Skip to content
August 9, 2011 / KristenMakes

Post-student activities…

Guess, what!  I’ve finished!  I turned in my work and can only hope for the best.  I’ve got my VIVA in 2 weeks in which I have the chance to explain/defend my work but this week I am taking off to relax.   Sooooo nice.

Trent has been positively spoiling me. I’m going to breeze past a hazy Friday night of lots of drinks and fun with uni friends, but once I’d recovered, T & I spent Saturday relaxing, lunch out, then a movie (Horrible Bosses, good fun!).  Later that night he cooked the most amazing meal: steak, herb butter, stilton/walnut stuffed mushrooms, asparagus.  Still drooling just thinking about it!  Sunday he made me my favourite breakfast (similar to this, only without the bacon) and later I had lunch with a good friend, and later that night celebratory dinner out with Trent.  Wow, my first weekend as a non-student was very food-orientated…

I also spent Sunday and Monday knitting a gratuitous, selfish and completely unnecessary project which I LOVE!  The pattern is Alpine Shrug by Rowan (available for free here, if you sign in to Rowan’s site) but I like to think of it as the Alpine Hug because that is literally what it feels like.

CIMG1586
CIMG1587

CIMG1584

The picture from the website shows the lovely back better than mine:

 Also, I finished Amanda’s Owls Jumper!  Actually I finished it a week after I started, and it took me longer to post online than it took to knit.  I hope she loves it as much as  I do (and if you don’t Amanda, I’m taking it back for myself!!!!).

CIMG1597
CIMG1599

Sorry the pictures are so blazing bright, I’ve only taken them quickly just now and was obviously not bothered to edit or retake… But just take a look at these cute wee owls!

CIMG1601

Well I plan to spend the rest of Tuesday cleaning and catching up on everything (including another post about the giveaway later, so stay tuned!).  Meanwhile I also cannot take my eyes off the news.  I am completely shocked by what is going on in London (and beyond) these past few days.  It is difficult to stomach the fact that what you think to be a safe and civilised society can come to this.  My thoughts and prayers are on those affected by the rioting.

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. madeleine / Aug 9 2011 9:00 am

    Hi Kristen, So excited for you to finish your schooling! You should be so proud. Your work is so beautiful! Enjoy your spoiling and leisure time!
    Love, Madeleine

  2. Sarah / Aug 9 2011 9:55 am

    Wow, what a fabulous weekend! You deserve every second!

    I love the shrug – so beautiful – and the owl jumper is marvellous 🙂 Hopefully I can make one for me one day. 🙂 So looking forward to our knitalong!!! *squee*

  3. indigorchid / Aug 9 2011 11:14 am

    You deserve a rest! Sounds like you’re having a lovely time after lots of hard work.

    I’m feeling the same way… it’s really hard to accept such violent actions. Unfortunately, it seems far too easy to brush it off if it happens far away, but when it comes so close… (Norway is still reeling from the bombing and shootings a couple of weeks ago – I still can’t believe that so many people (and young people!) lost their lives so cruelly, and in a matter of hours.)

  4. Noas' libellule / Aug 9 2011 11:58 am

    Great stuff about you finishing your exams!! Brilliant! I am sure your viva will be fine. Love that shrug, would be a great knit for the winter.

  5. Rue / Aug 9 2011 6:08 pm

    Both lovely pieces! That shrug looks fabulous for curling up on a chilly day. What a great detail on the back.

    The riots are tough to read about over here, too.

  6. Jo Campbell / Aug 10 2011 3:30 am

    I saw that shrug pattern just last week but decided it was a bit too much for me at the moment (since I’m a beginner knitter). I’ll have to keep it in mind for when I feel a bit more confident.

    I agree that the news reports about London and elsewhere are very disturbing. I don’t understand how people can behave like that.

  7. fredericaknits / Aug 10 2011 5:57 am

    Congratulations! And what lovely knitting progress! I’m tempted to make another Owls just because of the fairly instant gratification! Are you going to make yourself one? It looks so cute.
    Bah, all I’ve heard for days now in London is sirens and seen fires from my balcony (thankfully far away), but so many friends live in Clapham etc. and have had their cars wrecked, local businesses raided etc. It’s ridiculous how something so small can make people devolve.

  8. KristenMakes / Aug 10 2011 7:12 am

    @Frederica, I am so glad you are well and my heart goes out to your friends. One of the rioters said in a youtube video that they were doing it to the rich, but I don’t think they understand that the non-rich are who they are attacking. Just because you have a car/job/business by no means indicates you are rich, and regardless, that behaviour is NEVER justifiable. And yes, I would love to make an Owls for me too now! 😉

  9. Rachel / Aug 10 2011 7:21 am

    Congrats on being done (and we all know you will do super on your viva!) – Also loving the ‘Hug’ and the owl jumper. Added both to my ravelry faves and think they might make it to the queue sooner than expected after seeing your cute versions!

  10. Sue / Aug 10 2011 11:40 am

    So happy for you to be done. What a great, fantastic, and stressful year you’ve had. But I’m not surprised you did so well. Can you explain to me what VIVA is?
    Glad you have such a sweet hubby (am I biased here?) to spoil you and celebrate with you. Where did he take you for your dinner out? (any place I would know?)
    Mom O

  11. amanda / Aug 10 2011 12:29 pm

    Hooray for food, hooray for school, hooray for owl jumper!!! I’ve been so busy with company and going back to work I haven’t checked in for awhile. What a treat to see the owl jumper! I hope it looks as good on me as it does on you!

  12. KristenMakes / Aug 12 2011 8:54 am

    @Sue: A viva is basically a chance for me to meet with my tutors (or on other cases a panel) for a chance to voice/argue my work. & yes, the sweet hubby took me to Monteith’s, where we went with you on the last night of your visit! YUM!

What say you?

