Skip to content
December 19, 2010 / KristenMakes

Keeping Warm…

Well we were snowed in for an entire week earlier this month, during which there was no travel to uni for me.  Other than experiencing frustration at not being able to continue with my work at the end of the semester, I did get to catch up on my wooly knitting!  And so now, the semester has ended, all projects have been turned in, I am on holiday break relaxing, and finally able to post my recent projects to you!

Trenty’s Pajama Pants!
IMG_3520
Now he has some warm PJ pants made from (on his request) corduroy! Pockets have been stolen from a previous pair of flannel pajama pants. The have been slept in and given the TEO vote of approval!
IMG_3537IMG_3535

Fair-Tarsia Hat no. 1…

For me I have made myself a Very Warm Hat! From the ingenious knitter, Elizabeth Zimmerman comes a reversible hat that is doubly warm. It is brilliant! You cast on and knit a hat, then pick up stitches from the Cast on edge, and knit another hat, joined to the first hat at the brim.

For 1 side I made it a simple fair isle, and the other I practised intarsia by charting out and knitting a wee bow… I’m very happy with it. I’ve included the chart too, in case anyone wants to give it a go.
IMG_3421IMG_3410
Bow Chart

Fair-Tarsia Hat no.2…

Of course after this, Trenty wanted a hat too!  For his we decided on fair isle for one side, and for the other we would celebrate our inner child fight the evil galactic empire with…  A Star Wars rebel logo!

IMG_3532
IMG_3526
Rebel Logo chart

Wooly Slippers…

Being stuck inside for so long, I very quickly wore holes into my slippers and had to act fast to make new ones.  Through ravelry, I found this great pattern and had some new slippers later that afternoon!  Not wanting to wear holes into the new pair, I hand-stitched faux suede elbow pads onto the feet.  Super cosy!
IMG_3429IMG_3426
IMG_3430

Well, now I am busy working on a project of which I will share more later.  And now the snow is back, and I (unlike the UK government) am prepared!

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom / Dec 19 2010 12:41 pm

    Glad to see how well you used your snow days! Love the pants for TEO…. they look very cozy! The hats are too cute… I guess Trent didn’t want to model his hat? Hahaha!

    See you soon! Enjoy your visitors!

  2. brad and amanda / Dec 20 2010 2:58 am

    1) what? no more jeans to bed? 2) love the hat and the bow is incredible! 3) trent’s hat is so great! 4) those slippers are so adorable! love the suede pads!

  3. Mette / Dec 20 2010 2:26 pm

    I noticed your hat on Ravelry, but did not see the bow. How could I miss that. It is gorgeous. Thanks for sharing the charts.

  4. Tasia / Dec 20 2010 11:25 pm

    Ooh, love the Very Warm hat! Brilliant to have two different designs built into one hat. One day I’ll learn to knit and I’ll make my own, thanks for sharing the diagram! (It will be a while I’m sure before I can master all that nifty pattern-work though..) Great cord pants too!

  5. Debi / Jan 9 2011 9:00 pm

    Love the hats! So great we are both in Edinburgh! we should meet up sometime!!

  6. KristenMakes / Jan 11 2011 5:29 pm

    I’d love that! My sewing mojo needs a reboot!

  7. Roisin / Jan 23 2011 6:37 am

    Hi Kristen! I’ve just found your blog through the Colette patterns forum – it’s great! I love those corduroy pyjama bottoms 🙂

What say you?

