Skip to content
July 10, 2011 / KristenMakes

This weekend…

I sewed!

May and June were so busy I took a break from the blanketmaking and my partner-in-crime, Amanda, took on my boy blankets in addition to the girl blankets that she usually does.  But now with Amanda on holiday and June over, I am back in the blanketmaking, and now making all for the duration.  So yesterday I worked on 5 blankets.  I felt a bit rusty at first, but it all came back to me!

Additionally I took down my work at Such & Such studio while my pals Nancy and Aimi put theirs up.  I stupidly didn’t take pictures, but borrowed a few from Such & Such’s Twitter feed so you could see some detail shots of their lovely work!

Nancy2

Nancy 1

Nancy’s work, above.  She is producing a collection inspired by the values of the Masai tribe.

 Aimi 1

Aimi 2

Above is Aimi’s who is using knit-inspired imagery to reinvent traditional knitwear design.

Today, I spent some time sewing for myself.  I made the newsest free pattern by Colette Patterns, the Sorbetto blouse.  It was just as easy and enjoyable as everyone has said it would be.  After seeing so many versions of it, especially the many made by Sarah of Rhinestones & Telephones, I really really needed to give it a go.

The fabric was some unknown embroidered remnant from Edinburgh Fabrics, but it was more than enough, even for homemade bias tape!

IMG_7342

I really love the scalloped edge.  Not only is it an interesting detail, it also means NO HEMMING!

IMG_7338

IMG_7339

The design is so simple, and therefore the top is so versatile.  I love the straight pleat, which actually works really nicely with the loopy embroidery.

I’ve got a lot ahead of me this week, including 2 new posts for the Reversible Project; gosh, can I just say you guys are so awesome in that!  I am LOVING your stories and ideas.  I cannot wait to get started on the final post that will share and reflect on everyone’s experiences.  Thank you so, so, so much for all your lovely comments and emails.

So anyway, that was my weekend, how was yours?

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Carol / Jul 10 2011 5:19 pm

    Hi Kristen! Your first four photos are not showing somehow! Would love to see them!

  2. KristenMakes / Jul 10 2011 5:45 pm

    I think I fixed it. Sorry about that, thanks for letting me know!

  3. Sue / Jul 10 2011 6:02 pm

    Love the top. It would be great for the hot FL climate. Too bad you’re not here to enjoy it.

  4. Sarah / Jul 10 2011 6:28 pm

    Oh, that is one FANTASTIC Sorbetto!! I love love the eyelet and the edge? Gah! So cute!

  5. Lizz @ A Good Wardrobe / Jul 11 2011 1:30 am

    I found your blog on Colette Patterns’ Flickr. I love your Sorbetto – it’s really sweet! The embroidery plus the scallop hem go nicely with the center pleat. I’ve made a couple of versions but haven’t left the pleat as intended because it never felt right for the fabric I was using. This is paired so nicely though!
    I’m excited to explore your blog more!
    Lizz

  6. Noas' libellule / Jul 11 2011 10:32 am

    I love the fabric you used, looks really nice on you!

  7. KristenMakes / Jul 18 2011 9:35 am

    Thanks, I’m so pleased with the fabric too!

  8. KristenMakes / Jul 18 2011 9:35 am

    Awwww, thanks! I was just inspired by your many Sorbettos, I finally had to make one! I can’t wait for the next.

  9. PendleStitches / Aug 10 2011 10:18 am

    I’m just about to start my first Sorbetto…I hope it turns out half as lovely as yours.

What say you?

