Skip to content
June 8, 2010 / KristenMakes

I’m addicted to challenges.

Cor Blimey, I’ve done it again. I’ve found another sewing challenge to join. I can’t help myself!

Enter the Summer Essentials Sew-Along by Ali from the Wardrobe, Reimagined blog. She came up with six categories that every gal needs to get through summer and invited sewists to join her this summer in creating items in those categories:

Poolside Pretties (swimsuits, cover-ups, hats)
Clam Diggers & Co. (shorts, bermudas, cropped pants)
Sweet & Sassy Skirts
The Sundress
Tees, Tunics & Blouses
Those Summer Nights (pullovers, cardis, light jackets)

The trick for me is that an Edinburgh summer is not the same as the Florida summers I am accustomed to. I don’t necessarily need tank tops and light dresses – I still need layers most of the time! So I’ve done some thinking and here are my thoughts for each category:

Poolside Pretties – Ok, I don’t need a bathing suit. I most likely won’t be anywhere poolside. So instead I’m doing a “Park-side Pretty!” Trent and I go to lots of parks and do lots of walks. I think something to help out on a picnic perhaps?  Like a water-proof blanket?  Still open to other ideas though…

Clam Diggers & Co. – To be honest, I could still use full-length pants.  I would like to make a pair of shorts, still (thinking of Simplicity 3850) but also for pants, I’m thinking of  the Anita pattern from BurdaStyle.  Hopefully when my mom comes to visit she’ll bring some great denim for jeans!

6006_tech_large

Sweet & Sassy Skirts – Easy!  I’ve got this Elastic Waist Tutorial I’ve been wanting to do for some time but I hope to make more than just that.  I really like that Kasia Skirt, especially after seeing The Sew Weekly’s version, and I’m also a fan of the Marie Skirt too – both skirts are free from BurdaStyle!

6012_tech_large9177_tech_large

The Sundress – I already have 1 polo dress from American Apparel but I love it so much, I’d love to have another – how about making one?  Thanks to the Long Polo Shirt Dress pattern from BurdaStyle its no problem!  And of course, I’ve just graced the surface of my Built by Wendy Dresses book – there are loads of dresses to be made there!

April_113c_tech_drawing_large

Tees, Tunics & Blouses – I can’t wait to make the Built by Wendy Simplicity 3835 pattern!  I’m also in need of some basic tees – possibly of the knit variety?  Hmmm….  Any good T-shirt patterns out there?

Those Summer Nights – As a knitter, I’ve got this one in the bag!  I’m already finished the Audrey in Unst cardigan and am blocking it right now…  I could use another light sweater though!  Also, I quite like this light jacket from BurdaStyle – if I could make the sleeves 3/4 length then it would be perfect!

Mar_102_tech_drawing_large

So there you have it – my summer sewing goals!  I’ll be up front and admit I won’t be able to do it all, but its fun to have guidelines and categories at least…  Plus everything that I make will help me out in Self-Stitched September!  Wish me sewing luck!


5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom / Jun 8 2010 1:46 pm

    I love your ambition! And I will bring you some denim, for sure.

  2. KristenMakes / Jun 8 2010 1:47 pm

    Yay! can’t wait!

  3. Alexandra Mason / Jun 8 2010 5:44 pm

    Hi i just found your blog 🙂 I’m on the look out for some t-shirt patterns too, i will let you know if i find any x

  4. Sue Orme / Jun 8 2010 8:18 pm

    I’m just glad this is your only addiction. And it’s fun and productive. Can’t wait to see some of the results.
    Mom o

Trackbacks

  1. New Dress! « KristenMakes

What say you?

