Skip to content
June 27, 2011 / KristenMakes

The time has come to divulge.

Oh readers.  It is time.

Over the past year in the KristenMakes blog, you may have noticed sprinkles here and dashes there about my uni work.  You also may have noticed a few additions in topics, straying beyond the realm of ‘Look what I’ve knitted!’, perhaps some mentions of slow fashion and sustainability.  You may have realised already, but behold, the two topics are related!  I, Kristen, of KristenMakes, am doing my MA work at Heriot-Watt University, in which I am focusing on sustainability, specifically in knitwear.

Well the time has come for more information.  Please don’t scream and run away!  I only want to share.  After reading this intro, if you decide you are uninterested, you have my full permission to click ‘Mark as Read’ when you see my name on your blogroll henceforth.  I have even created a badge to warn you that there is uni-related material in this post and to avoid reading at all cost:

Untitled-1

I promise, in a few months, it will all be over…  was that a reassurance to you for this inconvenience, or was it to myself in reference to the stress of completing my MA work?  Perhaps both.

Anyhow, the point of this post is to outline what to expect from such posts over the next few weeks.  For a brief set-up,

I came in to the Heriot-Watt University MA program a hand-knitter (the good old fashion two-needle method) and am hopefully emerging with an understanding for the machine-knitting side of things – industrial, heavy-duty, knit a garment in minutes side of things.

IMG_3726

IMG_3734

IMG_3735

Now I am exploring that with a view to sustainability, focusing on informed design, less waste and reversible knitted structure.  A few of you have expressed interest in what I have shared so far.  I have wanted to communicate more, but for fear of poor tutor feedback resulting in change of heart and topic, I have refrained from going into too much detail.  Now my work is set into motion that will not be stopped, and I am ready to share.  Here is how the feature will be laid out:

Post 1.   You’re here!  This post is where I introduce the feature!

Post 2.   Me:  This post is about me and what got me interested in knitting, crafting, and personal textiles journey.

Post 3.   Issue: Sustainability, what is it and why.

Post 4.  Context: Knitwear, what is it and why.

Post 5.  How:  How can the two elements work together?

Post 6.  Development: this is where it gets more fun for you – what I’ve been doing all this time!

Post 7.  The end(product):  hopefully, by this point I will have the culmination of my practical work ready to share with you.  No not a boring thesis, although you can have that too if you like.  I mean practical, as in the garments I’ve knitted.

Post 8.  Follow-up:  my hope in all this is that we will have a conversation.  I would like to get to know you more, your thoughts, concerns, experiences.  Have you considered sustainability?  What do you go through when shopping for or planning to make a wearable item?  This is for my work, the key stage where we can share what we know together, and hopefully draw some conclusions or ideas.  This is my sincere invitation to you share your thoughts with me all throughout this stage.  Even if you find this exceedingly boring and want me to get back to talking about the wooly socks I knitted last week that’s a thought I want to know!  Via comments or emails, let’s discuss things!  What I’ll do in post 8 is synthesize all your feedback into a summary conversation.  I can keep you anonymous if you prefer, or plug your blog and/or your work too!  It’s great to get to know everyone, and I gain so much in inspiration and excitement from the connections we have over each other’s blogs and projects.

What do you think?  Are you on board?  I’m really excited to share, and have been bursting these past few months in which things have been becoming concrete, so yes, I am on board!

13 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sara Pedigo / Jun 27 2011 10:14 am

    Your work is exciting and interesting in every endeavor! Please share away, and share it ALL, I can’t wait to see and read about it.

  2. Sarah / Jun 27 2011 11:42 am

    This is a fantastic project! I’m looking forward to learning more about it! 🙂

  3. Rue / Jun 27 2011 11:43 am

    Fabulous idea! I’m really curious to hear what you’ve been working on. Personally, I like to support small producers whenever possible. It’s wonderful to be able to knit with yarn spun from alpacas that live within visiting distance. And I love buying from a dyer who does beautiful work and actually remembers who I am even though we’ve only met in person a couple of times.

  4. Andi / Jun 27 2011 12:58 pm

    I loved hearing about your reversible sweater. I’m glad you’re going to share more about your work.

  5. indigorchid / Jun 27 2011 1:02 pm

    I’m so looking forward to hearing more! Having just done something similar (though not on an MA level), I am so curious to see and read about other people’s experience in the same field. Keep it coming!

  6. frayedattheedge / Jun 27 2011 1:45 pm

    I’m looking forward to reading more – good luck with your work!!

  7. Kerry / Jun 27 2011 5:31 pm

    Looking forward to seeing what you’ve been up to! I’d love to be involved.

  8. Noas' Libellule / Jun 27 2011 6:03 pm

    Would love to read more about your work!

  9. Jo Campbell / Jun 29 2011 3:14 am

    Count me in!

  10. KristenMakes / Jun 29 2011 9:04 am

    Thanks! How did everything with your uni work end? I meant to tell you, regarding your test-knitting offer, I would LOVE a test-knitter for the 4-ways jumper, I will try to hone my notes and write up the pattern after uni ends and perhaps get in touch with you? Thanks for the offer!

  11. KristenMakes / Jun 29 2011 9:05 am

    Thanks everyone for the excitement and support! I can’t wait to post more!!!

  12. Judith Garcia / Jun 30 2011 2:20 pm

    Kristen, I would like to hear more about your ideas. Might give me some for my craft of quilting. My e-mail is garciajudith50@yahoo.com, please keep me updated. I think you are on to a good thing. All my love, A. Judy

  13. aviewintomyworld / Jun 30 2011 6:26 pm

    ooh i like the look of this new feature. i saw pics on flickr that you uploaded recently that looked like one knitted garment that could be worn in loads of different ways – very cool.
    sustainability is important to me – although i must admit i struggle to find sustainable, organic, ethic fabric choices for sewing. i made a conscious decision in january not to buy any more clothes, and in doing so realised i hadn’t bought anything new in the last few previous months, so i’m slowly sewing (and beginner knitting) my way to a handmade wardrobe, making/replacing items as the need arises.
    looking forward to reading more from you 🙂
    louise

What say you?

