Skip to content
September 9, 2010 / KristenMakes

Internet is a GO! (+ Self-Stitched September)

That is to say, we have internet installed in our new flat!  And, boy do I have so much to catch you up on!  I think the best way to do it is chronologically with Self-Stitched September.  That’s right, I didn’t forget about it with all that has been happening.  Er, I did kind of forget – Day 1 on Self-Stitched September was a big FAIL!    Well, my husband did sweetly point out that I had worn a hand-knitted shawl but I refuse to count accessories.  I’m aiming for self-stitched garments…  But I get ahead of myself, rewind to the big move, about 2 and 1/2 weeks ago…

The move went so smoothly!  The picture above is the view of the park from our window-seat (my lifelong dream was to have a window seat…).  We had to make a trip to IKEA for a few things, but that’s not a problem!  The following week was spent settling in, organizing, etc.  I got some great fabric from IKEA to make a curtain to cover our hanging clothes (as we are without wardrobe or closet) and it’s pretty fun with origami animals!

IMG_2550

The following week was my Dressmaking Class at K1 Yarns.  I had 3 great students, Mary, Catriona, and Katey.  We had basically a crash-course in how to sew, cut out our patterns and fabric, and then we made our dresses, well up to about 90% of the dress (we didn’t have enough time to finish the neckline…).  The class went so well and we had so much fun!  It was my very first sewing pattern ever so I’ll be able to release it soon.  I’ll be posting it for free, as it is my first and it isn’t as inclusive as a McCalls pattern may be, with its pattern layouts, etc.  But I’m pretty proud of it, and so happy with how the class went!  We had so much fun together that we went out for drinks together after the last class.

IMG_0877IMG_0873IMG_0884IMG_0881

So Self-Stitched September took me by surprise in the middle of this week but I recovered and dove head first into self-stitched wearables!  On to the outfits…

Day 1:

FAIL! (I forgot…)

Day 2: Not much going on, just a little sewing class!

Day_2 Skirt: Self-Stitched!
Blazer: Talbot’s
Top: Gap

Day 3: More sewing class, plus going out for drinks afterwards with the girls!

Day_3 Vest: Self Stitched! (pattern improvised)
Dress: Old Navy

Day4: Off to the airport to pick up my dad!  He flew in for a quick visit this weekend!  We went up to Calton Hill, then combed through New Town and Old Town pointing all the sights out to him.

Day_4IMG_2490
Tunic: Self Stitched! (Indian-Print Cotton Dress from my dressmaking class – pattern available soon!)
Cardigan: Self Stitched! (Audrey in Unst knitting pattern by Gudrun Johnston from the Twist Collective)

Day 5: More sight-seeing with the Pops!  We did Holyrood Palace, did some shopping, and then on to Royal Yacht Brittania.

Day_5
Tunic: Self Stitched! (Men’s Shirt Makeover)
Cardigan: Gap, refashioned for slimmer fit and button-switching!

Day 6: Yikes, first day back to school!  I’m attending Heriot-Watt University for their Masters of Fashion and Textiles Design and this week is Freshers Week!  We met with our course directs and toured around the Weaving Studio.  It was amazing!

Day_6 Top: Self Stitched! (Bustier Tee, I hope to add this tutorial soon!)
Trousers: Gap, refashioned from baggy to straight fit
Tote: Self Stitched!

Day 7: More school – we were introduced to the Knitting machines!

Day_7
Dress: Self Stitched (Button-tab Shift)
Top: Gap

Day 8: Official Enrolment at uni, I’ve got a student card again, hello student discount!

Day_8
Sweater: Self Stitched! (Leaf Pullover by Bernat)
Blazer: Talbot’s

Day 9: Today we had a welcome event and Fresher’s Fair.

Day_9
Cardigan: Self Stitched! (Manu pattern by Kate Davies)
Dress: Urban Outfitters
Boots: Coach

So that’s me!  You are up to date, and I am off to catch up on the many blogs I read.  Being without internet is a bit frazzling, so I’m feeling completely back to normal now.  More SSS to come!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. frayedattheedge / Sep 9 2010 3:15 pm

    I am very impressed that you have the energy to do such a detailed post with all the other things going on in your life!! My son went to Heriot Watt – but he is a mechanical engineer!

  2. Mom / Sep 9 2010 3:21 pm

    Wow….you’ve more than made up for missing 9/1!!! This is so fun to watch!!! You are going to have to get on the tour-guide payroll for the major Edinburgh attractions…you must know them all by heart by now! I’d like to see more pics of your flat when you are ready…I don’t remember it too well with Suz’s stuff still in it.
    Keep those posts coming!!!

  3. Angeli / Sep 9 2010 3:28 pm

    you are the bomb, lady. that’s all i got to say! 🙂 p.s. from the little sneak peek pictures, i am loving your new place!

  4. Sue Orme / Sep 9 2010 5:24 pm

    Wonderful! Love the view from your flat. Can’t wait to see more. Are you planning to do a Daily Scotch?

  5. Tasia / Sep 9 2010 5:24 pm

    Cute outfits and welcome back! Day 9’s my favourite look so far 🙂

  6. Noas' libellule / Sep 10 2010 5:22 am

    Welcome back!!! I cannot believe you have managed to do so much ‘self-stitched’ projects! Hope going back to school was OK.

What say you?

