Skip to content
October 2, 2010 / KristenMakes

The last of SSS: a round-up

Well, what a wonderful month I have had!  I successfully completed Self-Stitched September (with the exception of day 1 of course) and began my Master’s program and have also finished settling into our new flat.  Let me show you my last few day’s outfits:

Day 28: another day in school, working hard!

Day_28

Dress: Self Stitched! dress design is my own, and the pattern was based off a Built by Wendy dress book block; blogged here!

Cardigan: Gap

Day 29: I was adamant that with the summer weather gone I could still grab a chance to wear my newly finished Macaron dress by Collette Patterns. I had to layer appropirately to withstand the rain and wind but goshdarnit, I did it. It was such a great dress and the pattern was easy to read. Can’t wait to do another Collette pattern!

Day_29cDay_29aDay_29d
Dress: Self Stitched! Macaron by Collette Patterns
Trench: Banana Republic

Day 30: THE LAST DAY! I decided I had to go out with a bang and wear my very own Shetland Frock! Being that it was cold though, I had to wear it with long sleeves and boots. Kind of country-looking but fun, I think!

Day_30
Dress: Self-Stitched, my Shetland Frock
Long Sleeve Tee: Gap
Boots: Clarks

Alright so that’s me and my September.  I put together all the outfits for one last round-up!

Day_2Day_3Day_4Day_5Day_6Day_7Day_8Day_9Day_10Day_11Day_13_aDay_12_aDay_14Day_15Day_16-cDay_17-aDay_18-bDay_19Day_20-aDay_22Day_21Day_23Day_24Day_25-bDay_26Day_27Day_28Day_29cDay_30

I really think that this was a great experience!  I had so much fun and really learned just HOW MANY homemade clothes I really had.  It also made me realize what is missing from my homemade wardrobe – namely, casuals and bottoms.  Yes I have plenty of dresses and jumpers (dresses are so fun to make, and jumpers, well I’m always knitting them!)…  So now knowing how much I like wearing my own clothes I need to restructure my plans for what I make in the future.  I am going to have to resist all the pretty dress patterns out there and sew mainly skirts, shorts and (scary!) trousers.  For knitting, I have NO MORE closet/dawer space for more jumpers!  Trent will have to be the benefitee (?) of my knitting as for the time being I will have to resort to knitting for him which let’s face it, its so fun and rewarding to see him happy in a jumper that I have knitted lovingly for him!

(WARNING – a bit of SOAPBOXING ahead…)

Anyway, I feel a bit enlightened as far as clothing goes – I can easily make a wearable wardrobe out of not many clothes, and i’ts really rewarding to wear clothes that no one else has.  It makes me think a bit more about our ‘fast’ and ‘disposable’ fashion industry, as well.  I am ashamed to think that I used to be completely content dropping $5 on a shirt from Forever 21 knowing that if it falls apart after 2 wears, at least it was cheap!  In that mindset though, it is easy to forget the human work and low pay that went into the making of that garment.  I know the fashion industry is starting to make strides in eco-fashion and ethical sourcing but there is still a lot of work and awareness to be made.  I’m starting with me:  if I can’t make it for myself, I am now willing  and eager to spend the time to research the right company from whom I must purchase the item, and also willing to spend a bit more money on quality.  I also am going to put a bit more planning in my purchasing (no more impulse buys!): I won’t buy something if I don’t need it – I don’t have the space nor the money.  I will, though, only buy something:

  • that I actually NEED
  • that will LAST and is quality-made
  • that will fit seamlessly into my current wardrobe
  • and that will also fall into a more classic and less-passing trend category

Luckily this will be a very busy year for me so I won’t have much time to be tempted by the clothes in the shops!  Honestly I can’t even remember the last time I purchased clothing.  I am sure it was a few months ago, but when you don’t have the time to shop, you don’t really miss it!  I hope you weren’t too bored or bothered by my speech and somewhat enjoyed my silly outfits this month.

Things are looking a bit busy for me in the upcoming weeks so this blog might be a bit quiet, but I’ll pop back in with making-updates when I can.  In the meantime, enjoy the beginnings of this beautiful fall!

