Skip to content
May 14, 2011 / KristenMakes

That Colette!

I just wanted to do a quick post while my freshly painted nails dry (bad idea, I know!) and while T is cooking dinner (steakadillas!) to update some recent projects!  As you may recall I had just finished my second semester of uni in time for our friends’ visit, but in between those events, I was able to set aside a day for sewing!

I made myself something I’ve been planning/wanting to make for years: Colette Patterns’ Beignet Skirt!  As with the Macaron dress, I found this pattern beautifully written and a joy to make.

IMG_5941

IMG_5965 IMG_5962

The pattern is a high waisted skirt fully-lined and with pockets.   It looks really professional (credit due to the pattern, not the sewing!) and is super comfortable.  The only changes I made were to lose the tie-belt and belt buckles as the skirt doesn’t really need them.  The fabric is a nice stiff navy wool from Edinburgh Fabrics, which at the moment have a nice selection of British Wool, some of which I believe is part of the Campaign for Wool movement led by Prince Charles.

Back to Colette, I’ve mentioned to T that for my birthday, (amongst many other items, so who knows if they will make the cut) I would very much like some more Colette Patterns, esp. their 2 newest:

Ginger (the Skirt) and Violet (the Blouse).  These designs are so pretty, feminine, and versatile.

 

Sewing aside, I have gotten in over my head with a new knitting project.  I have so many things on my plate (including more pressing knitting projects) but I have been unable to ignore the siren song of selfish knitting in the form of Laar, by Scottish knitwear designer Gudrun Johnston.

The title meaning light breeze is spot on, as it is super light, knitted in laceweight yarn, which means miles of stockinette stitch (aka easy mindless joyful knitting).  I really enjoyed Gudrun’s simple pattern-writing style from the Audrey in Unst and Aestlight designs of hers I have knitted.  I’ve realised the process is more important to me than the actual end product.  I really love knitting.  So following a well-written carefully thought out pattern with unique tricks and techniques is such an amazing experience (which is why I am really excited about this book coming out soon).

IMG_5995

IMG_5992With this Laar, I was unsure if the picot edge would lay flat and nicely, as it was curling up while knitting, so I took a break a few inches in to steam block it and it is now laying really nicely.  I noticed a dropped stitch while doing so (with the laceweight yarn and my quick, distracted knitting manner I’ve dropped some from time to time), so that will have to be fixed:

dropping stitches

Well that’s my knitting so far, plus I’ve got a few socks on the go as usual!  So now, one blog post and a few nail polish smudges later, I’m back to knitting!  Happy weekend everyone.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Barbara Rainier / May 14 2011 6:45 pm

    I love the skirt. Of course in Florida, we wouldn’t want wool. The bias cut skirt looks interesting. I am a pre-beginner and I always sew the hems crooked, so who will know with the bias cut.

    Keep posting, I love to see your work.

  2. Kerry / May 14 2011 6:57 pm

    Lovely Beignet! It’s such a great pattern isn’t it? Am sure you’ll get lots of wear out of yours.

    I’m not so excited by Ginger and Violet as I have been about other Colette Patterns. I think Violet could look nice, though I’m not completely sold on the shape.

  3. Mum / May 14 2011 7:00 pm

    I love that Beignet skirt! It is something I would have worn in my more svelte days! Tell Trent to send me his excess birthday ideas, plus some belated ones of his own! I’m a slacking MIL! The brothers will be there soon!

  4. Rue / May 15 2011 11:01 am

    Fabulous skirt! That pattern just might get me to pull out my sewing machine and try something more complex than piecing quilt squares.

    I’m glad to hear Flaar is such a well written pattern (not that I’m surprised – Gudrun’s patterns are great). I can’t wait to see this one when it’s done.

  5. Mom Orme / May 16 2011 4:46 pm

    Love your skirt. I would even wear that made in a Florida fabric. Looks so comfortable.

  6. Ali / May 16 2011 4:58 pm

    Ah! Yours looks fabulous. I already have a button-down skirt that’s black but I keep finding these dark versions so enticing (Tasia of Sewaholic has a lovely one). Looking forward to your other Colette projects.

  7. Holly / Jun 7 2011 3:31 pm

    Hi Kristen,
    You won the pattern giveaway on my blog! Just write me an email with the size patterns you want (or give me your measurements so I can send you the right size range) and include your address, and I’ll pop the patterns in the mail to you soon! Congrats!
    All the best,
    Holly
    http://hollyklein.blogspot.com/2011/05/may-giveaway-lisette-patterns-spring.html

What say you?

