Skip to content
September 27, 2010 / KristenMakes

Linlithgow + SSS Days 21-27

I cannot believe how speedily September has flown by!  I’ve only got a few more days left of my goal of wearing something self-stitched (be it knitted or sewn) each day this month.  These past few days have been getting more and more difficult in terms of dressing for the proper weather (chilly, rainy) or occasion (casual, outdoors), but that only serves to show me what sort of items are missing from my self-made wardrobe which I will endeavour to amend!

I figured I’d start today’s post by sharing a few photos from today’s trip to Linlithgow – the palace and St. Michael’s Parish Church – but you can see the entire album here.

IMG_2818IMG_2815IMG_2788IMG_2740
IMG_2806IMG_2809IMG_2790IMG_2796IMG_2747IMG_2772

And now on to the SSS outfits!

Day 21: I went in to uni to put in some more practice on the knitting machines, and boy are those buggers finicky! I’ll master them yet, I know! I neglected to get a photo of the Self-Stitched outfit this day so I put together a recreation later.

Day_21
Tunic: Self-Stitched from Liberty fabric purchased at Mandors in Edinburgh
Cardigan & jeans: Gap
Blazer: Talbot’s

Day 22: I stayed home to make blankets and catch up on some reading (and recover from a cold!) but was able to meet my friends Claire and Susannah briefly for some tea! I dressed casually as I was feeling under the weather.

Day_22
Cardigan: Self-Stitched; what do you know, my Audrey in Unst cardigan again!
Bustier Tee: Self Stitched-ish… refashioned from 2 solid tees
Jeans: Gap of course…

Day 23: Classes in Gala all day and then stayed overnight for an old-fashioned sleepover with some uni friends! We made pizza and drank wine, and of course what is a girly sleepover without a little Sex & the City? It’s not my favourite thing to watch but I can’t deny it is entertaining, even if only for the ensembles they wear!

Day_23
Knit Blouse: Self Stitched! My own design, remember my Silverlode pattern (ahem, you can buy the pattern here)?
Blazer: J Crew
Jeans: Gap

Day 24: More classes, then back home to Edinburgh to start my weekend!

Day_24
Tunic: Self Stitched from my own Indian Print cotton tunic dress which hopefully I’ll be able to release soon!
Blazer: J Crew

Day 25: Remember my reversible dress from Day 13? I dressed up a bit for work today and then met a new friend at Elephant House and joined Trent at a friend’s flat warming party – look at me all social!

Day_25-b Day_13_a
Dress: Self-Stitched, reversible dress from a vintage pattern
Cardigan: Self-Stitched, pattern my own!

Did I ever blog this pattern? This is the Smock-top Jacket knitting pattern which I now realize I never posted about! Well the pattern and info is available here, if interested! Apologies for my silliness there! Here you can see the pattern knitted in a Silk/alpaca/cashmere blend, oooooh!

IMG_1167

Day 26: Trip to Ikea! We’d acquired some prints from a friend that needed framing so we went to loverly Ikea for that and some candles to warm up the new flat. I decided to test out a look that I’ve been eyeing for some time, shorts paired with tights. I’ve seen some good and some bad and wanted to see if I could pull it off successfully. Thoughts?

Day_26
Jumper: Self-Stitched, Leaf Pullover pattern by Patons
Shorts: Old Navy

Day 27: Today Trent & I planned on a nice day trip to Linlithgow. It’s been awhile since we’ve left the city and Linlithgow seemed a fun and easy escape! The sky threatened rain (as per usual) and a bit of walking was in the plan (also as per usual for day trips with us!) so I had a tricky time planning a rain- and walk-friendly self stitched outfit.
Day_27
Top: Self-Stitched from Builty by Wendy pattern (Simplicity 3835)
Long Sleeve tee & Jeans: Gap
Boots: Clarks, great for walking!

As per a knitting update now, things are going along pretty swimmingly with Trent’s New Lanark jumper and the lucky husband also has a pair of knitted socks in the works for him!

That picture was taken with the Hipstamatic app for my iPhone; knitting looks pretty cool with a bit of trendy photographic retouching, huh? Check these out too:

Well that’s me caught up…  and thus begins another week!

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Richie / Sep 27 2010 6:24 pm

    What’s with the artsy pictures? Just look at the camera and smile! Sheesh! lol jk sis love ya!

  2. Mom / Sep 27 2010 7:56 pm

    I do think you can carry off the tights/shorts combo…you have the legs to do it! (and you didn’t get them from me…jealous!)

  3. Sue Orme / Sep 27 2010 8:45 pm

    Love these photos; you might need to frame some. They could make great gifts for all you friends/rel. back here.
    Mom O

  4. Rachel / Sep 28 2010 5:54 am

    Great outfits to round out your last few days of SSS – so many different combinations – you must have a HUGE closet!

    PS: I have been craving an Elephant House hot chocolate since Saturday…

  5. frayedattheedge / Sep 28 2010 3:34 pm

    I think I need to overhaul my wardrobe!! I should be getting on with my knitting instead of blog browsing – I’ve got a bit bogged down with the Maia wrap – it just seems to go on and on and on ….. (but I have finished Malcolm’s socks.

  6. quietandsmalladventures / Sep 28 2010 11:59 pm

    LOVE the reversible dress, oh holy cow, it’s fantastic! have to admit, i’m a big fan of the shorts and tights (i just wish it were cold enough to wear them here right now!)

  7. Jane / Oct 10 2010 10:00 am

    The hipstamatic pictures look great! That last one with the raindrops is so atmospheric, I can just about hear the sound of a downpour on glass in the middle of a cold night.

    The shorts suit you, for sure!

  8. Haylee / Nov 3 2010 10:42 pm

    I am in love with that pullover you made! It looks so warm and comfy. Something much needed in 30 degree Utah right now. 🙂 I love that whole outfit actually. You definitely pulled off the shorts/tights combo.

  9. KristenMakes / Nov 7 2010 6:02 pm

    Thanks! Yeah, I used to live in FL, and never got to wear any knitted things, they were too warm! Now I enjoy them all the time. Your blog is beautiful, by the way!!!!

What say you?

