Skip to content
February 7, 2011 / KristenMakes

Super tall socks – done!

Well just in time for a bit of surprise snow outside, I have completed my super tall socks that have been months in the knitting.  I love the colour change and the length.
IMG_3922 IMG_3924
I must give thanks for the following:

Pattern:    Coming Together Socks – I modified the pattern only by making it longer and omitting the cable

Yarn:    Schoppel Wolle’s Zauberball for the colour-change   -and-   The Yarn Yard’s Toddy for the tan colour

Special BO:    Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind-off – a MUST for toe-up socks

Lastly:    …my new tripod!

IMG_3069

…in other news, my friend Rachel has spotted me out in cyberspace!

There is my Silverlode pattern in the middle, and mentioned no. 4 on the list, YAY!  Did you know that EIGHT people on Ravelry have knitted it?!?  I love that!

And lastly for show & tell, I’ve been doing some sewing work for ShowPony in Glasgow.  She does some amazing screenprinted work – fabric, totes, purses, tea towels, and was recently featured in Real Simple magazine (you American readers might know of that lovely magazine!  Its really great working for her because I’ve been learning a lot about running your own business, making your own things, sourcing fair trade and organic materials, and working out of a studio.  Here are some of the lovely purses I’ve made thus far.

Check out her Etsy shop!

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Roobeedoo / Feb 7 2011 9:20 am

    Lovely socks! I wish I had legs like that so I could wear shorts “out”!

  2. Andi / Feb 7 2011 9:31 am

    I love the super tall socks. I have some store bought pairs that I layer over tights when it is super cold out. I’d imagine that hand knit ones were even better.

  3. Noas' libellule / Feb 7 2011 10:04 am

    Love the socks, is it me or you change your blog template – nice work!

  4. Sølvi / Feb 7 2011 10:51 am

    Loove the socks!

  5. Mom / Feb 7 2011 10:55 am

    Did you plan it so the color waves match on both socks or was it luck? It’s amazing either way!

    I wish I could say you get those fabulous legs from your mother, but nothing could be further from the truth… maybe your grandmother, but likely from your father’s side…!

    Which issue of Real Simple was the fabric featured in?

    Miss you!

  6. Sue Orme / Feb 7 2011 11:09 am

    Another great job!

  7. Natasha Jane / Feb 7 2011 12:38 pm

    Beautiful socks!

  8. Kerry / Feb 7 2011 4:32 pm

    Gorgeous socks, a great yarn choice.

    That’s cool you have been doing some work for Show Pony. We had some purses and Hot Dogs in our gallery at Christmas and sold a lot. I saw the Hot Dogs in the Guardian too, in one of their Christmas Gift Guide things.

  9. Tasia / Feb 8 2011 1:16 am

    Awesome socks!! Oh man, I have GOT to learn to knit, those look super cosy and cute! Great job! 🙂

  10. Angie / Feb 13 2011 7:31 pm

    Those are some super awesome socks!

What say you?

