Skip to content
July 4, 2011 / KristenMakes

A Well-Earned Rest

Happy 4th of July!  I hadn’t planned on taking today off, but in light of our successful exhibit this past weekend, I decided just this morning, heck, it’s 4th of July, it’s beautiful out, why not relax?

As such, the post I originally scheduled for today in the Reversible project will be postponed for tomorrow.  Today, I am going to do a wee post about the Such & Such exhibit, and then get back to outdoor-knitting and then some burgers later!

So Friday was opening night and a few of us spent the day setting up the exhibit.

IMG_7033 IMG_7034 IMG_7030

The plan for opening night was to display bits and bobs of all 8 designers’ work.  Each designer’s work was hung by a hanger, and each designer could display whatever they wanted, be it sample, text, illustration, photograph.
IMG_7045

IMG_7089 IMG_7077 IMG_7037

The turnout was pretty good (even if only 6 of our 8 were able to make it).  We had a selection of drinks for our guests, and everyone seemed pretty cheery!

IMG_7072

A huge thanks to all who came that night, including our wee visitor, a chihuahua-terrier mix!

IMG_7086

IMG_7079 IMG_7083 IMG_7064

The next morning, Linda & I started early to set up (not without a delicious pancake breakfast, courtesy my darling husband!).  My plan was to display my work in two halves.  The first half was less like a gallery piece and more like stepping into a moodboard.  I wanted to document my process and development with illustrations, fabric samples, hand-knitted bits, etc. Overall it is intentionally messy as it depicts the journey, which can be loaded with messiness, digressions, and mis-trials.

IMG_7117

IMG_7142
The other half was the culmination of the investigation thus far: my finished garment!  I spent all last week devoted to the finishing stage (not to mention the better part of this semester to its creation), but more on that process will posted later.  I had the finished garment on the dressform, along with 9 images of the garment in other methods of application. The image is intentionally blurry, because I wanted to keep the details of the garment a bit vague until a later post, when I can describe it more.

IMG_7131

Linda’s work looked great!  Her MA focuses on garments inspired by movement, specifically within Martial Arts.  Her prints are informed by the negative space within a motion, and she takes the garment shape to allow for such mobility.

IMG_7126 IMG_7107IMG_7105

The exhibit was open Saturday and Sunday, and plenty of people came, including friends, tutors, curious passersby, etc.  A HUGE thank you to all of you who came.  Some I got to visit with, such as Vala, Clare, Rachel & Seth, and some I missed, such as Mica and Liz.  I really appreciated the support you showed by stopping by, I cannot explain how grateful I am for all of you.

Can I just share what a wreck I was (& my husband can vouch!) in the week leading up to this?  I went back and forth so many times on what exactly to put up and how to best display my work (and still don’t know if what I chose was the best method), not to mention the worries of ‘Will anyone actually show up?’ or ‘Did we get all the supplies we need?’.  And now it is over (at least my weekend is!) and I am so relieved.  It is really difficult to put your work out there, and even to judge it yourself regarding what of it is good and what isn’t.  After you’ve lived and breathed it in such complexity, it begins to all look the same and you doubt whether it is you, your intentions, or even any good at all.

So, a marvelous thank you to Alex and the team at Such & Such studio, not only for allowing us to take over their space this month, but also for their fabulous marketing job – we were featured on Craft Scotland and in the Skinny!

Craft Scotland

IMG_7291 IMG_7292

Also a wee reminder that each weekend this month there will be a change of scenery, as the designers’ work will rotate.  If you’re in the area, why not  pop in for a gander around?

—-

Right, so that’s that, and if all goes according to schedule, tomorrow’s post will be my next installment of the Reversibility Project, so check back!

And I must say how ridiculously overwhelmed I am with everyone’s responses to these past project posts.  You guys are really amazing, I have been flooded with comments and emails telling such beautiful and personal stories about how you got into making, what your craft is, and why you love it.  I have not had a chance to respond to each of you yet, but will respond more throughout and will also do a summary wrap-up in a few weeks’ time when the feature ends.  From the bottom of my heart thank you, for all your support and sharing.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mum / Jul 4 2011 11:38 am

    Wow~ all that agonizing and stress has really paid off! Your display is so artsy and clever…and I don’t just say that as your mum! It really documents your process which is a fascinating journey…congratulations! Well done, especially considering all the visitors you’ve entertained the last few months! You’ve earned a wee rest, so enjoy it! Thanks for the post…It hurt me not to see it in person! XX

  2. Sarah / Jul 4 2011 1:46 pm

    How amazing! What a fabulous exhibit! Congratulations!! 🙂

  3. indigorchid / Jul 7 2011 10:16 am

    Kristen, it looks great! And your mystery garment that you haven’t shown much of yet has me sooo intrigued – it looks beautiful!

  4. Rue / Jul 7 2011 12:15 pm

    The exhibit looks spectacular! That mystery dress looks stunning – I can’t wait to see more!

What say you?

