Skip to content
February 1, 2011 / KristenMakes

Moodboard experimentation

It is odd for me to be posting in the middle of the day (I should be working!)  but I just made my first ‘mood board’ and thought to share.  It is really nothing special, just a beginner’s exercise in the following:

  • trying out new colour palettes
  • exploring mood and theme
  • roughly trying out Adobe Illustrator

It’s partly for uni, as I am needing to experiment more, and step outside my usual earth tones.  Yes, this is a very safe experimentation, but its a start.  It is a good exercise in trend exploration too.

Additionally, Colette Patterns is having their Spring Palette sewing challenge so if you join the forum you can see so many users sharing their inspiring palettes,, so I figured I ought to do one too.  I’m not sure if I’ll be actually able to make anything for myself in the palette, but its fun to add one and hope, right?

So there it is, my mood board.  It’s pretty knit-heavy because that is the focus of my work at school, plus knits are so comfy and romantic.

Any advice on how to explore the inner designer/stylist?  Anyone have any tricks on how they find their imagery or explore a new theme in moodery?  Also, anyone know of any free tutorials on Illustrator basics?

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Noas' libellule / Feb 1 2011 9:47 am

    OMG, I was getting ready to have a mood board post as well today.. Not dissimilar to yours actually as it is grey and light. I did one mood board before for a one-day interior design course, and they told us to focus on one central item which all the other images/textures/objects would derive from. Not sure this helps?

  2. KristenMakes / Feb 1 2011 10:09 am

    That is a great idea! I never thought to do that and it kinda shows. Seems that that would give the board more direction than the mish mash that is mine! Can’t wait to read your post!

  3. Mom / Feb 1 2011 10:20 pm

    I love the colour palette….! Very yummy array of colours and textures!

  4. Jo Campbell / Feb 2 2011 4:57 am

    I like to take a look at nature – there are some fab colour combinations. You get a range from subtle shades to intense contrast. You could pick an image of a favourite creature or landscape and build your mood board around that. For example, I’m trying to find time to do some work around the colours and shapes of sea slugs – not everyone’s cup of tea, I know, but they are wonderfully intense.

  5. Edith / Mar 15 2011 4:54 pm

    Kristen,
    Have you ever looked at the ToryBurch web site? There are a lot of good tunic and dress ideas that I think would be great to sew. You’re inspiring me!

What say you?

