Skip to content
March 28, 2010 / KristenMakes

What’s a Layette?

IMG_0538_2

Kath asked me if I could design a layette for the shop out of our Selkie cashmere blend.  Being childless myself I of course asked, “what’s a layette?”  Apparently it’s a set of clothing for a newborn, any combination of hat, booties, blanket, scratch mitts, or sweater.  Ahhhhh…  Yes I could work on that.  I decided to for once, do something flat as opposed to my method of choice – knitting in the round.  It was nice for a change but I am glad to say I’m back with my circulars again.  I love the look of the wrap-top cardigan, knitted on the bias.  And the booties, surprisingly enough, were the hardest to figure out.  Just how long does a newborn’s foot measure?  After a couple consultations with friends I settled on 2-3 inches.

IMG_0537_2 IMG_0535

IMG_0540

Hope you like it! The pattern is available at Etsy or at K1 Yarns

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Marilyn Schmid / Mar 28 2010 10:41 am

    Got to admit…my heart went pitty-pat when I read your title!!! Then I read on and settled down… Your layette is adorable!!

  2. Mom Orme / Mar 28 2010 3:03 pm

    Nice. I like the diagonal design, too. Maybe some day we future-grandmoms will see it on one of our own.

  3. amanda / Mar 29 2010 1:42 pm

    wish we could get a kitten in one of those adorable sets!

  4. Meghan / Mar 30 2010 5:10 am

    You know, I didn’t know what a layette was either until I started working in the yarn shop, where we sell a layette kit too!

  5. Meghan / Mar 30 2010 5:10 am

    p.s. that is so very cute!

  6. Ang / Apr 5 2010 9:33 am

    all i have to say is it’s KEEYOOT!

Trackbacks

  1. Bath For Baby - How much to sell baby clothes at yard sale? - Buy baby bath Safety products

What say you?

