Skip to content
March 11, 2010 / KristenMakes

More Free Patterns

Well, I’ve been busy knitting and sewing.  I just made some chocolate brown covers for the throw pillows on our couch, and I’ve found a great tutorial on how to make your own collapsible storage boxes (will share progress when progress has been made)…  It is so rewarding to make things for your own home, and I’ve recently decided to make a more diligent effort at the home-made rather thank store-bought campaign.

Also, I’ve just finished a few patterns.  I’ve always got about 10 projects on the needles (at least!) but find that I rarely make the time to pattern them, esp. the quickies.  So here are 2 patterns that I just finished, and being that they seem fairly simple and fun, I’ve decided to offer them up to the public.

Cabled Watchcap:
IMG_0447
download now

This is a fun and fuzzy hat that is quite deep so that you can pull it low over your ears. I just used some DK weight yarn (St Magnus DK, angora/wool blend) because it is great for cabling details.

IMG_0449 IMG_0441

Linen Stitch Cowl:

IMG_0328

download now


I’m not usually one to go for the color-changing yarn, but the colors of this Manos del Uruguay Wool Classica look so vivid and fun.  I love knitting the linen stitch, because it looks woven and with color-changing yarn the hues just pop out. This was fun to knit (I’m starting to think that about everything that I knit!) and quick, too. The linen stitch keeps the wind out, and the collar shape sits nicely on the shoulders without crowding the neck like a stuffy scarf can.

IMG_0327 IMG_0322

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Helen / Mar 11 2010 2:50 pm

    Having seen the hat in real life, I can vouch for it’s loveliness! And I love the scarf too. I’ve downloaded it and intend doing it as soon as I have some other items off the pins.

  2. Jo Campbell / Mar 12 2010 10:08 am

    I love the scarf but I can’t knit at all – maybe one of these days I’ll find time to give it a go.

What say you?

