Skip to content
January 30, 2011 / KristenMakes

I’ve got FO’s! Three!

Finally I was able to get a few pics in of my recent finished objects!  I’m thinking of getting a tripod after seeing this at my mom’s house.   That way I don’t have to beg friends, wait around for husband/photographer (husbatographer?) availability, or take pictures of garments on hangers…  Until then, you’ll have to deal with these pictures…

First off, I started this cardigan on Christmas Eve, had to take a break while visiting Florida, and then whipped through the rest of the knitting upon return.  I wear it all the time and love it – super cosy and it was really fun to knit!
Aidez_1 Aidez_3

Thanks to my good friend Susannah who took the pictures while we were out knitting…   The pattern is Aidez (Ravelry link here) by Cirilia Rose who is pictured below – yes, not only is she an amazing and talented designer for Berroco yarn, she is her own beautiful model too!

So for mine, I made a few mods to it for a looser fit.  I did a slightly different ribbing of 2 x 2 with an i-cord edging:

CO 150: mult. of 4 + 2 for hem:

Row 1 (RS): sl1wyif, K1, sl1wyif, K1, (P2, K2) to last 6, P2, sl1wyif, K1, sl1wyif, K1
Row 2 (WS): sl1wyif, K1, sl1wyif, K1, (K2, P2) to last 6, K2, sl1wyif, K1, sl1wyif, K1

Otherwise, I followed the cable pattern pretty closely.  I knit it all in 1 piece rather than a front right, front left, and back mainly because I loathe seaming pieces.


After looking around at the other Ravellers who made this,  I followed the lead of a few who knitted the sleeves in the round and then joined sleeves to body and decrease as for standard raglan shoulder shaping.  It was a breeze!  The yarn was purchased at Drummond Wools while my sewing machine was being serviced and is a blend of wool and alpaca that smells deliciously of library books, mmm!  It claims to be machine washable but I’m not going to chance it – it’s hand wash for me.

On the sewing front, I have made myself TWO Pendrells!

This pattern is the first from Tasia of Sewaholic, and I’d say she’s off to a very good start!  It is a really fun and quick pattern.  I started the first as a muslin (or toile, as they say at uni) to test out the size and (yay!) the muslin is wearable and awesome!   I love the 3 versions offered but as I didn’t have enough fabric for sleeves or ruffles but didn’t want a plain one, I grabbed some black scrap fabric to add a bit of faux suspender detailing.  I’m quite happy with the result!

IMG_3837 IMG_3838

The fit is nice and loose which means no closure necessary! You can tuck it in to a high-waisted skirt, or let it hang out over skinny jeans, perhaps with a slim belt at the waist… Many ways in which to wear it.

So this week at uni I attended a sewing workshop, mainly so as to familiarise myself with the industrial machines they have there and WOW! they are powerful and fast.  While there, I found some floral fabric in the scrap bin, just asking to be taken home, so I did of course.  I call it Frankenstein’s floral, because the print actually is a mish-mash of two types of floral prints, and if you look closely, you can see the fake seam.  I think it’s a blanket stitch!

IMG_3832
So I’m not much of a florals person, but I think the colours (brown, green, cream, and brick) got me interested and turns out it makes a great Pendrell no. 2!  It happened unexpectedly like this:   Friday night I came home from uni dead tired.  But, I had a blanket to do before retiring to the couch and so I enlisted the help of a certain Dr. Pepper and some Decemberists tunes.  By the end of the blanket I was wide awake and ready for something else.  So I cut out Frankenstein’s Floral and by 3 am  (and another Dr. Pepper later) I had myself another Pendrell!

IMG_3829
This time I made View A with the pleated sleeve. The sleeve is attached at the princess seam (I LOVE princess seams by the way) rather than the shoulder, which makes for such a unique and interesting detail. I chose to face my pleats downwards but as Tasia explains, you can face them upwards as well.

IMG_3833
Above is a view of the sleeves from the back, but they are the same on the front:
IMG_3830
Also you can see the neckline was finished with bias tape of the same fabric, a detail I really liked. I’ve done bias tape before, even homemade, but this technique turned the tape to the inside only so it was not at all visible from the outside. The armholes were done in the same fashion, and its a technique I definitely want to use again. Its so simple!

Another thing I did was: French Seams!  Wow, I always thought they would be fiddly, difficult, and time consuming to do but they were none of those things! If you are going to do a seam-finish and do not have an overlock machine, they take about as much time and less thread than a zig-zag stitch. Plus it looks so pretty inside-out!
IMG_3842
…I wonder if I could fashion a reversible Pendrell, hmmm.

So that’s the sewing/knitting I’ve been up to of late.  Currently I am working on a few restylings of vintage garments from Godiva Boutique here in Edinburgh.  Hopefully they turn out to be something of interest, and if so, you might get a peak at the results!

13 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom / Jan 30 2011 2:04 pm

    I love princess seams, too…so much more flattering than darts. And french seams, too…so yummy! Wish I could be as productive as you!

  2. Sue Orme / Jan 30 2011 3:20 pm

    I can see you’ve been very busy and productive. Can’t wait to see you in the floral; don’t think I’ve ever seen you wear floral. So pretty.
    Mom O

  3. Andi / Jan 30 2011 5:47 pm

    Buying a tripod was the nicest thing I ever did for my camera. I used to just balance my old camera on random things. It got pretty beaten up from falling off furniture and fences. I highly recommend buying a tripod.

  4. Kerry / Jan 30 2011 6:24 pm

    Your cardigan is gorgeous, and looks so cosy too.

  5. Sølvi / Jan 30 2011 8:16 pm

    Oh, I love that cardigan! I wish I was a disciplined knitter (but, alas, I am not) and the Pendrell´s are lovely. I especially love the black suspender detail! Very cute and creative.

  6. Ang / Jan 31 2011 2:04 pm

    oh man, i love the cardigan! i checked out the pattern to see if a novice like me could do it, but, it looks way over my head! great job though!

  7. KristenMakes / Feb 1 2011 10:10 am

    I’m convinced! Buying a tripod today! Thanks!

  8. Marina / Feb 1 2011 2:06 pm

    great cardigan, I would love to knit a similar one, but it will take me ages! and those pendrell blouses – the latest trend on blogosphere. They all look unique and I love yours!

  9. Tasia / Feb 3 2011 8:11 pm

    Wow! The cabled sweater is pretty and cosy, and yay for finishing not one but TWO Pendrells! I especially love the floral print! Great job on the French seams too – it’s such a tidy finish. Well done you!

  10. Tasia / Feb 3 2011 8:12 pm

    Oh and, definitely buy a tripod! There are tiny ones that can fit in a purse, and it makes all the difference in the world to be able to take your own photos!

  11. Rachel / Feb 3 2011 10:04 pm

    A reversible one would be cute! Especially if you top stitched down the French seams, and you could underline so that the inside was a different fabric. It has potential.

  12. Kristie / Feb 4 2011 1:16 pm

    I am soo needing a cozy cardigan like that! Yours turned out so beautiful. Cute Pendrells! I really like the muslin one.

Trackbacks

  1. Yay for Upcycling! « KristenMakes

What say you?

