Skip to content
July 17, 2011 / KristenMakes

As one knit blocks, another begins.

Well, originally we had planned to do a day trip in North Berwick to go to the Scottish Seabird Centre, but we were thwarted by bad weather that of course, turned out to be quite lovely after all (*shakes fist at Scottish weather!*).  Rather than going once the weather cleared (which would only make it only a half-day there) we decided to reschedule and relax indoors.  As such I got caught up on my Baby Riley blankets queue and also make a bit of progress on my Laar.  See!

IMG_7559

I had more yarn leftover than I thought, so I picked up 300 stitches from the inside of the hem, knitted for a few more inches, and did another picot bind-off for a more lengthened and layered effect.  Don’t mind the spots, its just water droplets from the iron!

I’ve got some buttons picked out to add once the cardigan dries, although I opted not to go with T’s button choices:
IMG_7561

Now, while it dries, I’m going to cast on for a long and patiently-awaited Owls for my sister-in-law, Amanda!

IMG_7564

It’s not a surprise, she knows all about it, but she didn’t know until now that I’m actually starting it finally!  Wish us luck for lovely weather and North Berwick next weekend!

16 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mum / Jul 17 2011 11:08 am

    Oooh! Lovely sweater (or jumper? or cardigan?) The extra bit at the bottom looks especially lovely! I’m glad you explained about the water spots from the iron! I thought it was some odd effect at first! T’s button choice is a bit eclectic but I think you can do better! I love the owls for Amanda… I wouldn’t mind a single owl in a little square….if you need to practice! Good luck with the Seabird Centre next week!

    xx

  2. Kerry / Jul 17 2011 11:52 am

    I definitely need to add Owls to my knitting queue. Love your cardigan too, the lace detail is beautiful.

  3. Sue / Jul 17 2011 8:28 pm

    Love your new sweater; is that the one you started while we were there? Amanda will love the owls (and I like you mom’s little hint). Sounds like you’re resting a bit from the MA work. Your “down time” is busier than my busy time!

  4. fredericaknits / Jul 18 2011 5:12 am

    I really like the colour you chose for your Laar. I love my Owls jumper. I think it’s the fastest garment I’ve ever made!

  5. KristenMakes / Jul 18 2011 9:26 am

    Omigosh, you aren’t kidding, this jumper is flying off the needles!

  6. KristenMakes / Jul 18 2011 9:27 am

    Haha, cardigan works! I think I can manage knitting you up a wee owl! xx

  7. Holly / Jul 18 2011 6:56 pm

    Beautiful Laar! I wanted to knit this for some time, but can’t commit to the laceweight.
    I love Kate Davies’ designs, and am currently casting on for her “Deco”. I have made OWLS and love it so.

  8. Crafted by Carly / Jul 19 2011 5:13 pm

    Ooh! That’s so pretty – I love the colour! And what an impressive button collection!!! x

  9. Jen / Jul 20 2011 10:06 am

    Thank you for commenting on my blog ! Hey, I just figured out how to find yours. What lovely stuff here ! OMG… I love, love, love your stuff !!!! I am going to be visiting a lot. 🙂

  10. Rue / Jul 20 2011 10:52 am

    Laar is just stunning! I can’t wait to see modeled pics. Small world – I gave Owls to my sister, too. Except I put the yarn in a bag, printed out the pattern, and said “here, have fun!”

    And I really enjoyed seeing your adventures in fabric manipulation last time. Such interesting textures and patterns! It’s too bad they didn’t work out.

  11. frayedattheedge / Jul 20 2011 2:14 pm

    Laar is really pretty! I would love an owls sweater, but it would just make me itch!!

  12. amanda / Jul 21 2011 10:40 am

    Hooray for Owl Sweater!! Me can’t waits!

  13. KristenMakes / Jul 22 2011 4:43 am

    That’s the thing about bulky sweaters, even in a soft yarn, they can be itchy! If you were to make it in a finer soft yarn, however the detail of the owl would be lost. Boo!

  14. KristenMakes / Jul 22 2011 4:44 am

    Haha, I would LOVE to receive a present like that – a ready-made knitting project! What a great idea!

  15. KristenMakes / Jul 22 2011 4:45 am

    Thanks! Yeah, I realised that when I commented on other WordPress blogs, my own blog isn’t linked up! So I’ve just started to comment on wordpress blogs as ‘guest’ and that seems to do the trick. I’m glad you found me through your own tricks 😉

  16. KristenMakes / Jul 22 2011 4:46 am

    I love Deco! Can’t wait to see you progress! I looked at your owls on ravelry, it looks so great as a cardigan.

What say you?

