Skip to content
March 25, 2010 / KristenMakes

Get down with OPP (Other People’s Patterns)

I had to share what I’ve been doing recently that (for a change) are not my own designs!  I get so excited about making things that are my own design that sometimes I have to take a break and knit for pleasure, reminding myself to not make this great hobby into work all the time (as fun as that work may be!)

Back in January I made the Frances Revisited.  Its a lovely, free pattern and a quick and easy knit.  I used Jamieson’s Shetland Marl in Pippin green.  I had to redo the cowl and increase more stitches to make it lay as I wanted and I also found a neat rib from a knitting compendium library book that I held captive for 2 months.
IMG_0468

IMG_0469 IMG_0473

I’m really happy with how it looks – very cozy and warm!

After that I tried out the Box Bag Tutorial. I had some Harris Tweed and a zipper and now I have a nifty knitting holder!

IMG_0458

Most recently off the needles is the fabulous Manu.   Designed by fellow Edinburgh resident, Kate Davies (pictured in the link standing right outside K1) the Manu is a beautifully detailed design, and caused quite a stir if you’re on Ravelry.  As soon as she put the pattern up, the race began.

I, intoxicated by it, put alllllll projects on hold (which is impossible for me!) until this was done. I made a few changes to mine (wanted slimmer, 3/4 length sleeves) and I am so happy with how it turned out!

The pink yarn – Rowan Felted Tweed – was given to me (SCORE!) by my friend Jo. She got it on sale in January and decided it wasn’t her color, and so gave it to me! I’m not usually into pink, but this dusty rose color is so nice!

IMG_0597

IMG_0602 IMG_0606
IMG_0609 IMG_0612
IMG_0611

It features pleat and lots of i-cord, and you know I love pockets!  My fingers still hurt, I raced through it so fast!  Lovely pattern, and a pleasure to knit.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Anna / Mar 25 2010 8:04 am

    Those are all so adorable!

  2. Mom Orme / Mar 25 2010 8:46 am

    Hi Kristen, everything looks great. I especially like the pink sweater. And you look adorable in it. Did you make the dress you’re wearing with it?

  3. amanda / Mar 25 2010 1:52 pm

    that tweed bag is adorable! and that sweater is amazing!! the color looks great on you.

  4. Marilyn Schmid / Mar 25 2010 9:22 pm

    You just blow me away, DD!!!Miss you!

  5. jane / Mar 31 2010 3:28 am

    What a great post filled with such a lot of amazing work! Wow. I think it speaks of your productivity that you put the all in one post – I’d have had to eek these out over 3 posts at least! Heh.
    I especially love Manu – those pockets are perfect, and the yarn you chose is a great fit for the style of the design. The changes you made to the sleeves are great, too. Enjoy your new cardigan!

  6. homejewel / Apr 19 2010 9:55 pm

    The Manu cardigan is fabulous!! I’m definitely checking that out. I befriended you on sewingcircle.com and originally saw you on ravelry!

  7. KristenMakes / Apr 23 2010 3:24 am

    Thanks! Yeah, we’re sewing friends now! I love that site!

What say you?

