Skip to content
March 7, 2010 / KristenMakes

A Button-Tab Shift Dress

Guess what?  I’m patterning and sewing again!  I downloaded the Basic Bodice Sloper from http://www.burdastyle.com, warned Teo about the oncoming mess, and got out my roll of paper, tape, ruler, and scissors.  The patterning came back pretty easily and I was buried deep in productivity and satisfaction.

IMG_0396

A few days later, I had finished my dress! There is no zipper closure so you just pull it over your head and fasten the button-tabs closed at the waist. Oh, and it has pockets! Now its not perfect, as it was a rush-job and my first attempt at patterning in years but I’m quite pleased with the outer result (just don’t look inside!).

IMG_0422

IMG_0427 IMG_0413

IMG_0423 IMG_0429

I hope to maybe refine the pattern and either make more to sell or sell the pattern itself.  Still toying with ideas.  I’ve worn the dress out twice and its very comfortable and wearable.  I’m quite pleased and am definitely hoping to get sewing more.  Make more clothes!

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Marilyn Schmid / Mar 7 2010 11:35 am

    That is adorable…and so are you! Your mom, the home ec teacher, couldn’t be more proud! What a great design and concept! Too darn cute, and so very KEO!!!! Love it!

  2. Janet / Mar 7 2010 11:58 am

    Way to go, Kristen! I think it’s a very marketable pattern! SEW cute. I would be glad to preview your instructions from a students standpoint if you decide to market the patten.
    I assume you have a serger? Do you get “sewing with Nancy” over there?
    Could even see a maternity version (or overeating version)

  3. Mom Orme / Mar 7 2010 1:49 pm

    I’m glad you’re sewing again. Your dress is really cute. Actually, it’s similar to one I had in the 60’s! That neckline and color combo were quite popular “back then.” I had the same thought Janet did about the possibility of it being used as a maternity dress.

    Looks great!

  4. amanda / Mar 8 2010 1:13 am

    oh my goodness!!!! you are so talented! this dress is so cute!! i am really overdoing it with the exclamation points, but i can’t help it!!!!!

  5. meghanaf / Mar 10 2010 6:01 pm

    I love this dress! Now only if I could sew half as well as you (inside of the dress or not!).

  6. Holly / Apr 12 2010 12:01 pm

    Just found your blog, and LOVE this dress. I would certainly buy the pattern, and aspire to patternmake like this myself.

Trackbacks

  1. Internet is a GO! (+ Self-Stitched September) « KristenMakes

What say you?

