!  I’m so excited to have a participant in my town!

53 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Debi / Aug 12 2011 10:57 am

    YAY! I’m in! I would love either the yarn or the fabric!!! Fabulous giveaway!

  2. kitsybabcock / Aug 12 2011 11:30 am

    I’d love to win the yarn!

  3. Kerry / Aug 12 2011 11:31 am

    Hi Kristen
    What a great giveaway – something for everyone. I would love the yarn please, I had a look at the page and it looks beautiful. I would probably pair it with some North Ronaldsay yarn I bought on Orkney, perhaps to make a hat for the winter. Can I say the fabric as well? Some lovely colours there too.

  4. kokorimbaud / Aug 12 2011 12:12 pm

    I’d love to turn the yarn into a nice, snuggly scarf.

  5. Bridget / Aug 12 2011 12:17 pm

    Thanks for the giveaway, it has to be yarn as winters coming round so what I need right now is wool.

  6. Siri / Aug 12 2011 2:23 pm

    Hi, it’s been great reading about your uni work, and all your other projects too. I’m heading to Scotland in a few weeks and can’t wait to visit some of the places you’ve written about!

    Ooh, and I’d like the yarn, it looks so nice and squishy!

  7. frayedattheedge / Aug 12 2011 2:36 pm

    Oh dear – it’s so hard to choose (I can’t help it, I’m a Libran!!) ……. but I think the scarf

  8. Karma Per Diem / Aug 12 2011 2:59 pm

    Oh mercy, I like them all! But, if I had to pick one, I’d say the yarn! I love the colors, particularly the Aran St Buryan. Nice, very nice!

  9. daiyami / Aug 12 2011 3:18 pm

    ooh, the fabric would be cool. I love artisan production.

  10. Diana / Aug 12 2011 3:49 pm

    Everything is lovely, but I’d choose the wool. I’d make some wonderful fingerless mitts with it.

  11. Jo Campbell / Aug 12 2011 4:02 pm

    Definitely hard to choose – lots of lovely colours in the wool – but I think I’d go for the scarf. I love cotton and you can wear it so many ways.

  12. domestic diva / Aug 12 2011 4:12 pm

    It’s a tough choice, but I think I’d choose the yarn (fabric is a close second).

  13. amanda / Aug 13 2011 12:38 am

    I know that I can’t win cause I’m family, but I wanted to post a comment anyhow to show my support. This is so much fun! Just for kicks I will tell you that I would choose the yarn!

  14. Maria / Aug 13 2011 7:05 am

    Hi, I’ve just found your blog and I like it!
    Do international participants allowed to enter the contest? If yes, then I would love yarn. Winter is approaching 🙂
    Maria

  15. sewitisSuzie / Aug 13 2011 10:27 am

    Woo – thanks for the amazing giveaway! I’d love to be entered for the fabric please. Thanks again 🙂

  16. Suzie / Aug 13 2011 10:27 am

    PS. It’s just ‘suzie’ not ‘sewitisSuzie’…NO idea how that happened! lol

  17. indigorchid / Aug 13 2011 6:50 pm

    Oh, great giveaway Kristen! Lovely, lovely things – I think I’ll go for the yarn (so many pretty colors!), but they all looked great!

  18. Kitten With A Whiplash / Aug 13 2011 8:05 pm

    I always think it’s so wonderful to live in a world full of choices… until I have to make one as difficult as which of those lovely yarns to pick. Thanks for the great giveaway.

  19. Didyoum / Aug 14 2011 3:29 pm

    Ooh yarn please! Thank you so much.

  20. Lindsey / Aug 14 2011 7:09 pm

    All of those are lovely, but the yarn in Porthgwarra is beautiful! It’d make a lovely scarf or cowl.

What say you?

