Skip to content
November 8, 2010 / KristenMakes

Getting Ready for Christmas!

Busy as always, I have so much to catch up on!  First, let’s share a great diy project for non-knitters I’ve found at ‘Honestly…WTF

For the tutorial, click here!

Ok, so what have I been up to?  Well other than the obvious (uni keeping always me on my toes) I have had some time to knit for fun, yay!  I’ve finished T’s jumper but am waiting for a perfect day to take some pictures.  I cannot wait to show you the finished product, we both love it!

In addition to that, I’ve finished one of two socks and it turned out very very long!  The wool I’ve been using is Yarn Yard Toddy which I’d purchased from Natalie at the Morningside Makers Market last month, and Schoppel Wolle Crazy Zauberball in Riverbed, a beautiful range of earth tones.  The 2 yarns together create such a lovely story that reminds me of changing seasons.  Very excited about knitting the second sock and uniting the pair!
IMG_3069 IMG_3066

…And in preparation for the upcoming Christmas (my favourite holiday!!!!) I’ve been making a few Christmas ornaments!

1 — Christmas Pudding! Pattern by June Gilbank
Christmas Pudding

2 — Christmas Pickle! Pattern by Stacey Trock
Christmas Pickle!

3 — Christmas Baubles! After looking around at a few other bauble patterns, I just improvised these, quite quick and fun!
Christmas Baubles

And here they are pictured all together, so cute!

Ornaments_3

I’ve also been busy making a few things to sell! Suzanne, of Eero and Riley, is sharing a table with me and a friend at an upcoming craft fair!  Drummond Community High School is putting on a fair on Saturday, 27th November from 10 to 2 and we will be selling baby blankets, toys, and Christmas goodies (see my tote bags and Christmas bunting below)!  If you are in the area, please stop by and say hi!

Bunting & Totes

I really love the Christmas bunting, and plan to keep a strand of bunting for us to string up on our flat, shhh!  The fabric was from a few fat quarters purchased  at Purely Patchwork in Linlithgow (an adorable quilt shop I recently discovered – sorry I didn’t know about it when you were visiting, Mom!).  I made a second visit to Linlithgow  last weekend with my friend, Rachel.    She took some beautiful pictures that day of the palace and church, which you can see here.

Speaking of Eero & Riley, there has been a new development in our wildly popular Baby Riley blankets!  Now we are also making personalised pet blankets and they are oh so cute!  They come in 2 sizes:  95 x 75 cm with pup’s name, as we do for the original baby blankets, and 65 x 45 cm with paw print for the wee animals.

Personalised Pet Blanket - Turquoise with Paw Prints

Mini Pet Blanket - Red with Paw Print

They have already become a huge hit with a few local vet surgeries in the area and Suz & I are so excited with this new venture!  What do you think?

Well, with baby blankets, pet blankets, craft fairs, Christmas decoration, and of course my uni coursework I feel exhilaratingly busy, so please do forgive me for posting so infrequently!  I am quite looking forward to December’s break…  But in the meantime, it is fun to be busy busy busy.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Noas' libellule / Nov 8 2010 10:13 am

    Busy Bee… These are all amazing. I love the bags for the fair. There are really nice, starting to think about Christmas decorations too…

  2. Lisa / Nov 8 2010 10:46 am

    love the socks! makes me want to run out and get a Zauberball right now.

  3. Sue Orme / Nov 8 2010 11:36 am

    Glad to see you’re getting in the Christmas mood. I’ll forward this to A. Judy; she’ll love the doggie blankets.
    Mom O

  4. Mom / Nov 8 2010 7:56 pm

    I am putting that quilt shop on my ‘to do’ list for my next visit… you may even find a few more quilt shops by the next time I come…(don’t know when that will be, tho). I love all your holiday goodies…it got chilly here over the week-end so it all seems right and good to be thinking Christmas… I was eyeing a bias tape maker today at Hobby Lobby…It would be perfect for your buntings. Pennants are all the craft rage here in scrapbooking and home dec…

  5. jane / Nov 11 2010 4:55 am

    Wow, you have been so busy! What a lot of crafty endeavours – those socks are fantastic and the knitted ornaments are wonderful, the christmas pudding is SO cute! And your post has reminded me that i’ve been meaning to buy some Yarn Yard yarn for absolutely ages, can’t believe i’ve never tried it. The colours are so beautiful… just looking at the website now, and have fallen a small bit in love with the sparkly yarn! I never thought I would utter those words but ‘stormcloud’ looks fab. I may have to hide my credit card…

    Those blankets are fab and such a clever idea, what a great business venture!

    Enjoy the busy busy busy!

  6. Natasha Jane / Nov 18 2010 2:14 pm

    I absolutely love the socks that you’re working on! I haven’t done much knitting, but lately I’ve really had the urge to learn how to knit socks. There’s just something super special about home made socks…

What say you?

