Skip to content
May 8, 2011 / KristenMakes

Checking in – Still here!

Well we have just had the first our our string of four sets of visitors over, our friends M & S from back home!  Now they have left and I am back to uni work, but maybe a wee break to blog first!

Before M&S came I had the opportunity to be part of my first blogger meetup!  Sølvi of Definelise came to Edinburgh over Easter weekend with her boyfriend Anders, and invited Debi of My Happy Sewing Place and myself to a meetup, and happily we agreed!  We all met in the Grassmarket, chatted over tea at Elephant House and did a wee bit of vintage shopping – thanks to Sølvi being on a no-fabric-buying-pledge we avoided the fabric shops, which was great on my wallet!

I must admit, I felt a little out of my element being amongst such prolific seamstresses, these ladies have made so many beautiful garments!  But we chatted about knitting a little as well, and that made me feel at home; isn’t it funny that I began crafting by sewing but now feel more a knitter inside?  

We browsed in Armstrongs and then went to Barnardo’s where we immediately were drawn like moths to a flame of vintage sewing patterns.    It was so great to meet with bloggers; it amazes me that thanks to crafting and the internet, 3 complete strangers were able to meet, chat, and have such fun!
After that I had a few days in which to rush and gather all my work from this last semester together and thanks to an almost all-nighter (2 hours sleep should count as an all-nighter though) I got it all done just in time to welcome our visitors!  T & I flew to London to meet them and yes, it was the same weekend as a certain very famous royal wedding.  We decided to avoid the crowds though and enjoyed a quieter side of London, on the other side of the Thames.  We still did get to see some revelling and fun throughout the day of course:

IMG_5504

IMG_5608

These button-decked suits must have taken hours to decorate!

IMG_5517

This Kate & Wills themed Pieminister pie was delicious!

IMG_5598

Partying like Royals – that is if Royals drink a glass of Pimm’s and call it an early night!

After London we spent a quick day back in Edinburgh, taking M&S around to some of our favourite places, such as Holyrood Park.

IMG_5623
And then we rented a car and drove to a wee B&B in the wee town of Drumnadrochit off Loch Ness. The B&B was also a farm which meant I made some animal friends!
IMG_5652

IMG_5682
And we also took a lovely walk along a river in Glen Affric, and found a great rock to relax on.
IMG_5778

IMG_5862

Then we spent a few more days back in Edinburgh before they had to return home.  It was so nice to have our friends here and show them what our life is like here in Scotland.  More photos of that amazing week are here.

But before I go, I MUST wish my mother the most amazing Mother’s Day!  I love you, and miss you so much!

mitre 4

Also a HUUUUGE congratulations are due to those next in line to visit us, my two brothers, Rich & Steven!  Both have just graduated (Rich with an MBA and Steven now a Dentist) this very weekend, and at this very moment are partying it up with family in Michigan.  I miss you guys and can’t wait to see you!

Happy weekend, everyone, and happy Mother’s Day to all the mums!

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rue / May 8 2011 3:14 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful visit and that scenery is absolutely stunning. I’ve really got to get out to Scotland one of these days.

  2. amanda / May 8 2011 9:06 pm

    oh my gosh, you were such a cute kid!! thanks for all the pictures, we can’t wait to book our trip!

  3. Mum / May 9 2011 2:21 pm

    Awww..you made me a little weepy! Thanks for the ‘shout-out’ We sure missed you yesterday! I’m sending you hugs with your brothers!

  4. Mom Orme / May 9 2011 7:12 pm

    Love the 2 pix of you and your brothers. Also, all the pix of your touring with M&S. I really think there’s a bit of farmer in you:) Can’t wait to see some of these things…soon!

What say you?

