Skip to content
March 6, 2011 / KristenMakes

Me-Made-March, week 1

Photobucket

I, Kristen Orme, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-March ’11. I endeavour to wear at least TWO handmade and/or refashioned items each day for the duration of March 2011.

I made this pledge here last month and for the first week of this month I have been successful!  If you remember Self-Stitched September I pledged to wear 1 handmade item; this time around, Zoe who is the brilliant sponsor behind the campaign, challenged us to up the ante so I am…  Two items is a lot more complicated than one.  It is easy to take any top I’ve made and pair it with any of the many skirts/shorts/jeans I have but when I have to coordinate 2 handmade pieces together it takes a lot more time and finesse!  This first week went OK but I can tell that it will be a challenge indeed, which is of course the point.  I’m not going to link up the patterns as there are so many but if you have any questions about what I’ve made feel free to comment or email me at kristenmakes@gmail.com.   Anyhow, on to the ensembles :

Day 1 – Tuesday

Day 1
Jumper – Hand knit, ‘Thermal’ from Knitty
Wool Shorts – Hand sewn, simplicity 3850 (a recent addition to my handmades, see more details at the bottom of today’s post)
Oxford shirt – thrifted

Day 2 – Wednesday

Day 2
Mind the ratty hair and silly face!
Cardigan – hand knit, ‘Aidez’ by Cirilia Rose
Tunic Shirt – Hand sewn, ‘Pendrell Blouse’ by Sewaholic
Belt and necklace – stolen from my mom!
Jeans – Gap
Booties – Clarks

Day 3 – Thursday

Day 3
Cardigan – Hand knit, ‘Audrey in Unst’ by Gudrun Johnston
Dress – Hand sewn, ‘Coffee Date Dress’ by Selfish Seamstress

Day 4 – Friday

Day 4a
Jumper – Hand knit, Leaf Pullover by Bernat
Skirt – Hand sewn, self-drafted (fits a bit tight!)
Brooch – Refashion, I guess… vintage button-turned-pin

Day 5 – Saturday

Day 5
Sloppy day of work-related sewing! I need to make more casual clothes for these days…
Cardigan – hand knit, ‘Aidez’ by Cirilia Rose
Tee – refashion from 2 tees

Day 6 – Sunday

Day 6a

Day 6b

Finally a day off…  shopping, burgers, and movie with the main squeeze.
Cardigan – hand knit, ‘Manu’ by Kate Davies
Blouse – refashion (made slimmer fit and altered sleeves which you can’t see)
Earrings and Necklace – made from a doll house tea set!
IMG_2402IMG_2407IMG_3517IMG_3519

For the shorts I used a Wendy Mullins (of Built By Wendy) Simplicity 3850 pattern and some great wool plaid.
IMG_4236
IMG_4399IMG_4398

I really enjoyed the pattern and the fit turned out just about perfect (I only had to tweak the waistband a bit).  I’m glad to know they fit so well so I can use the pattern to make some trousers.  I made sure to match up the plaid as well as I could and it turned out very nicely!

Anyway, one week down, three more to go!  Wish me luck on the next week!

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. madeleine / Mar 6 2011 3:29 pm

    Hi Cuz, Love seeing your posts. Your clothes are adorable. You look like a model! Hope you and Trent are good!

  2. Mom / Mar 6 2011 3:34 pm

    Happy to see matched plaids! Pet peeve of mine! I can’t believe I ever wore that belt…in a past life, maybe? I can’t tell which necklace that is…glad it’s getting some use though!

    Looking forward to Week 2…and love the font for MeMadeMarch’11!!!

    Congrats!

  3. one good apple / Mar 6 2011 4:47 pm

    Those shorts are great! That might be another pattern to add to my list…

  4. Sue Orme / Mar 6 2011 8:44 pm

    Some very interesting ensembles. Looking forward to seeing what else March brings. (I’m especially fond of the earrings.) Keep up the good work.
    Mom O

  5. ali / Mar 7 2011 12:45 pm

    You look great ! So many sweaters 🙂 I had a helluva time with simplicity 3850, but that has to with my body shape, and urs are lovely! Despite my fitting problems, I really loved putting it together, esp the pockets.

  6. indigorchid / Mar 7 2011 7:03 pm

    Wow, great outfits! I had trouble feeling like I kept my style during SSS, but you look so natural and comfortable in your outfits! *Love* all the knit pieces, they are absolutely wonderful!

  7. fredericaknits / Mar 9 2011 8:41 am

    You have an enviable amount of great hand-knitted sweaters! I seem to be continuously knitting but have a surprising lack of finished garments!

Trackbacks

  1. Wardrobe Planning / Stashbusting « KristenMakes

What say you?

