Skip to content
March 2, 2011 / KristenMakes

Who’s Doing What…

I’m toying with the idea of introducing a weekly feature, that is if I can be well-behaved enough to keep up with it.  There is so much out there that is inspiring, just to see others making, knitting, innovating, and foraging for sustainable futures, I want to share what I see!  There is a pretty wide range of things I see that intrigue me, and as such, this could very well flop if I end up talking about loads of things only a select few are interested in.  So please forgive me if this experiment doesn’t work out.  I’m going to try out:

That’s right, ‘Who’s Doing What * Wednesday’ or WDW…  And yes I made a wee header for it.  So to start off, I’m going with something that may be a bit extreme for some, but I think it’s pretty interesting.

Derek Burgess of Pittsburgh, PA is not so much a fashion designer as a visual designer.  He is selling a pair of jeans that he has worn continuously for 1.5 years.  The price tag is $1200 – out of my price range, but it’s more the idea that he’s selling, and the story of the garment.

Derek Burgess, recycled denim, upcycled denim, recycled fashion, upcycled fashion, eco-fashion, sustainable fashion, green fashion, ethical fashion, sustainable style

The history and experiences these jeans have seen has been quite varied.  It’s not just ‘drive to work, get the groceries’ run of the mill tasks; these jeans have seen protests, large-scale art installations, farming, and yes, sexual activity, to name a few.

He reminds us that our garments are more than just what we wear and they have a life beyond your ownership of them.  As Ecouterre says of his collection called Wastelanders, it ‘encompasses both the process of creating the garment and its affinity to modern, performance art.’  These jeans have been modified to meet his changing needs (such as becoming shorts in the summertime) and have been mended/altered using only found materials.  This aspect gives the jeans even more depth to their story by introducing foreign objects each with their own (unknown) stories.

I think it’s a good reminder and causes me to dwell on not only my own personal relationship with them but also, what my garments have been through before I bought them and what they will see when I am no longer their possessor.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. indigorchid / Mar 2 2011 6:05 pm

    I’m excited for your new feature! There really are so many interesting stories out there, thanks for sharing what you’re finding!

    And Derek’s piece is probably most powerful as a statement, and as a reminder – his stirring of our expectations is more important than getting the piece sold.

  2. ali / Mar 4 2011 1:09 am

    I love this! Passed this on to the boy who’s obsessed with denim and clothes in general (his obsessions sometimes even outrank mine 🙂 I look forward to your WDWs, but no pressure. I’ve got a similar feature planned for my blog, but I can never get around to it.

    You probably have assumed that the UP pattern’s been delayed. I think I’ve finally figured out how to sew this thing, so I can ship off the original to you soon. 🙂

What say you?

