Skip to content
September 20, 2010 / KristenMakes

SSS Days 14-20

Hi there!  Been a busy week and not much to update you on actually but I will happily share with you my Self-Stitched ensembles from the past few days!

Day 14: Today was a gloomy rainy day at uni, but I did get to have a go at the knitting machines!  They are so much faster than knitting by hand, but I’m still dubious…  I have a lot to learn though and hopefully the 1 year will be enough?

Day_14
Jumper: Self-Stitched! (Coffee-dyed jumper, pattern improvised, blogged here)
Jeans: Gap
Boots: Born, about 5-6 years old, definitely great in rain and snow!

Day 15: Today was a casual work from home day, topped off with a jaunt to the City Knitty knitting group.

Day_15
Jumper: Self-Stitched! Salina knitting pattern from Rowan Vintage Knits
Tee: Target (I miss you Target!)
Trousers: Old Navy

Day 16: Classes all day! I had just completed my Mary Jane jumper and could not wait to wear it!

Day_16-b
Jumper: Self Stitched! Pattern is Mary Jane from the Twist Collective. The top turned out a bit tighter than I expected but loved the 1940’s feel that resulted…

Skirt: J Crew wool skirt from a warehouse sale when I was living in Tallahassee – yes, that means that baby is about 6 years old!
Blouse: Borrowed Stolen from my grandmother, Anne Klein I think?

Day 17: More all day classes!

Day_17-aDay_17-b
Skirt: Self-Stitched! Improvised drawstring skirt, no pattern …yet?
Blouse: Gap, flannel!

Day 18: a Saturday free! Trent & I worked on the flat, more cleaning, organizing, etc. Plus a trip out to John Lewis and Sainsbury’s…

Day_18-b
Jumper: Self-Stitched! Thermal Sweater pattern
Blazer: Talbot’s
Jeans: Gap

Day 19: What was going to be a day trip to Linlithow was thwarted by the threat of rain than never actually happened! We ended up going to the cinema and then relaxed at home – I finished my Macaron (more on that later…)! Hope you like the action shot of me knitting! That is Trent’s (now quadruply-ripped out) jumper I am working on.  By the way, day 19 was also my mom’s birthday!

Day_19
Jumper: Self-Stitched! Caitlin Pullover pattern by Classic Elite
Jeans: Gap, of course…

and that finally brings us to today!

Day 20: Had to run to uni to turn in a project and do some research. Then came home to prep my next sewing project (wool skirt, I hope?) and also to blog!

Day_20-a
Dress: Self-Stitched (Built by Wendy dress book, blogged previously here)
Cardigan: Self-Stitched (Audrey in Unst knitting pattern)

And that’s me up to date! I can’t believe the month is almost over, its been actually pretty fun and easy but I will save my thoughts and ramblings on SSS for the end of the month.

Hope you are having a great week!

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. frayedattheedge / Sep 20 2010 2:32 pm

    I am very, very impressed with your wardrobe!!

  2. Lisa / Sep 20 2010 3:20 pm

    Wow, all that stuff looks great! The BBW dress and the Mary Jane sweater are my favorites.

  3. Mom / Sep 20 2010 9:22 pm

    I find it funny that you wear Gramby’s clothes!!! Love it!!! Seems like a nice blend of self-stitched means sewing and knitting for your SSS!

  4. Noas' Libellule / Sep 21 2010 4:01 am

    Seriously I don’t know how you do it! great self-stitched projects..

  5. lazystitcher / Sep 21 2010 5:51 am

    Loving your wardrobe – especially the colours. Somehow they manage to look warm and cozy without being traditional “autumn colours” like rust or burgundy.
    ~ Alana

  6. Rachel / Sep 22 2010 12:15 pm

    Great collection of self-stitched items! With our move being this month, I didn’t think I could work out wearing my own garments everyday – besides the fact that I don’t have nearly as many as you seem to have. Looks awesome – I’m jealous!

  7. amanda / Sep 22 2010 1:17 pm

    i love that caitlin pullover (or jumper i should say.. although i still imagine some sort of overalls when i say that!)

  8. Jane / Oct 10 2010 10:03 am

    The caitlin sweater is lovely- I hadn’t especially noticed it before, but the way yours came out is so flattering. Very Mad Men!

  9. Jane / Oct 10 2010 10:08 am

    Whoops, I meant the Mary jane pullover, not Caitlin, although that one is so pretty too – I need to learn fairisle!

What say you?

