Skip to content
March 30, 2011 / KristenMakes

Who’s Doing What: Afia

Meet Meghan.  She is the president and designer behind Afia.

Afia is unique in that it brings together handcrafting and the culture of West Africa and makes it available stateside translated in a fashion form that is beautiful and flattering to many American fashion-conscious women.   Additionally, Afia enables women with amazing skillsets to have an outlet through which to distribute a product that beautifully represents them while making a fair wage for it.

Meghan raised funds on RocketHub to relocate to Ghana while developing her upcoming collection. Why Ghana?  SO many reasons!  I really could not describe her work any better so I’ll just share her words about making such a leap:

Redefining popular conceptions:

I’m not alone in my frustration with the perceptions of the African continent as one homogenous mass, consumed with disease, poverty, and ethnic battles. The fear resulting from these perceptions discourages business investment and balanced partnerships, hindering the continent’s potential and inclusion in the global marketplace.

Promotion of Skill and Handcrafting:

I chose an African country to produce the line because, in addition to the technical skill and ambition present, Afia values the craft behind the production – as opposed to the fast fashion manufacturing model that has become commonplace. Every single step of this process involved personal human interaction.

COLOUR & PATTERN!

I chose Ghana to source my fabric because the vibrancy and spirit of West African textiles makes me feel like Charlie laying eyes on Willie Wonka’s Chocolate Room

I can relate to Meghan in many ways, including struggling with a love/hate relationship with fashion.  I love clothing but hate the waste that cheap fast fashion creates.  As a designer, there is a responsibility that not many actually recognise, but Meghan does: ‘As a lover of fashion, I saw that my role to facilitate growth was to open the textiles and production up to the much larger American market would be to translate them into our trends.’

Luckily, we get to witness every step of the process/adventure, as she keeps a well-documented blog, which is how I found her!  She makes it so tangible and romantic!

However, Meghan is not afraid to share the real details of the process such as sweltering temperatures and difficulty in keeping settled stomachs.  She also shares the details of creating the garments, sourcing the materials, etc.   I am excessively fascinated by what it takes to make a collection for an actual working business, let alone a business with such an ethical foundation, so I love reading about that process.

Again here are the links to find more about Meghan & Afia:

Afia Website

Afia Blog

Meghan’s Rockethub page

(also, check out her Interview with RocketHub)

I’m sure that by being so far from home she could use some supportive comments, so check out her blog and let her know how awesome she is!

All images via afiameghan.blogspot.com

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rue / Mar 31 2011 11:47 pm

    Thanks so much for saying hello over on my blog. I’ll never get tired hearing compliments about Tadpole. But I’m just as thrilled to discover your blog – so many of the sweaters you show in MMM are on my to-knit list and I’ve really enjoyed reading your “Who’s Doing What” posts.

    Nice to “meet” you!
    Rue

  2. meghan sebold / Apr 1 2011 10:30 pm

    Beautifully written!! Thank you!

  3. Liten Blomma Jewelry by Jessica / Apr 2 2011 11:05 am

    Meghan, and AFIA are truly amazing! I have enjoyed reading her blog every step of the way. She is working for a noble cause. I love all of the colors, colors and more colors! The fabrics used for her upcoming line are delicious! I can’t wait to work with her clothing in the photo shoot next week! Yay for AFIA!
    ❤ Jess

What say you?

