Skip to content
July 11, 2010 / KristenMakes

Dyeing & Organizing

How do we make things work when we live in a 1 bedroom flat that also has a kitchen, dining room, living room, and laundry room mashed up in 1 space?  To make matters more difficult, that room also has to be the center of research for T’s PhD as well as the studio from which I knit and sew for a living, yikes!  Again, how do we do it?  IKEA!  Of course, it doesn’t hurt to have a bit of patience and compromise, with a mutual respect and appreciation of the work your partner does!  We basically share the kitchen table (no longer used for eating!) for sewing and typing.  Things have to easily be taken out and then stashed back away at any time.

I just spent the day completely organizing all my knitting and sewing stuff into boxes and it spurred me to tidy the flat and then blog about organizing.  I got these great boxes from Ikea (with some financial help from my mom on her recent visit!), and I love them!

IMG_2128

IMG_2142

They go quite nicely with my smaller Ikea boxes set up in my sewing nook (aka T’s typing nook).

IMG_2145

IMG_2143
(See the hubs’ current spread of books?  What a hard worker…)

Home crafting can easily take over your life and your home.  But (along with purchasing in moderation) it can also help you to organize your life and your home.  I’ve got my home-sewn needle holder that houses ALL my needles, and also keeps the circular needles from coiling.

IMG_2133

In the bookcase you can also see my crocheted jewelry holder, which encourages me to wear jewelry more often due to its easy access.

IMG_0206

And just to brag, take a look at the top shelf of winter sweaters.  I just have to add that MORE than HALF are hand-knitted.  So proud…

IMG_2138

While organizing I came across a bunch of yarn I dyed a few months ago (off my coffee-dyed high) using onion skin and black beans.  I never got around to posting it so I thought I’d share the pictures from it:

IMG_0864 IMG_1016
Batch1b IMG_1014

IMG_2130

IMG_2132

I’m pretty pleased with the colors, but I have no idea what to do with 200 grams of yellow-orange yarn and 100 grams of pale purpley blue yarn!  I’ve got some thinking to do, but at least for now, it’s nestled in a nice and cozy home, out of the way.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom / Jul 11 2010 9:13 am

    Got to love a post about organizing! You’ve got so many practical ideas! Great pictures!

  2. ali / Jul 11 2010 1:30 pm

    Inspiring to see how others manage in a small space! (I wish I was that organized 😉

  3. Sue Orme / Jul 11 2010 1:49 pm

    I’m very impressed. Here I have 4 bedrooms and manage to take up every nook and cranny…and I don’t even craft!

  4. KristenMakes / Jul 11 2010 1:52 pm

    Thanks! To be honest, I had to do a fair amount of tidying before taking photos. You can imagine how quickly the mess came back though!

Trackbacks

  1. Natural-Dyed Projects « KristenMakes

What say you?

