Skip to content
August 1, 2010 / KristenMakes

A Shetland Frock

Shetland Frock_2

Well, I’ve got some great news – I’ve been accepted into the Heriot-Watt University Fashion and Textiles Design MA program! I am so excited about it and I can hardly believe the news. I’m a bit scared, as I’ve been quite out of practice; so I decided to pattern and make a dress to get back into it.

Shetland Frock_10

The dress is very Scottish inspired, not just in design but also in materials.  I like mixing materials and practices and wanted to explore using knitted fabric with woven fabric a little more.  I used woven Shetland Wool that I purchased from Ragamuffin off the Royal Mile, and Jamieson of Shetland Spindrift.

Shetland Frock_6

The dress pleats are kilt-inspired and feature hidden pockets. The bodice has a scoop neckline with a hand-knitted lace bib inset (a Shetland lace pattern, good old Feather and Fan).

Shetland Frock_13

I used the all-in-one facing tutorial from BurdaStyle so that this dress could be fully-lined. I’m really happy with how it turned out but having finished it, I’ve spotted a few things I would have done differently in the patterning and the construction. It was a good exercise and fun to get in the knitty-gritty of it again!

Shetland Frock_15

I hope I’m ready for school now…

16 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom / Aug 1 2010 12:12 pm

    All ready for school?….here we go again. Can I get a ‘first day’ picture? I have a whole collection of them from years past! Congratulations on your new program! I can’t wait to follow your big adventure! Well done to your photographer, too!

  2. Sue Orme / Aug 1 2010 12:57 pm

    That’s so funny; I always took first day pix, too. I like the dress a lot. In the distance shot, it almost looks like a jumper — add a turtle neck and knee-hi’s and you’ll be ready for the backpack and lunchbox. Up close, it’s more sophisticated. Good job!

  3. Noas' Libellule / Aug 1 2010 1:03 pm

    Congratulations! So more dresses from your blog. Brilliant. This one looks beautiful, and for having lived in Aberdeen, very Scottish indeed!!

  4. Ali / Aug 1 2010 1:28 pm

    Totally gorgeous! I’m so impressed with how this turned out. With its colors and details its got a wonderful nature/rustic/retro/romantic thing going on! (I adore your red dress in the Flickr group as well 🙂

  5. Mette / Aug 1 2010 2:19 pm

    I am really impressed. It is beautiful. Great work.

  6. Jo Campbell / Aug 1 2010 3:41 pm

    Congrats on the Uni program – look forward to seeing even more new designs.

  7. amanda / Aug 2 2010 2:07 am

    hooray for school! you’ve got your lunch packed up, your boots tied tight… hope you don’t get in a fight… oh, back to school!

  8. meghanaf / Aug 2 2010 5:57 am

    Congrats on Herriott-Watt! Well done. The dress looks great too 🙂

  9. Liz / Aug 2 2010 3:47 pm

    That’s great news about uni. The dress is gorgeous. No wonder heriot watt snapped you up!

  10. Ann / Aug 3 2010 7:14 pm

    This is actually related to an older post. I just discovered your blog, and was reading some older entries…you mentioned your grandmother was named Edith Oliver, do you mean Edith Oliver the drama critic? If so, wow! If not, that is cool too!

    Also, I completely love your dress!

  11. KristenMakes / Aug 4 2010 7:28 am

    Hi there! Unfortunately, not the same Edith Oliver. Actually Edith was my grandmother’s first name and Oliver was her middle name… That would have been a neat coincidence though! Thanks for reading!

  12. Alice / Aug 4 2010 10:38 am

    Splendid!! Really it’s an amazingly beautiful work! I thoughts it was a fabric at the first view!! Ho it’s really a beautiful dress! Congratulation for your work and your study!!
    (I’m gonna check the rest of your work)

  13. frayedattheedge / Aug 5 2010 3:44 am

    I’ve just popped over from Helen’s (Ripples) blog. Your dress is lovely and I’ve enjoyed a quick look through some of your older posts – I’ll pop back for another look later! Good luck with the uni course!

  14. Tasia / Aug 26 2010 8:21 pm

    Congrats on getting into the fashion and textile program – very exciting! The knitted inset is so lovely and the tweed will be wonderful for fall. Great dress!

  15. Vonnie / Oct 7 2010 2:53 pm

    You are VERY clever. I loved reading your entries about your own clothes and this dress is just gorgeous. Well done you and good luck with school!

Trackbacks

  1. The last of SSS: a round-up « KristenMakes

What say you?

