Skip to content
February 13, 2011 / KristenMakes

Yay for Upcycling!

I mentioned a few weeks ago that I was doing a bit of restyling/upcycling for some vintage clothes from Godiva Boutique that needed a bit of love and attention.  Well, my pieces are complete & I am dropping them off tomorrow!  It was a lot of fun trying to figure out how to best use each piece and how to get the most out of what I had.  A few pieces I was able to make into more than one item, which is a great way to use scraps – which is the whole point of upcycling anyway, right?  Well here you are, hope you like!

BA_pink jumper2

This plaited jumper became a skirt and two zip-up make-up bags.

 

BA_green sweater2

This green jumper (which came with the sleeves chopped off) became a hooded snood/cowl.  And yes, that is me wearing Pendrell!


Oh, and please don’t make fun of the following pictures that depict my feeble attempt at a one-person photo shoot (styling, photographing, hair, makeup, modelling…).   I try.

BA_blue blouse2

This blue printed blouse lost its sleeves and got a little tuck at the side seams.


BA_pink blouse2

This pink blouse got turned upside down for a skirt (with that great smocking remaining at the waistband) and the top became a fluttery capelet.


BA_leather jacket2

And now my FAVOURITE!  A discarded bomber jacket with a ripped sleeve became a Danny-meets-Sandy (a la Grease) leather capelet, complete with sweater clip!  I LOVE the buttons!  This one took some time and care and I am so amazed at my Brother PS-33 for doing such a good job on the leather, with the help of a leather needle.

So what do you think?  Do you have a favourite?  Do you have anything you would have done differently?  And, what do you think of my top-knot?  A few of you said that you had faith in me that I could pull it off – thanks, this is for you!  I’m not ready to hit the streets yet sporting the ‘do’ but it was fun to play!

By the way, thank you so much for all the congratulations and kind words on our anniversary!  It was fabulous, we spent the weekend painting, cleaning and redecorating our living room and awarded ourselves with a few delicious meals along the way (La Favorita on Saturday after painting and Chop Chop on Sunday after the cleaning/redecorating.  Ahhh, time to join the gym and buy some vegetables.  Hope you have a great week!

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sara Pedigo / Feb 13 2011 10:04 pm

    Looks really amazing!!! The versatility in designs is so fantastic!

  2. Sarah / Feb 14 2011 12:25 am

    Ooooh! The Grease leather caplet is my very favourite! What an awesome transformation!! The blouse into a caplet and skirt is my second favourite. All in all, you’ve worked wonders! Job well done!

  3. Noas' libellule / Feb 14 2011 10:25 am

    I love what you did with the bomber jacket!

  4. Mom / Feb 14 2011 11:48 am

    My mother used to remake things all the time, but they never looked like yours. They just looked like old clothes made a different size. You’re so clever.

  5. Alexandra Mason / Feb 14 2011 4:31 pm

    Love your upcycling…Your leather jacket re-make is fantastic!

  6. Tasia / Feb 17 2011 9:48 pm

    LOVE what you did with the leather jacket – what a creative, unique and trendy way to update an old jacket! It’s bad-girl and demure all at once. And the Pendrell looks great on you too! 🙂

  7. Wobisobi / Feb 22 2011 8:21 am

    Wow Scotland. I am so excited to find your blog you have such a talent. if you have an email I would love to have it,my fellow Floridian. I have always wanted to go to Scotland. Do you love it there?

What say you?