IMG_2722

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rachel / Oct 2 2010 12:14 pm

    A worthy soapbox moment in my opinion! Almost exactly how I’ve been feeling about my wardrobe lately (though I have not been as clever as you in mixing it up, and have far less self-stitched items to show for myself). I will have to make a list of things that my wardrobe needs (with the hope that potentially that list will be very small – or maybe even it will just be a wardrobe WANTS list, rather than needs! Less pressure that way!)

    Great job completing a whole month! I’m determined to participate next time!

  2. stingingneedle / Oct 2 2010 12:25 pm

    Every outfit is as stunning as the last. You’re so talented! Congratulations on a truly Self-Stitched September!

  3. soundstitches / Oct 2 2010 2:05 pm

    One of my highest priorities is to stay warm! I’ve made lots of cute things, only to ruin them by an old sweater on top. And I don’t knit! Anyway, cute pics and thanks for documenting!

  4. Kerry / Oct 2 2010 3:26 pm

    Well done on your self-stitched month, you had some great outfits. Your Macaron is lovely too!

  5. Mom / Oct 2 2010 6:18 pm

    As your mom, and as a Home Ec (okay, Family and Consumer Science) teacher, I couldn’t be more proud! Your resourcefulness is amazing and you carry off your own unique style so well! You have left me in the dust, yet planted a tiny seed of creativity that just may have me back at the old sewing machine before long! Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. Jo Campbell / Oct 3 2010 6:27 am

    It’s been great seeing your outfits for SSS and I think this is something I have to look into for next year. I do love making my own clothes, not least because I dislike alot of the fashion in shops and I don’t have much money to spend on clothes, but admit I do tend to fall into the trap of buying cheap casuals out of laziness. So this is the kick up the proverbial that I need to get sewing – and I’ve already drawn up a quick list of what I need for my wardrobe.

  7. frayedattheedge / Oct 3 2010 12:05 pm

    I have been so impressed with all your outfits! I would just add one thing to your ‘soapbox moment’ ….. having lived in Indonesia and seen the grinding poverty there, what seems like sweatshop labour and exploitation to us, is a chance for these (mainly) women to earn what is, for them, a reasonable wage.

  8. amanda / Oct 3 2010 1:17 pm

    Oh how i will miss self stitched september and the frequent blog updates! I am so amazed by your talent and commitment! You are quite the inspiration lady!

  9. Roobeedoo / Oct 4 2010 6:10 am

    Trousers aren’t scary! How can you make something fiddley like Macaron and still be scared by trousers? TSK! Very impressed by your SSS line up. I reached similar conclusions re the lack of self-stitched casual clothes in my wardrobe, but unlike you, my knitting produces a mountain of socks but no jumpers – a lack I must address asap!

  10. Sølvi / Oct 6 2010 4:52 am

    I looove your Shetland Frock! It´s fantastic. And what else should we use are blogs for (except for share our sewing projects), if not giving a speech now and then?

  11. Jane / Oct 10 2010 9:53 am

    Wow, such an impressive project and your handmade clothes are all so beautiful and totally professional looking. The colette dress is my favourite- it’s perfect. I totally agree with what you say about disposable fashion; I think with the clothing industry, much like the food industry really, we are so shielded from the story of what we are buying, it’s easy to forget there is one.

    Beautiful autumnal picture, too!

  12. emmajaneoriordan / Oct 11 2010 4:08 pm

    I’ve loved following your SSS updates! I love the idea, and am in awe of your patience and sheer amount of self stitched beauties you have! My job wouldn’t really suit a self stitched month, but I’m going to try a self stitched evening at once twice a week – I’ve always loved wearing handmade things but the other comments have really made me aware of what they *mean*. Massive congrats on making a whole month 🙂

  13. fredericaknits / Nov 13 2010 3:54 pm

    Lovely outfits! I hope that someday I can have as many self stitched items to wear and be proud of!

Trackbacks

  1. The habit of a foreign sky « cobblestonesea

What say you?

