Skip to content
June 19, 2011 / KristenMakes

Chip is back!

As yet, I am about three quarters of the way through our string of visitors this summer.   We have had visitors comprising of friends, my brothers, Trent’s parents, and in a few hours my father will be here with his lovely wife and her daughters.  I hope to do a post-visitor round-up post to share all our adventures but in the meantime, I found myself with a spurt of productivity resulting in this!

IMG_6848

I think it happened because of 2 events: first, my friend Aimi & I visited Edinburgh College of Art’s degree show to see what the Fashion and Textiles students have done, and I was really impressed!  There was some really lovely knitwear.  Secondly, afterwards I made my way to the newly-opened Anthropologie on George Street, where I fondled all their lovely cardigans and jumpers.

Walking home, I thought, I really should be making more on my knitting machine.  I had put Chip away for the string of visitors, and now that that is almost over, why not bring him out?

Sometimes when I plan to do something that intimidates me (in this case, machine-knitting my first sweater), I put the task off more and more, even if I know it probably won’t be that bad after all.  Finally I get completely disgusted with myself for having such fear, internally reprimand myself, and then dive in head first to the dreaded task.

And so in this case, 30 hours later, a machine-knit jumper from a lovely wool/silk fine gauge yarn.

IMG_6845

I had arrived home from my contemplary walk, pulled out Chip (the name of my knitting machine for any new readers), flipped through a machine-knitting book for a very simple pattern, and began swatching:
IMG_6832

Then I began knitting:
IMG_6836

…blocking:IMG_6833

and making up the garment:

IMG_6840

IMG_6843

Yet again, I opted for a crochet-seam.  It takes longer than sewing up, but looks better than my sewing skills can do.
.
I’m really very pleased with it, although it is far from perfect. The wool/silk blend is soft and slightly slinky, and drapes quite nicely. The shape of the garment is boxy and simple, mainly because I didn’t want to get in over my head with fitted shaping for my firs mach-knit garment. I like the slightly 80’s look of it though.

IMG_6872

IMG_6855

Of course, now that this is finished, I keep thinking of more things to do.  For the most part though, that will have to wait until uni is over!

However, I’m really glad this first foray was a success.

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Vanessa / Jun 19 2011 9:25 am

    Beautiful sweater! I love its shape and colour. I’ve never tried knitting by machine but you make it seem so straightforward. (I made my way over here from the Colette forum.)

  2. KristenMakes / Jun 19 2011 9:58 am

    Hi! Thanks for reading!  Initially learning to knit on it was a bit fiddly but once you’re accustomed to it, garment-making seems thus far to be fairly simple. At least until I try more complicate designs I suppose!  

    I think for hand knitters or sewers it feels a bit more natural to take up machine knitting, already being familiar with the concept of knitted structure or how pattern pieces go together. Knitting machines can be expensive (I bought mine used, thankfully) but if you can have a go on one, you may find yourself hooked!

    Thanks again for reading!  I’m so glad you found me on the Colette Forum (I am obsessed with Colette Patterns!).  

  3. Mum / Jun 19 2011 10:52 am

    I’m glad Chip is working for you! Yay! Great results! Have fun with Dad and Donna and the girls! I look forward to the post-visitor round up! Wish I could have come this summer, but I call dibs for next summer when you’re not so busy!

  4. Rue / Jun 19 2011 11:51 am

    Gorgeous first sweater from Chip! That type of pattern seems perfect for a machine knit – miles of tiny stockinette can get a bit boring when knit by hand, even in the nicest of yarns.

    How easy would it be to do set-in sleeves with Chip? That reminds me . . . do you have a good reference for calculating sleeve cap and armscye shaping for set-in sleeves? I know the basics but creating that shape from scratch is a bit much for my baby-addled brain at the moment.

  5. Kerry / Jun 19 2011 12:11 pm

    It looks great and I love the sound of the yarn you used too.

  6. Sue / Jun 19 2011 5:16 pm

    Another great job. My, your living room looks rather empty (now that all our “stuff” is gone). It was such a great visit; enjoy your time with Rick and Donna and girls.
    Sue

  7. KristenMakes / Jun 20 2011 4:00 am

    Hey, thanks so much!

    Yes, the pattern was perfect, cute, but minimal shaping, and ha! so much faster than on the needle! I am currently knitting Laar by Gudrun Johnston, a laceweight cardigan and although I LOVE it, it is taking so long, so this mach-knit was a nice quickie!

    Tough question about set in. Although I haven’t done any Chip-made set-in sleeves yet, the idea is simple, as in hand knitting. Instead of ssk or k2tog, you transfer a stitch from one needle to the other, and push the now empty needle back so it doesn’t knit anymore. knitting bottom-up I suppose you would first knock out a few on each side, then 1 every other row, then 1 every few rows, but yeah, the specific calculations can be a lot of work for anyone, let alone a busy new-mom! I haven’t found a good formula yet, but that is a good thing to look out for, b/c I’m sure it exists!

    The one thing I have really enjoyed for a nice-fitting sleeve for handknitting is the set-in sleeve that Gudrun does in Audrey in Unst. The only calculations you would have to do is knowing how many stitches you want the sleeve to be around, and make sure you pick up that number from the armhole edge.

    If I find a good formula I’ll be sure to let you know!

  8. Noas' libellule / Jun 21 2011 5:36 am

    Looks great!

  9. Sølvi / Jun 21 2011 5:42 am

    Great job! I am so excited about your knitting machine experiences, I´d love to give it ago, but I just got a loom(!) from my mom, so I think I´ll learn that skill first. Love the shape and color of the sweater! 🙂

    And I hear you on the whole dreaded task situations, usually when I finally come around to do it, it´s not so bad!

  10. ali / Jun 23 2011 10:42 am

    That is super impressive!! Very classy 🙂

  11. KristenMakes / Jun 27 2011 8:44 am

    I am so jealous! A LOOM! that is really exciting! I hope you share pictures on your blog!!!

  12. bluesewncat / Dec 2 2012 9:36 am

    I’m possibly getting some knitting machines (for free!) soon, what is the name of the book that you got your pattern from and would you reccomend the book? Thanks

What say you?

