Skip to content
August 16, 2010 / KristenMakes

What a week of Knitting!

It has been a busy week indeed.  I have successfully pulled myself out of a deep hole of baby blankets – the queue of orders was out of control.  After a record-breaking sew-a-thon yesterday I am somewhat caught up.  I may have been behind slightly because I played hooky on Thursday and instead of working on blankets I snuck to Stirling where UK Knit Camp was in full swing.  I did not have the luxury of a whole week to devote to knitting classes but I was able to devote Thursday.  I signed up for “Plan Your own Aran” with Jared Flood of BrooklynTweed.  I have been a huge fan of his as long as I have been knitting, as his blog was one of the first knitting blogs I began to follow.  His Seamless Hybrid was the inspiration for this beauty I knitted a few years back:

CIMG8671

So having him come to Scotland and my being able to take a class of his was such an opportunity!  He was a great teacher too.  He came around and met with us individually, which was very personable.  He was great at explaining a concept first, which made his demonstrations that followed much easier to grasp.  He was very good at checking with the class to see if we were following him and he was making sense to us.  We covered how to knit cables without a cable needle (a very handy trick!), how to plan out your swatch and casting on for an all-over cabled aran jumper, and lastly steeking with the crochet method.  We were each given yarn to knit a cabled swatch which we were then to steek ourselves.  Steeking is to CUT your knitting,  so that you can knit a cardigan in the round if you want to and then you can cut it to make it into a cardigan.


This is the swatch we knitted.


This is after crocheting to prep for steeking.

IMG_2392 And here is post steeking!

IMG_2393
And here is when I picked up and knitted a garter button band.

IMG_2394
Now the crocheted edging sits nicely inside and one would never know that this was cut!

I enjoyed the class immensely and it was such a pleasure to meet a knitting celebrity who honestly loves doing what he does.  He wasn’t the only knitting celebrity I met though!  After class while waiting for my bus back to Edinburgh I joined a few KnitCampers who were sitting in a courtyard knitting and chatting over lunch.  They were very kind to let me join them and when we introduced ourselves I found myself sitting with Norah Gaughan and Annie Modesitt!  I couldn’t believe it!  It is difficult when you see someone’s face online all the time, and then when meeting them in person it is quite difficult to recognize them from their avatar!  I felt foolish for not recognizing them right away, but honoured to be sitting amongst such knitting royalty (both of whom were so kind and humble!)…

And readers, that is not all I have to report of my week!  Saturday was an amazing day of sun, grass, knitting, and Ravelers!  The creators of Ravelry, Jess and Casey, were in town visiting Ysolda and decided to host an impromptu Ravelry Meet-up in Edinburgh!  The turnout was pretty great for such short notice.  The weather couldn’t have been better, either!

IMG_2391

IMG_2377

IMG_2386

IMG_2378

Above are my City Knitty pals, Immogene of Stinging Needle on the right and Alanna on the left.

Everyone was so friendly and amazing.  We were just so happy to have the chance to  get together to chat and knit.  Jess and Casey were so kind and happy to be in Edinburgh.  They came around and chatted with everyone, and provided plenty of treats for us to snack on.  Ahhh…  What a week of knitting and knitting celebrities!  This coming week is sure to be much less exciting…

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. frayedattheedge / Aug 16 2010 2:53 pm

    That all sounds fabulous – I’ve not quite worked up the courage to try a steek! I know what you mean about not recognising people …. some years ago I was on the welcolme desk at a Quilters Guild Residential weekend at Stirling University. I wondered why this woman was displeased that I asked her name – it turned out she was a very well known quilter who was not only one of the tutors, but also the Saturday evening entertainment … oops!!

  2. brad and amanda / Aug 17 2010 1:47 pm

    that’s so much fun! i love that you get the opportunity to meet so many people with the same talent and hobby!

What say you?

